We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seaside Cottages & Restaurant
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Mai Khao
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
53
18
9
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
18
9
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe holiday innfried bananaquiet beachrenaissance resortmalcolmphuketbahtthaimai
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 87 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I visited Seaside Cottages last week for 3 nights, this was not my first time and I was happy as always to stay here. The food and drink are great and Malcolm and Koy always give a warm welcome.

The only slight let-down is the number of Russians on the beach who think it is morally acceptable to wear Speedos whilst sporting huge beer guts!!

Room Tip: Read the website to ensure you have the full directions on how to get here.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tacohound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

we stayed in the wooden hut on this very quiet beautiful beach.
the hut/shed is small. the sheets were clean when we got there but the matress and pillows have seen better days. after the 3rd night the bugs were just everywhere and the lizards started to move in.
the shower facilitys were basic with no hot water also slighty smelly.
the menu has plenty to offer and all taste very good.
malcom is always around to offer advise and help when needed.
so if you like camping you'll love seaside cottage it offers you personal service with great views and that little bit of real thailand.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We loved our four days here. So quiet and peaceful. Food was DELICIOUS and homemade. Our cottage was awesome, we slept for 12 hours a night! If you are looking for an inexpensive retreat in Phuket, this is the place. If you are looking for a party, look elsewhere. Tip: buy some wine off site and save for sunset. You won't regret it.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Jbethune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed here with my three other friends for four days and we chose the hut. It was simple hut yet clean and comfortable. The location is literally on the sea side so we can go to the beach and play whenever we want! It is quite far from the Phuket town but i can assure you that this is a perfect place to rest and relax! The breeze, the solitude were just perfect! I had a great nap on the second day, something i didn't have for years.

If you want to go to the town, with a little walk you can find a taxi and it will take you directly to the town or to the highway where you can continue the journey by bus. The taxi is quite expensive(especially for us, the backpackers :D) but with a little skill of bargaining we got a good price at that time. 80 baht to the highway (divided by four) and the bus was for 50 baht.

We didn't eat at the restaurant since they serve pork and we are Moslems but Malcom and other staffs were so helpful to us. They provide hot waters so we could cook noodles :D

Thanks for all the service and making our holiday feel great :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diniIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

If you need 24 hr partying, room service, and flat screen sat telly... look elsewhere. If peace and quiet in a beautiful location are what you're after, this is the place for you.

The huts are really simple, basically just a mattress inside (plus a fan in those a bit more expensive). But, honestly, in this place, there's really no need for anything more than that. You can hang out on a beautiful wooden patio, in a well-kept garden under shady big, old trees, and the beach is literally just steps away. Beach is endlessly long and quite serene, but be aware that it is not for swimming because of strong currents (good enough for dipping in, though). The huts are not only pretty, but also very clean. Same thing basically applies to the shared bathrooms as well, although points are deducted for a bit of what looks like mold on the shower curtains. Generally, however, I have to say that the place is in mint condition, especially considering the tiny price you're paying.

Both the location and the obvious love and care the staff dedicate to the place create a one-of-a-kind atmosphere, just a perfect place to rest and set the soul free, no crowds and drunk party people in sight whatsoever. The owner is the nicest person in the world if you share his love for the place, but he seems to be a little harsh towards people coming there expecting something else than it is. Seems a bit like he'll bite you if you'd ask for the nearest club... ;-) Didn't bother us, personally, but maybe something to keep in mind. Likewise, most of the local staff does not speak much English, so be prepared to communicate by smiles and gestures - may not be something when you're under stress, but otherwise only adds to the relaxed feel here.

There are two resorts nearby, other than that Seaside Cottages is pretty much the middle of nowhere. A restaurant with good food is on the compound, there's a tiny shop in the resort next door, and a taxi stand about 800 meters or so away. All in all, that means that bringing your own transport may be worth considering, especially since taxis can be a bit of a hassle. We think it was also worth it because Phuket is a wonderful place to explore at your own terms! A car or motorcycle will furthermore grant you access to beaches nearby to swim, supermarkets, and alternative eateries... all of which are otherwise hard to get to.

Make sure to print off the directions as well... with directions, finding the place is quite simple; without them, however, probably next to impossible.

All in all, we'd definitely come back again... a wonderfully relaxing experience in beautiful surroundings at a price that's impossible to beat!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews