We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, after spending time in Krabi. We dont usually like big hotels but as it was low season and we got a good rate through wotif we decided to give it a go. Imagine our dismay when it seemed a problem for us to have rooms close to our friends as the hotel was fully booked! The staff where great and we ended up with rooms close together. You would never have know that the hotel was fully booked. I think this was only for 2 of the nights of our stay. It is part of the Marriott group so food, and spa pricing reflects this. Little touches of chilled water by the pool and afternoon tea was complimentary if a bit hit and miss with the regularity. Hotel is very contemporary and has a beach/sand theme. The gardens that you look our from your balcony are planted in sand. Rooms were very nice, lovely comfortable bed, stylish bathroom. Staff were lovely driving you in golf buggies to and from your rooms if you didn't want to walk. Breakfast was great lots of variety including homemade icecream. Would I stay again probably not, as even though lots of plus points the hotel probably isn't my style.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,263 - 2,269 of 3,105 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was a very long vacation with family and friends. we got a fabulous deal on the Marriiott Rewards rate.
The hotel is very well run and offers a family style resort with 2 pools a couple of food outlets etc. My twin girls loved it and the staff were superb with them.

Breakfast is wonderful and feeding the fish in the ponds around keeps the kids busy. The coffeeshop is also a good distraction when the pool etc get to be too much. Wireless internet everywhere lets you work if you need to while still near the family.

The beachside restaurant Sandbox does good burgers and snacks(Actually the best food at the hotel) and the Thai restaurant is passable. Service can be slow when they get busy but easily resolved. Just order your second drink as your first arrives.

You are a little isolated (which can be wonderful) so external dining is limited to the hotel surrounding properties or Turtle Village. We ate at all of them and have to say that while they all charge highly marked up prices by Thai standards, its cheap by international standards so enjoy.
The Marriott next door has a lousy Italian (go to the Anantara instead), but the grill was nice and the Japanese average. The Sala is very slick and great for sundowners.

The Spa was a little overpriced and we ended up at SALA next door 4 times as it had a two for one offer. Actually the services were also better.

We upgraded to a suite and got a connecting room so this was very comfortable, though the rooms are also very decent and our friends who had no kids had a villa which was also lovely.

The kids club was functional.

The best thing about the place is the service. The beach is very rough and slopes sharply, but the sound of crashing waves while you do sundowners is great.

The pool can get crowded and they get a fair amount of conference traffic, but the gym is a lovely small facility with top end equipment.

On the whole the expression you get what you pay for is not true here............because we got so much more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ioveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel is located on a private beach far away from the hustle and bustle of Patong. This hotel is perfect for relaxing. About 2k down the road there is a small shopping centre with a pub.

The hotel is new and fresh, with plesantt grounds, a restaurant, bars and a great pool. The rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast was lavish - we were even offered home made ice cream!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed at R for a short 3 day break. The responsiveness of the staff and their genuine smile and follow through on request is unbelievable.

My baby girl caught high fever at 2.00 am in the morning and I was attended too and the care given to ensure my baby is well is out of this world. Everyone of the reception staff knew about her the next day and cared.

The hotel is also very weLl laid out. The buffet breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed in a Ocean Front Pool Villa which was amazing! There is an electronic gate that leads to an open field with lush greenery facing the sea - it was breathtaking ! We also had a good time enjoying the facilities in the hotel. The thai food in the restaurant was really good and the happy hour drinks for 1-for-1 to watch sunset is not to be missed! A truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Positives

Fantastic service
Great breakfasts
Excellent massage on the beach
Beautiful property and grounds
Peace and quiet
Very nice rooms especially bathrooms

Negatives

Away from the city/Town centers......cabs come at a minimum of 700-900 baht
Limited dining options


Overall, an excellent property with outstanding service, perfect for a quiet Phuket holiday, but definitely not for those who enjoy the hustle and bustle of a city.......



Negatives

A little

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheCSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife and it was excellent.

This place is pure luxury - everything about it was great. Rooms are excellent, pools are great, restaurants and food are great, staff are great. I can't fault this place, it's great.

Only downside is that it's far from town but don't stay here because you want the town, stay here because you want to get away from it all.

The thing I liked about this place was that you are isolated but they don't take that opportunity to rip you off - the prices in the bars and restaurants are reasonable.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, we stayed in a normal room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TonyB_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
14.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
979 reviews
0.2 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
9.2 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 333 in Patong
6,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 555, Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $120 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport. Our Phuket, Thailand resort's location is ideally adjacent to beautiful Sirinath Marine National Park, as well, providing the chance to completely enjoy the magic of our island. We offer 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool all delight travelers to Thailand. Golf is available nearby, and for your gastronomical journey, our hotel offers an all-day restaurant with fresh ingredients - our signature Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant. We also provide The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing