We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly good resort - Zero faults”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Right from the checking in process we found this resort faultless and impossible to leave! We have stayed in a number of '5 star hotels' in the area and whilst this was the most expensive it is also by far the best. I cant recommend the Anantara highly enough. Good areas listed below:-

* Villas - amazing! spacious, light and beautifully designed. This really was the highlight for us, with a 20ft+ private pool and large interior we didn't want to leave.
* Customer Service - attentive and give a damn.
* Tropical and lush lagoon and surrounding gardens
* Resort pool is large and never crowded
* Great restaurants, lovely food, fantastic cocktails (orange duck was the best i have ever had)
* Beach - weirdly quiet considering how nice it is. Goes on forever with impressive and quite powerful waves

Very highly recommended, you should definitely stay here

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,121 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2011

It is difficult to find fault with this resort if you are seeking your own hideaway with pool. The only gripe might be the price of the villa and meals. Apart from that, it makes the perfect crash out venue for a few days. One warning is to seek a villa away from the side where the Hilton high rise blocks are and their overlooking you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Stayed 4 nights. Enjoyed the privacy of our pool. Villa very nice and comfortable. Love the outdoor shower. Tried both restaurant and they were both very good and resonable priced. Breakfast is awesome.
Our daughter enjoyed making art projects in the kids club and we all took an art class by the in house artist at the time, Chris Hogan.
Pool and beach is beautiful. the only complaint I can think of, is that this hotel allows people to go to the pool in the wee hours in the morning to place towels and spread their books out in order to "reserve" the prime pool lounges, and then show up hours later. Bad taste.
The little massage hut down by the beach (does not belong to Anantara) is well worth the 400 baths and the cozy little beer bar is also worth a visit. (Did not try the hotel spa).
Overall, liked it a lot, especially the beach (no crowds) and the villa.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank washing2nian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Anantara is a relatively new property, with mostly 1-bedroom villas that are very luxurious and have private pools. the setting is gorgeous -- on the beach, lush tropical landscape throughout the property, and even a small lake with lots of lillies and ducks. At night, they light torches at the entrance and around the restaurant -- very pretty. the service is exceedingly polite, if a bit slow. the spa is reasonable and efficient. This is next to the very large JW Marriott hotel and adjacent to a small shopping area that has a great supermarket. Very quiet and private. Their restaurant is excellent and they will make the food just as you want. A terrific place to relax and unwind.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank soberoi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

This is the first review I've posted. This hotel is the best hotel I have stayed in. Yes, it's expensive, but I'll always have a smile when I remember our wonderful four days.
We stayed in Villa 49. Just a lagoon villa with private pool. I would wake, slip out of bed, and open the bedroom glass door, and slip straight our private pool. Bliss. Lovely, quiet room, huge bed and great sleep.
Gardens are beautiful. Staff are lovely, polite and smiling. Restaurants were all good, especially the Sala restaurant with it's Red Curry and Duck. Not especially overpriced and service from Pla, our server, was very good.
The spa was really quite expensive, but was just the best experience. Loved the Thai compression massage, and my wife loved the foot and hand treatments.
Beach was lovely. Pool was lovely. Pool bar and restaurant were lovely. I would mention all the negative features, but I can't find any. Take me back please.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

The Villas at this resort are stunning. This is the second Anantara resort we have stayed at ( Golden Triangle before ) and they are a very special experience.
Probably our biggest dissapointment while staying at the resort was the Sea fire salt restuarant. The food was cold and the sauce for the dish came out after we had finished easting. Not really great for a resort of this standard.
Breakfast was also incredibly slow and often came out cold when something was ordered.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brisbanetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

The first impression I got was the beautiful gardens and how lush it was! Then I found out that's because Bill Bensley is the man behind it all.

Apart from that, the villas are nice - spacious enough for my family of 4 and the pool, also a good size. Thoughtful touches in the villa for the kids which were appreciated since I didn't pack any toys for them. However the resort didn't have any sand toys available which is not that big a deal but surprising as most beach resorts we've stayed in had a ready supply of them.

The service was excellent. I requested for very specific toddler food for my daughter and the executive chef made sure that the instruction was passed to all the restaurants. We also asked for bikes for our family of 4 (which included a kiddy bike and an adult bike with a baby seat) and they specially made arrangements to borrow them from the Marriot as they didn't have them. So I definitely have to give credit to the staff for their excellent service.

The only major, huge issue. We found lots of broken glass in the man-made beach area in front of the pool. I can only say we were damn lucky that none of us got cut. And we found more the second day after we had informed the staff about the glass. We stayed in many beach resorts and this is the first time we've found glass in the sand. Only on the third day the sand was completely free of glass. There was apparently a party 4 days before we arrived. 4 days and nobody noticed all the glass just lying on top of the sand? Unacceptable.

Well other than that, it's a lovely place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerrylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
12.3 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#5 of 36 in Choeng Thale
784 reviews
3.0 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
7.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Phuket
Banyan Tree Phuket
#21 of 97 in Thalang District
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Address: 888 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Phuket Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $372 - $1,702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming tropical beauty of Thailand's premier island destination, Anantara Phuket Villas provides a luxurious refuge that opens out onto unspoiled panoramas. Awake to the sight of virgin sands backed by the lush vegetation of Sirinath National Park. Trek through the dense jungle by elephant to discover untouched island wonders. Relax in your private pool villa surrounded by the finest materials and design. Our Phuket resort puts the upmost emphasis on designer relaxation and guests' privacy, with 91 private Phuket pool villas scattered harmoniously across a prime stretch of Mai Khao Beach. Complimenting our luxury resort's tropically inviting accommodation is a host of services and facilities of the highest standard, including premium restaurants, bars and leisure facilities. Anantara Phuket's glorious contemporary design is inspired by a location that offers an array of activities, from diving in pristine waters to learning the ancient art of Thai cookery. The full delights of Anantara Phuket Villas are ready for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Phuket Villas Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Phuket
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing