We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated Tropical oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Lovely hotel, upgraded to pool villa and ever attentive staff make for an excellent holiday. If you like the quiet relaxing break then this hotel is for you...The rooms were modern and well appointed with comfortable beds and great amenities...
Not a great deal around here though... And the only shops is a nearby hotel that is super pricey ... Plenty of potential here for local fare but is yet to be discovered ... A fair way to travel to nearest local shopping... 45 mins to Patong and 1600 THB for 4 hours ...
We enjoyed our time here but May is the rainy season as we discovered ... We did get 1 day and some brief moments of sunshine ... All in all was really nice here if you want to relax..

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank redchubbonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,962)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,013 - 2,019 of 2,962 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

This property is just brilliant - the safe are overly accomodating and I was blown away by how they remember you each and every day - great location with easy access to beach and Turtle villiage - lots of choices for restaurants and love the bike hire for free!!
Will be going back - the Villas are just perfect for a honeymoon - thank you team for an amazing and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LFern79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We chose the Renaissance Phuket based on excellent reviews about this modern hotel that had great service. It's on Mai Khao beach on the north of Phuket island, near the airport. It's far less touristy in the area, but whatever there is that caters to tourists tends to be more expensive because there are only the Marriott group properties and a handful of other resorts in the area and not much else.The great thing about staying at the Mai Khao area is that the airport is minutes away.

It was a very easy check-in complete with ice-cold ginger and pineapple punch and cold towels. I liked how the reception area was wide open, with a grand water feature drawing the eye to the rest of the resort below. It was a very clever bit of design to make use of the height difference between the reception and the beach and I loved the landscaping with the many coconut trees dotted everywhere. The grounds below were equally beautiful and we enjoyed walking around the compact resort admiring the ponds and the greenery.

Now for the villa. We booked a pool villa. They somehow designed it so that it had a touch of both modern and traditional. The villa was beautiful, with plenty of well-planned touches, like unobtrusive lighting and a high fence outside for privacy. The villa was essentially one extra large room divided into sleeping and bath areas. Look at the pictures to see how pretty they are. The bed was very comfortable, we haven't slept so well in a while.

I loved the stone bathtub the best, it was huge (and takes forever to fill up) and when the pool was too cold (which was most of the time), we soaked in the tub instead. The hotel also gave us a complimentary bottle of wine (which unfortunately gave us both a terrible headache) and a rose as we told them ahead we were celebrating a special occasion. That was a lovely touch. They also provided afternoon snacks in the room. We had cake pops one day, complete with chocolate dipping sauce and coconut shavings, and local snacks another day. There was also a fancy espresso machine in the room, so we could have a cuppa any time we wanted. They refilled the pods every day too.
Now for the pool. It was the first time I stayed at a place with a private pool and it was such luxury to lie in bed or lounge on the couch while enjoying the view of the pool. We didn't really use the recliners outside because it was far more comfortable indoors and I was afraid of being bitten by mosquitoes. The water in the pool was pretty much always cold, probably because the villa was quite shaded for much of the day.. It was more comfortable to swim at the beach, but nice to have a cold dip before going into the shower. There's a nice outdoor shower for rinsing off before and after a dip. The best part really is to draw a hot bath, have a dip in the pool and then run inside for a soak.

Mornings found us hanging out at the breakfast buffet which was part of the room rate. It had a really good spread, with local favourites changing every day, like green curry fried rice or pad thai. There was the usual assortment of bread and baked goods with spreads like honey on the comb. There was a juice bar with plenty of freshly squeezed choices. We went to town ordering green apple and ginger, then pear and dragonfruit, pineapple and celery, and all other combinations in between. There was satay and Caesar salad, eggs made to order, rice porridge with plenty of toppings and so many choices that three breakfasts were hardly enough for me to feel that I had sampled it all. The waffles are worth trying, mainly because of the banana, kaffir lime and coconut topping and the yummy home made ice cream you can have on it. One tip about breakfast - make sure you sit inside and bring a cardigan if you feel the cold. The airconditioning inside is quite strong, but it's definitely better than being outside with the flies. This seemed to be the case every morning and nothing seemed to be done about it. It's fine in the afternoon when we had an ice cream outside - no flies then.

We spent much of our time in the resort and tried most of the restaurants and cafes. Unfortunately, the Thai restaurant was disappointing as the flavours were off-balance. Later we realised that the kitchen was helmed by a Caucasian chef - what a travesty considering that there is definitely better talent right there in Phuket! For authentic Thai food, we ordered in from the nearby Kin Dee restaurant. The other places serving Western fare were decent, just be prepared to pay resort prices.

The beach itself is quite nice, though not the best. It's a long expanse of yellow sand that's a bit on the coarse side. Be careful when going in the water because there's a steep dropoff rather early on. It's definitely not safe for kids unless you're in the water very close to them. But walking on the beach is just fine, and it's a long and beautiful stretch. There are massage gazebos on the beach run by local ladies who don't speak much English. They're not affiliated with the hotel and have very cheap massages, though of varying quality. Mine was great but my husband didn't have such a good experience. The inhouse spa is of far better quality, and of course correspondingly better prices (i.e. more expensive). Go if you have a mind to splurge.

Now for the negative. Even though housekeeping comes in twice a day, they may not know to clear some things. For instance, the remnants of our afternoon tea weren't taken away at turn down and we had to leave them outside. In the morning we found ants all over the sugary leftovers. Another night, we put our dinner delivery leftovers outside and in the morning, a cat had gotten into it. It was not cleared even when we checked out after lunch. While not a huge issue, the lack of attention to checking on rubbish left outside the villa is why I can't give them 5 of 5 stars.

Overall, it was a lovely experience, with charming and friendly staff. They would ask if we wanted a buggy ride even though it was but a short walk to the villa. I was also very impressed by how they managed a fussy guest very well. He walked away happy.

We walked away happy too. It was a lovely experience with good service as advertised.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wswong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were lucky to be upgraded to the beachfront pool villas. The villas are incredible - huge bathrooms, big comfortable bed and luxurious furnishings. The breakfast is very, very good. The selection of food was great and very fresh.

If we had to mention some negatives, it would probably be that the resort is far away from everything. So unless you had transport, you would have to eat at the hotel all the time. The food at the Thai Restaurant and Sand Box (I think) was OK but not exceptional. I think for the prices they charge, it could be a lot better. Saying that, there were some dishes we didn't like and the staff happily took it off our bill.

The beach is quite deserted but we wonder how long it will stay like this?

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mister7Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed there for 6 nights and it was one of the best resort experiences we've ever had. The room was modern and new, and very comfy. The breakfast buffet was superb and we didn't get sick of it despite our longish stay. But what really blew us away is the consistently high level of service. Always genuinely friendly and looking for ways to make our stay better. My wife fell really ill while I was away on an excursion and the staff went the extra mile to take care of her, visiting her in the room, offering her medication (without having to be asked), bringing water to her bedside etc.

Room Tip: Villas have a private pool, are spacious and well worth the money!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank underock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Hello, me and my wife took a vacation at this hotel during the period from 16 to April 28, 2012 Hotel is very good, clean and well-kept, the territory of the hotel is not large, but beautiful and cozy. There are two pools, one for children and one for adults with Jacuzzi, two restaurants and two cafes. Prepare delicious, service and staff work at a high level. Bedding is changed 1 times a day, while cleaning the room 2 times. The beach is excellent, clean, no strangers. In general there is no complaints, only positive emotions. Separately it is necessary to note the Amm and Nami they were careful and responsive to all my requests. Have wedding ceremony and photo in this hotel really helped Nan, great it thanks! Everything was fine.
The hotel I advise those who want a cosy and pleasant stay without unnecessary fuss. Here you need to rest comfortably and enjoy sea, Sun size and seafood)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igoreha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Has spent 4 days there as a stop by between Shanghai & Paris. Single. Hotel is really beautiful somewhere lost in the trees and with water all around. It starts with the reception opened with no walls and a beautiful view on a water fall (fake but nice) Even at 2:30 am in the morning, hotel crew is so kind and gentle. Deluxe bedroom is not so big but everything is there. Breakfast is quite good but I was disapointed not finding any fresh orange juice in such an amazing place (seems to be difficult in Phuket...) Thai restaurant is real good but you can find same quality of food outside for a better price. Swimming pool is marvelous and the beach is amazing (apparently you have to cross the road in numerous hotels in Phuket to go to the beach - here you don't...) if you want to play / learn golf, ask the reception to book some time with Blake Ellison from Blue Canyon Country Club. Just the best coach to learn this sport in a beautiful ground...looking forward to come back there next year..a very nice stop by close to the aiport (30' max)

Room Tip: Deluxe bedrooms are all quite the same and close to the restaurant. Seems that villas near the beach...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
12.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
494 reviews
14.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,899 reviews
5.1 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 555, Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $114 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport. Our Phuket, Thailand resort's location is ideally adjacent to beautiful Sirinath Marine National Park, as well, providing the chance to completely enjoy the magic of our island. We offer 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool all delight travelers to Thailand. Golf is available nearby, and for your gastronomical journey, our hotel offers an all-day restaurant with fresh ingredients - our signature Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant. We also provide The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing