We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Last of its Kind in Phuket” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaside Cottages & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaside Cottages & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Mai Khao B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Last of its Kind in Phuket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed in one of the round cottages for three nights before heading to the Similans. We needed to relax and unwind for a couple of days and this is definitely what happened.

Mal and Koy treat you like friends, happily sharing a beer and a chat well into the night. The Thai food, though very cheap is still some of the best we've had in Thailand. We ate all meals in the restaurant for three days and could not get enough of it... Worth a trip for lunch or dinner as the sun sets.

If you're looking for nightlife, markets, street and beach vendors then DON'T come here. If you're looking for hammocks, silence, cheap beer and great food then you'd be hard pressed to find better value for money on Phuket.

We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    16
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
3
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

First, it was so nice to be disconnected! NO TV was GREAT! No wireless was amazing....... just to be away from it all made our ONE night here a true (albeit brief) vacation.

What an amazing time we had...... We wish we would have skipped Karon and stayed HERE all week. We stayed in the rooms with the private bath which was just as described. No air-con but it was OK since we weren't ever getting dressed up for anything. The owners were very accommodating and we definitely want to come back!

FOOD: The best Thai food I had the whole trip was had here..... sweet and sour prawns with rice was amazing (much better than sweet and sour sauce in the US)..... so were the pineapple shakes.

It was just like the corona commercial... just a few beach chairs and hammocks that you can relax on all day. IF you like people trying to harras you to buy things, and lots of prostitutes, then this is NOT the place for you and KAron, Kata or Padong would be better. However, if you want a peaceful, relaxing vacation, then this place is amazing!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2009

There weren't any reviews on Trip Advisor when we booked our accomodation. But it was well worth it - very secluded, quiet and calm. The huts are as shown on the website - quite small with a mattress on the ground. As long as you don't expect more than you see on the website, you should be happy! Unfortunately my daughter and I were both struck down with food poisoning after a Hong tour so we didn't get to enjoy our stay as much as we would have liked! But that is no reflection on the owners or the property. They were very helpful getting medication for us and arranging a taxi to our next accommodation as we were in no fit state to take the bus. Two of us spent all day sleeping in the chairs and hammock and my partner got to enjoy the beach and beautiful clear water. Simple, clean accommodation. Very friendly people. The only place we could find in a this price range and the sort of place we prefer to stay at (we don't like to stay at the big hotels!)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dm2659
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

A warm and friendly welcome awaits you from Mal and Koy at their picture perfect location. Tremendous Thai food, second to none service, massages as the ocean waves roll in and even maybe impromptu guitar playing around the night fire - what more does a traveller need?

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dm2659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

The bungalos were calm, simplistic and beautiful. If you truly want to get away this is the place. The staff were stunningly helpful. I liked it so much I changed my plans and am going back this weekend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSHERW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

Seaside Cottages & Restaurant is not the place to go if you are after lots of noise, crowded beaches and hassling from people who want to sell you things.

Agree with everything in the previous reviews. We stayed a week in a very good resort near Patong the week before and Seaside Cottages & Restaurant was much more fun despite not having all the usual things like a pool, cable tv, airconditioning etc.

The location is great and quite different to most tourist spots in Phuket that have hordes of people everywhere. Anywhere in Phuket is accessible from Mai Khao so there is no problem with being at the other end of the island.

Mal and Koy are fantastic hosts and the food at the restaurant was the best we had while in Phuket by far.

The only thing we didn't like about our stay was having to leave.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gumwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

I stayed here on my first trip to Thailand - it was my first stop and I couldn't have asked for anything better! Mal and Koy go out of their way to help you, nothing is too much bother. The beautiful little bungalows were clean, comfy and with a beautiful view right on the beach!
The location was quiet and peaceful, and it felt like the beach was all mine. I can't tell you what a wonderful place this is - you'll have to see for yourself!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anclaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
D Varee Mai Khao Beach
D Varee Mai Khao Beach
#87 of 94 in Thalang District
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coriacea Boutique Resort
Coriacea Boutique Resort
#11 of 11 in Mai Khao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Cottages & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Cottages & Restaurant

Property: Seaside Cottages & Restaurant
Address: 129/1 Moo 3 Mai Khao, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very natural resort with modern facilities and friendly English speaking staff. Round En-Suite Cottages, Beach Huts and Campground. Licenced Restaurant open to the public and serving a large variety of Thai & English food. This site is one of the most natural and quietest areas of Phuket and a complete contrast to the overdeveloped south. There is no road along the beach so you will not be disturbed by noisy traffic or nightclubs and although we are only a few kilometers from the airport you you cannot hear the aircraft. It is our policy to operate using environmentally friendly practices as much as possible. All building and fittings are recently constructed so you can be sure of clean & presentable facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Seaside Cottages & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Cottages & Restaurant Hotel Mai Khao
Seaside Cottages And Restaurant
Seaside Cottages & Restaurant Phuket/Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing