We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, quiet and chilled.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place, quiet and chilled.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in a pool villa for 10 days for our honeymoon. The hotel is lovely. Chilled. Relaxed. And amazing. The breakfast like everyone has mentioned was amazing! So much to chose from, thier Thai breakfast option was amazing. Guava and mango mix fresh fruit juice was a ritual and fresh mango fruit was perfect. The staff where amazing. Kind and very helpful.
The food was really nice. If you like spice ask them for the Thai spice not hotel spice.... We loved the sand box for lunch and nibbles. Their moo krob is amazing, so tasty and my husband just loved it.
The spa was just perfect we got burnt and enjoyed a after sun wrap and the girls where really lovely. Wish I could have done another. But with the massage hut on the beach I was their most days. It was just amazing.
The villa. It is just amazing. Massive coffee bed. Massive bath which could fit two family's in it. Amazing bathroom. Staff leave free water in the room which was really wonderful. Room service was perfect not expensive at all their padthai was just scummy yummy.
Only down point our pool did break the pump went and we had a few problem trying to get it fixed. Our aircon also Broke. But we did get an upgrade to a beach front villa and I have to say it was just beautiful. My advice to anyone spend a little bit more in getting the beach front views villas because it was breath taking. So romantic and the sun hits the villa for most of the day. The sunsets where stunning with a glass of gin and tonic sitting in the pool.
The beach was very rough indeed but didn't bother us as it was fun to watch the massive waves hit the beach. As well as we aren't beach swimming kinda people.
The coffee shop Thai iced drink was yummy..
The hotel was really helpful in booking you taxis it made life alot easier and got you in the relaxed mood to not worry about ordering them and getting back.
All in all we had the best time and best honeymoon. I have never been dissappointed with thialand but this hotel was just lovely.

Room Tip: Beach front villas are the best as you get more sun light hitting your private pool and the views wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,192
    527
    105
    30
    11
See reviews for
775
1,388
112
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just got back from 5 days in paradise, aka Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa. It was the loveliest of all stays in Phuket…..from the moment our taxi pulled up to the hotel (where we were greeted by the lovely Amm) to when we left (where we were also also sent off by Amm), we felt completely at home. The hotel is absolutely beautiful…..with the most amazing infinity pool. The beach is long and quite perfect for sunset strolls, but unfortunately, a bit too rough to swim in (not sure if this was just the time of the year we were visiting).

We ate at Sandbox, Takeing as well as Loca Vore and found the food to be fabulous! The lunch options at Sandbox exceeded all our expectations. It wasn’t the typical greasy fast food as most beachside/poolside restaurants tend to serve. We ate tuna rice paper rolls, BLTs, and veggie wraps. We had two dinners at Takeing, and both times we had excellent service as well as food! And of course, the breakfast buffet at Loca Vore was quite fabulous, especially with the juice bar!

We would definitely come back to this hotel again, especially if Amm is there! =)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hungryforrice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 9 nights in one of the Pool Villas. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the resort.

The highlights were:

- Amazing breakfast each morning. Always one or two new items to try;
- Staff were very friendly and always willing to help;
- Location was quiet and a great place to just chill out and relax;
- Modern feel, which we liked better than the JW Marriott and Marriott Beach Club down the road;
- Access to the JW Marriott down the road where we took part in a cooking class;
- Despite the remote location, there were still some small local restaurants as well as Kin Dee, which offered take-away.

There are also some things to be aware of:

- Location is away from the city and main attractions, so if you want this then Mai Khao isn't for you;
- Main pool is relatively small and can become crowded.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANC_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at this resort in april 2013 for 7 nights. We changed rooms 3 times during our stay and here are the reasons why:
Gaps in the patio doors allowed lizards and other creepy crawlies to enter our room
Dirty pools/lack of maintenance of the pool villa plants
Ants in indoor wall cavity - total lack of pest and insect control even to the extent where the poor maid panicked because she couldnt control it.
The maintenance team left our door open for some time - risking our personal belongings
I would stay here again but probably not in the pool villas - i dont think they are maintained very well.
We were given a garden view room due to a late night flight and they were alot better than our pool villas!
Breakfast was simply awesome. We tried the hotel thai restaurant an my curry was off - tasted horrible so we stuck with ordering from Kindee.
Thanks to Amm and Tiny for trying to make it nice stay....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went with our 11 month old baby, during the chinese mid-autumn holiday. We stayed in nice pool villa and had a fantastic time. The hotel staff is ready to help you in any way and provided us with great service. The food was amazing, different options from Thai to western... the beach is quiet and empty.

Room Tip: if you can, go for the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Good service from the staffs and very polite staffs.
lovely treatment and quick service.
One improvement is to give advice on all the programs in the city and the timings so that the
people can get maximum benefit and the country can get benifited aswell.

Room Tip: Couldnot visit spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subramaniam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ota, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband enjoyed five nights here with our one year old daughter. Food was great, room was great, grounds and staff were great. As others said, it is remote so not good if you want shopping/nightlife. Beach is also not suitable for swimming or really even laying out. Pool area is really nice though. The kids pool was good for us to paddle our daughter around in, but wouldn't really be a great place to leave older kids--some broken tile made me nervous. And the kids room was nice, and staffed but there didn't seem to be any planned activities or interaction with the kids. Again, fine for me to play with the wooden toys with my baby, but probably boring for an older kids to be left there. Breakfast is just as fantastic as everyone says, room was much nicer than I expected. Be sure to check out the inexpensive Thai massage huts adjacent to the property too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsD918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
12.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
480 reviews
14.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
892 reviews
0.2 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 555, Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport. Our Phuket, Thailand resort's location is ideally adjacent to beautiful Sirinath Marine National Park, as well, providing the chance to completely enjoy the magic of our island. We offer 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool all delight travelers to Thailand. Golf is available nearby, and for your gastronomical journey, our hotel offers an all-day restaurant with fresh ingredients - our signature Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant. We also provide The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing