We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise in Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in Phuket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I fell in love with their pool villa. The room was stunning, the staff is super friendly. Breakfast buffet is amazing, I love their egg Benedict. It's always for my first choice every time we go Phuket and never once have I been disappointed. Love this resort! Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Pool Villa is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manthiya May M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,045
    507
    99
    29
    10
See reviews for
704
1,316
105
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

If a quiet beach away from the commercialism and noise of Phuket and the popular beach areas is what you want then stay here. Many people do not like the location since it is far from Phuket town and there are limited restaurants in the Mai Khao area (almost all you need a taxi), but for quiet and relaxation this is the place. We stayed several days and loved walking on the beach that was void of lots of people, umbrellas, jet skis, and everything else that breaks your view or peaceful state. The rooms are spacious, clean, and very well maintained. The public areas are also very good. Positives: Fitness center, restaurant food quality, free bikes to use, happy hours at different bars/lounges, evening treats for turndown service, and a high quality spa. Negatives: weak wifi at the restaurants and non existent in many parts of the resort and a small pool. We primarily used the beach anyway because it was so beautiful and there are pools are in every hotel. Breakfast buffet was one of the best we have seen. Great selection and quality. The food quality at all the restaurants was very good and surprised us. Even the dinner at Loca Vore one evening was very good as we just were to tired to go out anywhere. The resort has a boutique style and atmosphere to it and fits better suited to couples and families with older children. The resort has a kids pool, but it seemed everyone with small children preferred the main pool near the beach which cluttered it up with to many people which is why we stayed on the beach the whole time. You need a taxi to get anywhere although the hotel provides a free tuk tuk ride to Turtle Village (small shopping area) and the JW Marriott a few kilometers up the road. The hotel food is higher than the local places, but not outrageous and you have to offset the taxi cost. That is the price for a quieter place away from all the noise in Phuket, but it is worth it in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkS41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is only 20 minutes away from the airport and although we arrived very late, the check in experience was great!

The best staff ever, with a great positive attitude, trying to make sure that your stay the best one. Whenever we wanted to book a restaurant, tickets for different shows or cars to drive us around, they were more than happy to help.

GREAT breakfast including large selection of smoothies and fresh juices. Amazing place to start the day!! Also, the little snacks they left in our room every day were a pretty nice touch.

The rooms are big, colourful and full of life. They are serviced twice a day and kept in immaculate and clean condition.

The beach area is stunning with allocated loungers and a bar/restaurant area close by. Loved the fact that it was rather empty and it didn't have any specific entertainment, so I actually felt that the nature was there to spoil me and only me.

If you're looking for a resort, to relax and distress this is the place to go, but if you want the crazy Thailand experience, the hotel is a bit remote and the drive down-town takes about an hour. The hotel can always help you get a car to take you wherever you want and you can always ask the driver either to wait for you or take a tuc tuc back.

Thank you Renaissance for making my staying a great one!

Room Tip: Because it's a small hotel all the rooms are great! You don't need a villa to feel like a ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Decided to give my first review to this resort (this is how amazing the resort is!). We stayed in the Pool Villa for 5 nights which is simply the most amazing. I enjoyed many of the great perks offered in this resort to their Marriott Elites. Having stayed in many great resorts and hotels, this is simply the best! The team at Front Desk are superb especially Assistant Front Desk Manager. He knew me before arrival and still remembered me during check-out. Check-in process was extremely personalised and one of the front desk staff left her desk to give me a tour of the resort on a buggy before proceeding with the rest of my check-in procedures in the villa itself.
Mai Khao beach where the resort is sitting on is clean and good which offers an amazing sunset view.
Breakfast is great and not too bad for their dinners, but I do recommend taking a short walk just 10 mins to the left of the resort to a small stretch of small local restaurants which offer very great local food with many varieties to choose from at great prices.
We booked 2 snorkelling trips to Similan and Tachai which I can share the differences. Snorkelling to both islands isn’t that great as many coral area already dead in this region. A big portion of the trip is dedicated to the great beaches these islands had.
1. Avoid Similan (unless you are like me who need to been there, done that) which is supposed to be one of the most beautiful places on earth but the islands are way too overcrowded with tons of Homo sapiens.
2. Go to Tachai where you have a much larger beach and more beautiful than the already amazing Similan. You will have your own space at the end of beach (so you can take a proper photo with yourself, the sand and the sea). You will most likely spend more time in Tachai as they only have 1 beach rather than doing island hopping in Similan where you spend more time on the boat. They also have nice little huts with benches and tables so that you can have your lunch properly unlike Similan. Tachai is an amazing island which has only opened up recently but I guess sooner or later it will be overrun by Homo sapiens like Similan. =(

Room Tip: Just go for the Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in a villa which was stunning, the entire complex is so well manicured and maintained.
This resort can only be described as paradise, I have never been to such a tranquil and well managed hotel or resort in the world.

We visited Phuket as a belated honeymoon,We enjoyed a valentine meal on the beach and my wife was overwhelmed with the romantic way in which the staff catered to us.

The other amazing part for us were the people, all the staff could not do enough, the service is 100% wow.

All in all its a place thats above anything I have ever encountered and when we arrived home we booked to return with our children may 25th.

Thankyou to all

Room Tip: the villas are something special but any room there would be good, be assured
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sol712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent 9 nights in a pool villa. To say the resort is amazing is very much an understatment. My husband and were made to feel so very welcome. The beach was lovely and quiet. The pool the perfect temp every time. The villa was stunning and very well equipped. Maid service everyday. Nothing was to much trouble for any of the very friendly staff. We had many meals at the restaurants, all of which were very well prepared and tasted fantastic. We enjoyed a romantic valentines dinner on the beach. We loved it so much we have booked our return visit in May. I cannot recommend the Renaissance highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This resort by far is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed, costing around $200 to $300 per night its well worth it.it is only about 20mins from Phuket airport and it is in a secluded area off the main highway that has a few other 5 star resorts on the same street, making it a great quiet relaxing getaway but with a little shopping area in the middle of the 5 resorts, on arrival we were greeted with nice cool yummy ice drinks, and checkin was a breeze, once that was done the staff put all our bags on a golf buggy and drove us to our rooms doorstep :), rooms were big, with nice sized balcony comfy beds and big showers, free wi if and free bottled water. Great place and soooo clean. Breakfast was huge with a worldwide selection of foods for different countries, and great out door eating area overlooking man made lake area with waterfall and trees, the resort has the main restaurant and coffee shop and a bar at the start if the resort which was near our room, but then when You go for a stroll down there walking tracks you find more pool area, a really nice day spa, and more eating spots, then this leads into the beach front where the water is very clear and sand so clean and nice. The restaurants at the beach front were great the best thai food I've ever had at the restaurant upstairs, all restaurants serve different food witch is good, the pool area was great with great service by staff with the pool side menu and pools open till all hours, this place also has water equipment you can hire for the beach, doesn't cost money you just have to wait till its free. The spa has really great treatments I highly recommend you try the spa out when you stay. Also there is always something going on at the resort, never a dull moment, first night they had a live singer at the top bar, that was great. The next night they arranged tables by the beach for candle light dinners and the last night they had thai dancers in the beach. Staff were friendly, helpful and through full always remembering our names,
We were soo impressed we actually cancelled some of our other accommodation elsewhere to stay longer.
I would not hesitate booking this again, I'm not a great fan of Phuket but I would go there again just to stay at this resort, such a beautiful place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
12.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
14.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,191 reviews
5.1 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 555, Moo 3 | Thalang, Phuket, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport. Our Phuket, Thailand resort's location is ideally adjacent to beautiful Sirinath Marine National Park, as well, providing the chance to completely enjoy the magic of our island. We offer 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool all delight travelers to Thailand. Golf is available nearby, and for your gastronomical journey, our hotel offers an all-day restaurant with fresh ingredients - our signature Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant. We also provide The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing