We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Paradise Found"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this property and all I can say is "WOW". We enjoyed every aspect from the food, amenities, and the great staff. I haven't generally been a fan of Marriott properties, but the Renaissance has changed my mind. We definitely plan on returning to paradise!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuseman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,769 - 1,775 of 3,026 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

To make this short - it was a perfect stay at Renaissance and I hope to repeat it soon.
Excellent design, landscaping, pool, views and atmosphere...total relaxation and peace.
I agree with the positive comments of many previous reviewers... if you go, make sure to allow time for breakfast, it was the best I have ever had.
My son (2yrs) thoroughly enjoyed the kids club and pool, giving me a much needed break.
Thank you to all of the staff for making it a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 416,416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this great resort for a week and had a wonderful time. The beach is secluded and away from the town by about 40 minutes. It really is a great little spot with no noise and great service/amenities.

Their are a few nice restaurants on site, try the Thai soft shell crad in the Thai restaurant, absolutely fantastic.

Definetly would go back and stay in this resort, nice pool, good value and excellent staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpaliotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is relatively new. I stayed Pool Villa with my folks, the pool size is small. You can relax in the pool, but don't expect to swim much - just a few stokes. If you want to swim, go to the main pool by the beach. It is big but also crowded. I like walking on the beach with sunset. It is very nice with sea breeze.

Staffs are very nice and friendly throughout the hotel. Breakfast variety is wide, but can be very busy in the morning. I love the egg benedict with crab meat, very yummy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naturalmade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I decided to head to Phuket for a 3D/2N getaway. We had a fantastic short getaway to this hidden gem. Located in the north away from all the hustle and bustle at Patong. We took a basic room #124, near the beach and pool side.

Pros:
Private beach
Sandbox (a restaurant) overlooking the beach, with fantastic food and great ambience
Ample beach beds
Spacious and clean rooms with very cozy and comfortable interiors
Massages at the shack next door, at one sixth the price
Fantastic hospitality by all the staff members
Excellent breakfast spread
Some of the sweetest tender coconut water I have ever had in my life both in the resort and at shack next to the massage one

Cons:
Distance from the city centre, if you are interested in sight seeing.
Food is expensive, an average meal of two non alcoholic drinks and two main courses could easily set you back by 1000bht but the ambience at sandbox is worth it.
The beach is not a white sand beach like Similian or Phi Phi and the grains are quite coarse, but the beach is private.
My personal opinion is that the balcony on ground floors is not completely justified, as it did not feel private enough. The pathway was quite close to my room in fact, it sometimes felt people are walking into my room. I would have preferred a little more privacy.


We asked the hotel to hire a cab to check out the nightlife, cab costs 1600bht for the roundtrip and takes an hour to reach the city centre. The cabbie will wait 3hrs for you, the booze all over on bangla road is very cheap. Next day we decided to just chill at the resort and skipped Phi Phi, for which you need to leave the hotel at 730am. We just sat on the beach side, took long walks, got massages done,swam, sipped on sweet tender coconuts and just chilled out! Absolutely relaxed and refreshing stay! Kudos to the staff for making our stay extremely comfortable

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach are a big plus, a higher floor would be better for the view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avinashrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Renaissance Resort and Spa Mai Khao was just what we needed !

We came here after a night at Kata and simply loved the beach...the marriot private beach is so beautiful, serene with white sands and waves...Loved the pool, the sandbox , jacuzzi in the pool and the rooms ! The service was super and the breakfast was wonderful !

Beautiful property and loved our stay here !

Room Tip: Either the villa or the rooms closer to the pool and beach will be with a better view . Also higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simran l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing hotel with fantastic staff who truly make you feel very welcome. If you are looking for rest and relaxation this is the place for you.

We spent 8 nights staying in a pool villa. The room is huge, king size bed, and love the fact the French doors open to the pool from the bedroom. In the of the bed is a sofa and chair for you to relax and watch TV or just chill out.

There is a sliding door partition to bathroom which has a huge bathtub, shower and 2 sinks. The pecksniff toiletries were a lovely touch too.

There is standard complimentary dressing gowns, slippers and flip flops available and regular fill ups of bottled water. In addition to your standard coffee and tea making facilities there is an expresso machine.

The villas are a great place to escape to but the main pool area is definitely worth a visit although we had our own pool.

All the restaurants offer a great choice of food. Taikeng the Thai restaurant offers some amazing dishes, definitely try the Masaman curry! You have a poolside bar and restaurant called Sandbox offering daily deals and cocktails. In the main restaurant Loca Vore you can eat here all day from breakfast to dinner. This has to be one of the best breakfast spreads I've ever seen. And lastly there is the Coffee Shop as another food offering.

If you're looking for a change of scenery the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service to the JW Marriot hotel which is 1km away and from here you can walk to Turtle Village which has a selection of shops and food offers.

If you want to head to Patong which is the nightlife destination on Phuket the hotel offers a taxi service of 700 baht per person return. This is actually very competitive as this area is 40 mins away and local taxis were quoting 900 to 1000 baht one way.

Overall as amazing as the hotel is, it's the staff that make this a great place to stay. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and made sure we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vdav1es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
14.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
945 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
506 reviews
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 555, Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $128 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport. Our Phuket, Thailand resort's location is ideally adjacent to beautiful Sirinath Marine National Park, as well, providing the chance to completely enjoy the magic of our island. We offer 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool all delight travelers to Thailand. Golf is available nearby, and for your gastronomical journey, our hotel offers an all-day restaurant with fresh ingredients - our signature Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant. We also provide The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing