We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel with brilliant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My wife & I spend 3 days at this hotel, after a mix up with our booking at the the JW Marriot Phuket Resort & Spa hotel nearby.
It was a stroke of luck to come to this hotel, the staff were fantastic especially Amm & Kaew who help me deal with the mixed up booking and getting a refund for me. The rest of the staff were really professional and they would do anything you asked them with a smile. I like the fact that every time I used their computer to check my emails a member of the staff will come and bring me a glass of chill water without even asking, this is thoughtfuleness for you.
The food also was excellent and the choice endless.

Room Tip: All the rooms are new and very well finished .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank romios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,311 - 2,317 of 3,141 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the resort for 4 days and it was a pleasant experience with 5-star service from the staffs. Although some of them could not communicate well in English, we could feel that they were sincere in helping us in whatever ways they could. The sea-front villa was really cozy and we were able to totally unwind ourselves in peace in the private pool. Food-wise, I must admit that in general, the À la carte selection for restaurants inside the resort was quite pricey but we kind of expected it, given our stay in other similar hotels/resorts. The breakfast selection was indeed commendable and it took us 3 days before we could sample "almost" everything on the spread and the variety was further enhanced with the daily special. While the resort was located far away from the Patong district/Phuket Town, it was not of any concern to my wife and I because we were mainly looking for a place to unwind and rest. In any case, the location did not inconvenience our day-trip plan to Khai Nok for snorkeling. All in all, if you are looking for a place to rest and relax, with exemplary service from the staffs and good facilities, you should probably consider this resort as one of the top choices in your list.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mokutou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Due to an overbooking of our booked hotel, we were moved to The Renaissance. This was a very pleasant surprise. The atmosphere at the hotel is very calm and peacefull. The beach is amazing, nothing but white sand as far as you can see. However it’s not so suitable for children, as it gets deep very quickly. There’s not much to see in the area, the beach is the main attraction. The hotel has bikes you can borrow, so you can explore a bit further and offers a shuttle to Phuket Town and other attractions. Our room was very well equipped, nothing to mark here. Within walking distance there are 3-4 cheap restaurants. I would recommend those for lunch and dinner, breakfast is delicious and very varied at the hotel, but compared to the price lunch and dinner are too expensive. We also tried the spa and really enjoyed it too, beautifully designed and excellent staff and treatments.
We’re already planning to return to Mai Khao next year :-)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Me and my wife stayed for 4 nights in mid June. The beach was a bit windy but the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The manage, Annie, checked us in and drove us to our room herself. I tried to ask the conceirge to confirm the pick up time but found that it was already written on a note. Nalinee insisted to double check with the driver for us. A pool MAINTENANCE staff cleaning the jacuzzi offered me a goggle when I was doing laps in the pool early in the morning. A waitress, whom we talked to the day before during breakfast, drove by us in her bike when we were checking out at a nearby taxi station. She drove back and discussed our plan to Patong with us. Really impressed.
We love their fresh fruit juice, smoothies and homemade ice cream. The Thai food in Takieng is very delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birdieeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

From start to finish this hotel was fantastic!
We managed to find a great deal for a villa with pool, and after saying there, would definitely recommend spending that little bit extra!
we had the hotel car come collect us and drop us to the airport, they provided true 5* star treatment.
The villa was amazing, a large bathtub and a feel of open plan in the whole room. The room leads to the pool and that was something that made it feel like paradise! the pool may seem small but its enough to do short lengths (some swimming), the water was chilly but after swimming for a minute you feel comfortable. Take an ipod connector to plug up to the surround sound or turn the tv around to watch a film while in the water.
Food was great too, breakfast was a variety of different foods and by the time you finish breakfast (which is open until 11am) you're not hungry for the rest of the day! for food though i would also recommend the coffee club in turtle village (ask the hotel for the turtle bay village tuk tuk-free shuttle bus) they have a great variety and not too expensive.
we went to the spa which was lovely, very nice experience although quite expensive. a cheaper option is the massage hut on the beach just off the grounds by the pool. the massage there was once that you will get addicted to, they were fantastic and i highly recommend the thai and oil massage priced at only 400 Baht.
the grounds of the hotel are lovely, even for strolls at night, and the bar is amazing. the barman didnt know our favourite drink so we used the free internet to find the recipe and he made it for us!
reception are also so helpful and lovely to chat to. All the staff were, just a general good feeling place, everyone from housekeeping to gardeners, to reception to the Manager were lovely, even to the point when we left.
The standard rooms are better than the average hotels, and definitely spacious. however the villas are definitely worth it!
Be warned tho, the hotel is remotely located, far from most things, but if its relaxation you are looking for , this is the place you need. Rent a car for a few days and visit Phuket town and Patong for its nightlife and a must is the beautiful Phuket Fantasea. Make sure you opt for the dinner and show, the buffet dinner had an amazing variety of food, something for everyone!
nothing more to say other than it was a trip well worth it, and not even that expensive!

Room Tip: Villa with a pool, worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Was there for an annual business event between April 26 - April 29, 2011. I was responsible for the event and hence was coordinating directly with the hotel team even before we reached there. The event manager assigned to our team Katesuay was simply fantastic. She was innovative, helpful, resourceful and always similing.
The resort is not too far from the airport and is lovely with a private beach and a small shopping center "Turtle Village" just a short drive away. The resort provides a shuttle service every 30 mins for guests to the turtle village and back.
Landscaping in the resort is very well done, even the spa is very soothingly designed with the right balance of water and green. There's a waterfall with a lagoon adjoining the breakfast area and some of the rooms overlook this too. All are guests were accomodated in these lagoon view rooms. The event was a success thanks to the staff there and the resort was beautiful so we will have long plesant memories of the place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuptaDebjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We absolutely loved our 5 days vacation there. The hotel is modern and beautiful! From the lobby to the room, everywhere is tastefully decorated. Staffs are fantastic and very friendly. The included buffet breakfast is excellent. Lots of choices and everything is fresh. our one bedroom suite is very spacious, clean and beautiful. Bathroom is huge which I love. All and all a fantastic stay. We loved every min of it!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieWong001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
14.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
1,001 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 337 in Patong
6,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 555, Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $115 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport. Our Phuket, Thailand resort's location is ideally adjacent to beautiful Sirinath Marine National Park, as well, providing the chance to completely enjoy the magic of our island. We offer 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool all delight travelers to Thailand. Golf is available nearby, and for your gastronomical journey, our hotel offers an all-day restaurant with fresh ingredients - our signature Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant. We also provide The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing