We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Bill Bentley Pub

Bill Bentley Pub
Ranked #11 of 63 Restaurants in Mai Khao
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Irish, British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went to Bill Bentley with minimal expectation given the reviews. But what a pleasant surprise. The food came in quite a good portion and it didn't taste all that bad really. The pub food is a good alternative after several Thai meals. Notwithstanding that, the Phad Thai I ordered at Bill Bentley is comparable with what I had at Thai F&B joints.

If you are not venturing out from the resort, Bill Bentley is one of the better and less expensive meal options.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dnsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    240
    117
    43
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun pub atmosphere”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We enjoyed this pub in the Turtle Village. Good food (enjoyed a burger on July 4th in honor of our American roots) and good beer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank texastraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and great food”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went there twice, and on both occasions it was busy - though not packed - and service was still attentive. Not only that, but the food was great. We had Western food once and Thai the other, and they both tasted brilliant.

There are a lot of restaurants in Phuket, we had a car and we still chose to come back here. That's got to say a lot.

Oh, and the manager was a nice friendly bloke, too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yellowgixxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Western pub”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent food and atmosphere , friendly staff and entertainment for kids includding slidey bowls, pool and Fussball - Sport on Tvs
Food was good quality can highly recommend the guinness pie!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank thekillersDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Mixed food but a nice pub retreat”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have visited Phuket every year for the last 5 years and studiously avoided this place. Seriously, an English pub in Mai Khao?! The rains this year forced a change in our usual hangouts, and I must say the entire family was pleasantly surprised.

It had a great relaxed atmosphere and good service. Given the rains, we were happy to find a pool table and table soccer. We got our seats, went to play and the manager came to alert us when our food was ready. Great stuff.

Food was mixed. Reading the previous reviews, we stuck to Western food. Baked potato, onion rings, burgers, and kiddy food. All good and in large quantities. Our only complaint - strangely the chicken wings were tiny, in a small portion, and had been in the fryer way too long. And good cheap-ish beer. :)

Glad we went. Will be part of our usual itinerary next year. ;)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank speeddolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill Bentley Pub also viewed

Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 
Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 

Been to Bill Bentley Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing