We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Family Feel ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaside Cottages & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Mai Khao B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Family Feel ”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Seaside Cottages for two nights when we first got to Phuket.

We stayed in the most basic hut and it was fine and as expected. A comfortable mattress on the floor with a mosquito net. There is a great family feel to the place and Malcom, the owner is a very personable person.

The cottages are located very close to the airport which was just what we wanted. However, you wouldn't think they were close to the airport as they are situated on a large undeveloped beach. Even though you can see the occasional plane, you can't hear them.

The only negative is the restaurant. It is not a bad restaurant but there are better alternatives close by.

Overall, a nice welcome to Thailand and a comfortable stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    17
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
3
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

This place is everything you want, the cottages are beautiful and very clean, the bathroom is nice and very clean. The food is amazing and cheap. It's so close to the beach which is great for swimming at. It's outstanding for the price and would recommend to anybody that just wants to relax

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jess_bailey90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in December 2013 at the start of a fortnight holiday and it was the perfect beginning to our trip. It's properly back to basics - just like camping but with a roof! We opted for a hut which is literally a mattress and a fan. It was very clean and a 10 second walk away is an equally clean communal bathroom and toilet. There were few people around when we stayed - which meant we virtually got the most beautiful stretch of beach to ourselves. The restaurant at Seaside Cottages is great and the Thai food was some of the best we had over the two weeks. There's not much around so don't expect tons of restaurants to choose from or loads of bars as it is isolated. But that was what we wanted and it fitted the bill perfectly. Staff very friendly too. If arriving by taxi, it's not signposted well so recommend downloading directions from Seaside website and giving those to driver. Ours stopped at a place nearby called D-Varee and there's a gate across a track right next to there. Five/ten mins walk will lead you to the back of Seaside Cottages.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank evg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Great place in wonderful and quiet surroundings. What you read on the web is what you get. Very basic, but that's what it's all about, campground like. Don't go there to party or for fancy restaurants. Don't go if afraid of dogs (do no harm at all). Very friendly staff to have a chat with. Btw: there's a mini mart in the Holiday Inn, they also have wifi and PCs. Just behave as a hotel guest.. ;-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mfehlmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for 3 nights in October. We found out about it after a friend suggested it. If you want somewhere totally cut off from the rest of the world then this is the place for you. If however, you are planning to use this as a base to do some sight seeing around the local area I would look elsewhere. The owner, an expat englishman obviously likes his privacy as the gate to the resort is locked 400m away from the Resort, and the signposting / directions to get here are pretty confusing. Once you get here you will find very basic rooms, with a matrress on the floor and very little space. Shared bathrooms are clean. The rooms cost around 400 thai baht per person, so if you are sharing that works out as 800 thai baht/ night. If backpacking, this then seems expensive compared with rooms on average around 500 baht/night with beds/air con / on suite/ hot water that we have found in the rest of Thailand. The food is limited to the restaurant in the resort or a taxi ride away. The food was ok but again seems overpriced for what it was. Regarding day trips - we booked here after the website said "we can arrange tours and transport". When we asked the owner about this he said he could organise a taxi (to the checkpoint) or show us where the path is to the main road from where we could flag local transport down to the local checkpoint and from there we could get buses to other places. The path to the main road was a 1km walk along this path which said "private" and was overgrown and at the end there was a barb wire fence blocking our path. Once you scramble under this there is another 3km walk to the main road to flag local transport down. We hitch hiked to the checkpoint then got our bus from threre. Overall I would say if you want a quiet retreat from the world for a few nights and don't mind slightly overpriced food/ accommodation and isolated location then this is the place for you. But once you come don't plan on leaving until its check out!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Seaside Cottages. It was very stormy during our stay but we simply spent the time relaxing in the restaurant, eating delicious food and enjoying the company of fellow guests and the hotel owner Malcolm. We stayed in one of the round cottages which was very pleasant, you can camp or stay in one of the beach front huts, too. We felt that it was great value for money and offered peace and solitude at the end of a busy holiday. I advise printing off the map and directions to make it easier for taxi drivers as the cottages are a little off the beaten track (in a good way). Activities, trips and taxis can all be booked through the hotel, Malcolm was always very helpful. The website does make it clear that you must arrive before 9pm which is understandable as it's a small family-run operation. If you are looking for peace and quiet with good food, drink and company on-site then Seaside Cottages is for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe-Easterly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great beach bungalow, we stayed in round bungalow with private bathroom and fan for 8 nights. This place is lovely and quiet. The owner Malcolm was very accommodating and friendly. This is a great place if you are wanting quiet, if your wanting the bright lights of Phuket or the party atmosphere then this is not for you.
I can't recommend this place enough. The restaurant is reasonably priced and the food is lovely , the staff very friendly.
It is perfectly situated for sunsets.
There are a couple of other restaurants within walking distance also a little shop and a atm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beijarflorx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mai Khao hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa
1.5 mi away
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
1.2 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Cottages & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Cottages & Restaurant

Property: Seaside Cottages & Restaurant
Address: 129/1 Moo 3 Mai Khao, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very natural resort with modern facilities and friendly English speaking staff. Round En-Suite Cottages, Beach Huts and Campground. Licenced Restaurant open to the public and serving a large variety of Thai & English food. This site is one of the most natural and quietest areas of Phuket and a complete contrast to the overdeveloped south. There is no road along the beach so you will not be disturbed by noisy traffic or nightclubs and although we are only a few kilometers from the airport you you cannot hear the aircraft. It is our policy to operate using environmentally friendly practices as much as possible. All building and fittings are recently constructed so you can be sure of clean & presentable facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Seaside Cottages & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Cottages & Restaurant Hotel Mai Khao
Seaside Cottages And Restaurant
Seaside Cottages & Restaurant Phuket/Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing