We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already suffering Anantara withdrawal...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Loved, loved, loved Anantara Phuket Villas! Buffet breakfast - my husband and I are still raving about it. The grounds are beautiful and lush. And our villa was so amaze, we found it hard to spend time at the other facilities - though we were glad to spend a day at the infinity pool - complimentary sunscreen! But what stands out the most is the level of service - in the spa, restaurants, at the management level - these are wonderful people who enjoy ensuring that every detail is taken care of.

Room Tip: we loved Villa 66. It was quiet - not too far from pool nor breakfast.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ingrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Ingrid P

Greetings from Anantara Phuket Villas

What an amazing review. On behalf of the entire Anantara Phuket Villas Team I would like to thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so glad that we were able to WOW you and that every detail in our resort were appreciated. I also would like ot thank you for highlighting the level of service throughout the resort which only will continue motivating our associates to provide always a memorable experience to all our patrons.

We are looking forward to have you soon back so that you do not have to "suffer too long from Anantara withdrawel" .

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,636)
There are newer reviews for Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

Relax, forget about everything which is annoying you now. It is a kind of heaven. strongly recommend except 2 restaurants in hotel. food is too expensive and not so tasty, compared with local restaurant. i recommend that you should hire taxi for 3 hours and go to a local restaurant and enjoy local foods. cost you less than 2000 BTS including taxi hiring for 2 persons while you must pay at least 8000 BTS at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tomnakajima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Tomnakajima

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and we are glad to read that you found yourself in a heaven a like place. Indeed our resort is a perfrect place to unwind and relax and enjoy the picturesque beach and tranquil ambience.

However we are rather dsappointed that we were not able to WOW you in any of our restaurants with our food and would appreciate if you could contact me directly at cgerart@anantara.com to share your experiences with us so we can address them with our culinary team.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon back in our paradise.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I am very pleased that I chose Anantara villas as my choice of stay here for my short honeymoon stay over a weekend. After reading the reviews here, we decided to go ahead with Anantara and truly we were not at all disappointed.

The manager did greeted us when we check in and he was very friendly. He made sure everything is good with us and that we were in good hands before leaving. The staff are always very smiley and greet us. That really made our stay here more memorable and warm.

The villa is awesome beyond words. We have never stayed in something as magnificent as this before. A private pool and a bath tub.. We truly enjoyed it so so much. The beach is just 5 min walk away and it's private one so not too crowded. There's some pretty good massages there which we tried. After a good swim, it's perfect to head for those massage.

Couldn't be more happy to stay here. We were so so so reluctant to head home after a wonderful weekend. We will be back again next year! First trip to Phuket is really unforgettable! Thanks Christian (Manager of the resort) and to all the other staff. Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 10 which is pretty good.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pastrylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Pastrylinda

Greetings from Anantara Phuket Villas

We would like to thank you so much for your review and we are glad to read that you first visit to Phuket has been with Anantara Phuket Villas and that you enjoyed your weekend with us.

We are proud to read that your consider our villas as "Out of the world" which make us proud and even better to hear that you "had a hard time to leave again" which is the best compliment one can receive.

Once again thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very nice villas in the nort part of the Island of Phuket.
The rooms are very nice and the beach is in walking distance.
They have 2 restaurants but you can dine also in the neighbour Hotel Marriot that has some good restaurants too.
For relaxing is the best however to visit Phuket town our Patong you most take a táxi that will cost you 2.000 baths or the bus shuttle from the hotel that is half.
Very good for couples and young children.
I will definitely return

Room Tip: Near the beach
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaMontalvao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear PaulaMontalvao

Greetings from Anantara Phuket Villas.

on behalf of the entire Anantara Phuket Villas team I would like to thank you for sharing your expeirences with us on this platform.

We are glad to read that your time with us was relaxing and you enjoyed the spacious villas and all other facilities.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again

Thank you

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just 20 minutes away from the airport, this is a great place to spend a few days with the family. We travelled with two youngers at the age of 5 and 6. They absolutely loved the place and the services we got is best for the price we paid. We had a one bedroom lagoon villa which easily fitted with two extra beds for the kids. The pool is right outside your bedroom with a sliding door which you can almost just jump out of the bed into it. Tennis courts are just minutes away which you can reach easily by foot. Price for renting a car (Mercedes E class with driver) is reasonable and they can take you around Phuket. We rented it for two days to restaurants around town, mini-golf and horse riding (which are great for kids!). Do note thta the hotel cars are rented by the hour. Beach quality is average so did not spend much time there. Arrived Sunday afternoon and departed the following Friday. Had a great time and definitely would recommend people to go there. Especially if you want privacy and relaxation on your trip.

One recommendation to Anantara Phuket Villas would be great to expand the number of restaurants and choices of the menus. Though it is easy to travel next door to JW Marriott for Japanese food (2 mins by Shuttle bus and is free) but the food there is not very much up to standard for the price. Turtle Village which is a small shopping area right next to Villas has a grocery store and two restaurants. Food and coffe at the Coffee shop at Turtle Village is pretty good and at reasonable price too.

All in all, GREAT place and services for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dude2617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Dude2617

Greetings from Anantara Phuket Villas.

I would like to thank you on behalf of the entire Anantara Phuket Villas team for such a great review. We are pleased to read that you and your family have had a great time with us.

We took note of your suggestions pertaining the restaurants and will look into this with our culinary team.

Once again thank you for having chosen our little paradise for your family vacation and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

First class hotel. Every room is a private pool villa, and the pools are a decent size too - you can actually swim about rather than just cool off. Airport pick up and shuttle to the hotel was efficient and they were able to get us a room despite being before their guaranteed check in time, which is appreciated. The daily breakfast was very good, fresh food, tropical fruits and a decent selection of cooked items. The staff were exceptional and provided great hospitality and service.

Slight downsides are the mosquitoes. The hotel is set around a lagoon and has a variety of plants and wildlife. While they do occasionally fog to keep the insects at bay, ultimately you're in the tropics so there are bound to be a few mozzies here and there. Another downside (depending on your point of view) is the location. There are relatively few local restaurants etc. in walking distance, so you may end up spending time dealing with taxi hassles to get to nearby areas. We opted to rent a car for a few days which the front desk was happy to arrange for us - so long as you go slow and watch for scooters driving on Phuket is not challenging.

The food options in the resort (which high quality) are perhaps one of the bigger drawbacks, with limited casual dining options at a reasonable price. The (much bigger) neighboring Marriott resort is in close walking distance and has a few more affordable F&B options.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear Alistair T

We would like to thank you for your great review and sharing your expeirences with us and other readers.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and would hope to welcome you soon back

Thank you

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We felt the need to write this to save others from the same experience. On the whole the resort is fine but there is a distinct smell of sewage in places. Unfortunately our pool area is one of them, so much so that we couldn’t bare to sit by the pool last night and had to move indoors. We mentioned it at reception who sent housekeeping who implied it was the water being used on the plants and they would get it turned off. I guess they may re-use the cleaner waste water for the garden. The villa complex is built around either a natural or artificial lagoon and the water is understandably murky, there are a number of pumps which appear to be aerating the water. However, the smell is not all over the complex, only in certain areas and not all the time. We took a walk around this morning and around the other hotels, the Anantara Villas only seem to be affected. Our villa is at the very back of the resort, near the tennis courts, where the lagoon seems to be almost effluent like. I’m not sure what else I can say as none of the others reviews mention it, even people here last week but you have been warned. It has so far ruined our experience, we’re contemplating checking out! As I write another waft arrives. It’s a shame as the villa is lovely otherwise.

Room Tip: We're in villa 38 at the back. Try to avoid.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear manyana

Greetings from Anantara Phuket Villas

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your review with us . We are glad that you like our villas however it is sad to read that you had this unpleasant experience with the irrigation water.

We have noted your comments and have already adjusted the timing of the sprinklers in our gardens to avoid this situation.

Thank you very much and we would hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
6.5 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#5 of 36 in Choeng Thale
749 reviews
12.3 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
494 reviews
3.0 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Address: 888 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Phuket Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $356 - $1,825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming tropical beauty of Thailand's premier island destination, Anantara Phuket Villas provides a luxurious refuge that opens out onto unspoiled panoramas. Awake to the sight of virgin sands backed by the lush vegetation of Sirinath National Park. Trek through the dense jungle by elephant to discover untouched island wonders. Relax in your private pool villa surrounded by the finest materials and design. Our Phuket resort puts the upmost emphasis on designer relaxation and guests' privacy, with 91 private Phuket pool villas scattered harmoniously across a prime stretch of Mai Khao Beach. Complimenting our luxury resort's tropically inviting accommodation is a host of services and facilities of the highest standard, including premium restaurants, bars and leisure facilities. Anantara Phuket's glorious contemporary design is inspired by a location that offers an array of activities, from diving in pristine waters to learning the ancient art of Thai cookery. The full delights of Anantara Phuket Villas are ready for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Phuket Villas Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Phuket
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing