We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet local Thai food”
Review of Kin Dee Restaurant

Kin Dee Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Kin Dee is a small, local,standalone, hideaway family restaurant at Mai Khao run by 2008 Thailand's culinary champion. We serve local Phuket cuisine, Live seafood, Ancient Thai cuisine is just added on the menu. Vegetarian, kid menus,cocktails, Thai wine, Main produces from the village where Kin Dee located and Phuket area. Open from 1030 hrs-2200 hrs. 15 Minutes drive from Phuket airport.Under 5 mins. To drive from Renaissance, Sala, JW Marriott, Anantara villa, Anantara vacation club, Marriott Mai Khao. Around 20 mins to drive from Aleenta, Mai Khao dream Natai
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gourmet local Thai food”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

There were 4 of us who shared the "dinner for 4 persons". Each dish was so good we wanted more, although the portions are more than generous. We had dishes we've never heard of but really enjoyed, such as the banana flower and the pepper leaf. Can't go wrong with any dish here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank barbjgladney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    275
    93
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Thai food as it was ment to be”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Try their famose chopped chicken basil or the massaman curry with chicken. It is really top dishes:) Very pleasent staff and top service. Nice surroundings - a real peal:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peer-Sylvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hard to choose - although the waitress said our choices were good. We ordered a few dishes between us and, because the portions were so huge, we were concerned that they had ordered a double portion of everything - they assured us they hadn't!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlw5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
600 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We enjoyed the whole experience dining at Kin Dee. The setting is rustic but picturesque and we only had a couple mosquito bites that is quite remarkable for dining at dusk in a Mangrove swamp.

The service was very good and friendly. The quality of the food was excellent and reasonably priced when compared to similar establishments in Phuket. I have no experience with other areas of Thailand so can not compare prices compared to the rest of the nation.

Our favorites were the Tom Yum soup and the whole fish - their specialty.

We are here for another week and Kin Dee will likely be the first place that we will visit for a second dinner.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FunOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Not worth trying, food quality is not good at all. But in that area, it's certainly much cheaper than eating at one of the hotels.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RNG1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14111978, Owner at Kin Dee Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Fisrtly, Thank you very much for supporting local business, you've distribute your money to locals and families in our village. I really use the review to improve the business as we really care customers oipnion. As this review is really short, mentioning the quality of the food not good at all and the topic was tourist trap. Kin Dee is a small family run restaurant. The only way to keep us servive in this isolated areas is the food. We try our best to survive and to keep our customers to come back. We do sure that the quality of the food is good enogh to please people. If you study from reviews which written by customers you will see over 82 percents give us excellent. Anyway I feel sorry for you that you seems unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kin Dee Restaurant also viewed

Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 
Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 

Been to Kin Dee Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing