We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A very nice resort”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

A very nice resort, close to the airport and away from the busy Patong (1-hour's drive to Patong). Friendly and helpful staff, breakfast is good, very close to the beach. Think more road signs are needed for guests to drive back to the hotel at night. There're a few restaurants at the Turtle Village in the Mai Khao area, convenient for people looking for a short break and lazy to go out to the town for meals.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CelloB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,226
    537
    108
    31
    11
See reviews for
796
1,411
113
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

In a nutshell - visit this hotel if you are in Phuket for a long weekend. Versus Twin Palms or the Indigo Pearl, it comes out on top.

+ Rooms are spacious and clean
+ Cost - very good value room price
+ Food overall was decent without being standout
+ Friendly staff
+ Very pretty and unbelievably quiet beach
+ Aesthetically pleasing pool/spacious sunbathing areas leaving it feeling private/personal
+ Good nights sleep
+ Close to the airport

- Pricey food - Western prices in their signature restaurant
- Very little to do in the hotel (make your way up to Bill Bentley's pub!) and it's in a pretty secluded spot on the beach

We had a great time; overall and taking into account the price, we gave it a decent 8 out of 10 - thanks!

Room Tip: Top (3rd) floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamMcCaw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel it not in the heart of noisy patong but away from the crowd where we were looking to stay in a quiet place and relax during our stay.

Good location in a quiet sea front
Rooms were tide clean and well kept, but they did not have cnn news channel available

Breakfast had a good variety of fruits bread local Asian food and surprised they arrange to have Bloody Mary available for the Russian customers (the hotel has quiet lots of them). Funny to see them and you will also identify them easily by their outfits and manners. ;-)

Little bit disappointed regarding the orange juice which was from the box and not freshly squeezed but there were other yummies in the breakfast buffet to greatly enjoy.

Overall great stay there!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jpabloqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The Renaissance is a rather large resort a few kms north of Phuket airport, making it an ideal location for either your first or last nights in Phuket. We stayed only for our last night and we could not find the time to check all of it!

PROS:
The location as it's close to the airport yet in a quiet remote area, along the shore of a fantastic deserted white sanded beach.
The staff is very friendly and helpful from the arrival to the last minute. They are constantly on the look to make your stay as good as possible and cater to your smallest needs. It is worth mentioning that our flight was leaving at midnight so they offered us late checkout for free and allowed us to use all the resort until we had to leave. A very nice gesture that earns them an extra point.
The restaurants, with amazing food and great choice of drinks.
The feeling of relax: for people who just want some days of peace and comfort, but with enough range of activities not to get bored, look no further

CONS:
The location: as I say, it is a pro that you are isolated, but the price to pay for this quiet is that there is nothing to do around the resort. I am sure many guests coming here do not really get to experience Thailand.
The bathrooms: you may have read in other reviews that the bathtubs give green water. Unlike some people I will not give a bad review just for this fact (the shower is great and there is a huge swimming pool plus the sea to just float and relax) but it makes you think what sort of water comes from the taps... I also found the tub quite flimsy.
The restaurants: yes, food is great but absolutely overpriced, like much of the resort. You pay european prices and you get a much better quality/price ratio in other hotels and restaurants.
The "western" feeling: they make an effort to blend the architecture and decoration and it is definitely very nice, but if you take the trees and plants out you could perfectly imagine that you are in Europe or the US. I have been to other luxury hotels in the Andaman coast where I really felt that I was in an exotic location, and at a competitive price.

I would recommend this resort to splash your last baht after you have enjoyed your holiday in Thailand, or if you want to experience great comfort in an exotic land but with western levels of comfort.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We love this hotel. Room is so nice and clean. Very new kids club with great toys. Kids pool is not big but nice and quiet.
A very quiet resort, just to relax and enjoy.
The restaurant at the beach serves great Thai food.
Fantastic staff.
Really nothing to complain at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyfinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My third trip to Phuket and we stayed at the new Renaissance phuket resort. A beautiful hotel within a complex where other Marriott properties are as well. Close to the airport, a bit of a drive to downtown but if you want quite, peace, gorgeous grounds, large and clean rooms, and most of all a prestine mile long white sand beach where you will never find more than 20 people as far as you can see.... Stay here.
Five star facility and service at the price of a two star hotels in the USA and Europe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the inside lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akram Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I did quite a bit of research for my weekend trip to Phuket with my wife. I ended up choosing to stay in Renaissance Resort & Spa in Mai Kao beach as it had generally good reviews: the cleanliness of the facility, its excellent food, and its relative quiet location as compared to the other beaches. My choice was validated as my wife & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The room was as advertised and was kept clean & tidy throughout our stay. The beach was private and afforded us quiet walks and much needed alone time. The food was always very good and the pool service was top notch. Overall, we would definitely stay here again if we visit Phuket in the future. Cheers!

Room Tip: Stay in the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galahadgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
12.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
485 reviews
14.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 555, Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport. Our Phuket, Thailand resort's location is ideally adjacent to beautiful Sirinath Marine National Park, as well, providing the chance to completely enjoy the magic of our island. We offer 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool all delight travelers to Thailand. Golf is available nearby, and for your gastronomical journey, our hotel offers an all-day restaurant with fresh ingredients - our signature Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant. We also provide The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing