We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
138 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Top Resort”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the Resort for 4 days arriving the 22nd of December 2013
Our pool villa ws fantastic offering full privacy All villas have private swimming pool and special bath (outside under the skyline) The interior of the villa is big enough and really nice
Restaurants and pool area are amazing ant totally relaxing.
The Christmas eve buffet arranged close to the beach was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Npasxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Npaxsa

Greetings from Anantara Phuket Vilas .

Thank you very much for your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed the privacy of your villa and the spacious pool in our villa.

We hope to have the pleasure having you back for another relaxing break.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    232
    60
    17
    12
See reviews for
408
878
28
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Please note that my review is based on a site inspection and I did not stay at this resort as after several researches I decided that Trisara was more what I was looking for.
The resort is tired and in desperate needs of attention - the rooms we visited were not super clean and my attention was caught by the number of inspect repellent and other DDT you find in your closet ! ( this does not happen in other resorts on the island).Some villas are close to the lagoon that is a nice features, however no villa has sea or lagged view. Also I was not sure about the mix of colours of the decorations.
There is no private beach as this is public - so there is no facilities on the beach itself ( so for example you cannot have your wedding ceremony on the beach or simply you cannot have your sun chair/parasol close to the water). The decoration is a not as stylish as other Anantara resort I visited in the past ( Maldives / UAE) and everything feel a bit random and too relaxed. We had dinner at the Sea Fire Salt restaurant, the WOW seafood platter was nice….but not the fine dining I would expect at a luxury resort. Overall this is not a luxury resort if that is what you are looking for. If you get a good rate and do not mind being in a super crowded pool area with screaming kids and volley ball players on the beach, maybe you can consider it, however I would not travel the other side of the world to get here. No point really !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Weddinginrome W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Weddinginrome W

Greetings from Anantara Phuket Villas .

We would like to thank you for sharing your opnion with us . It is with regret to read that within your short site inspection we were not able to WOW you . We have noted your comment about our beach being a public beach as actually most of the beaches in Thailand are public beaches. But we would like to inform our other readers that our resort is located partially in the Sirinat National Park and therefore we do not place any lounge chairs directly at the beach which actually gives the beach a very tranquil and exclusive ambience which all our guest have appreciated so far.

We are glad to read on this platform and in your email received that you enjoyed your dinner at our signature restaurant Sea.Fire.Salt.

Once again thank you for sharing your opinion with us.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Air Itam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My one pool villa is one of the best I ever stayed for relaxing and pampering after the whole year hard works. Bicycle is available for free to guest. An own indoor swimming pool and special bath (outside under the skyline) too are available for us to choose when we wants to take our bath. Spacious living room, dinning hall, kitchen and bedroom equipped with reading lights and friendly front office welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalaysiaTravelingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear MalaysiaTravelling...

Greetings from Anantara Phuket Villas.

Thank you so much for your great review.

We are glad to read that Anantara Phuket Villas has the perfect villa for you to relax after a stressful year of work and you enjoyed all the facilities.

We sincerly hope we would not have to wait another year to welcome you soon back.

With kind regards

Christian Gerart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Anantara Phuket Villas and with so many options on the high end lodging choice list it is always hard to choose. Forget about who has the softest pillows and largest wine cellar. Yes we had an enormous villa with a private plunge pool. We took advantage of the large and spectacular main pool that was clean and well kept. It overlooked a beautiful and nicely maintained beach. The resort is large but there is no feeling of losing intimacy. We particuarly enjoyed the bicycles that were stationed around the flat and lush property for our use, Management has got this place popping with detail and an enthusiastic and cheerful staff. We ventured out one day and to see Phuket which is about 30 minutes away depending on traffic. No shortage of activity there if that is what you are looking for. Some very nice beaches and there may have been a great hotel tucked away in town but when we passed through our Villas gates on the return it was if serenity had returned. You actually felt as if you were in Thailand rather than a shopping mall back home. The pre purchased transfer to the airport for our return was arranged through Asian Trails and they failed to show up. Hotel management sprung to their feet and called a cab but time was of the essence. The hotel manager, Christian Gerart hears about our dilemma and for those of you old enough to remember TV when Batman calls for his BatMobile, wham bam, the garage door opens and his personal car appears. Mr. Gerart jumps behind the wheel, instructs the staff to pack our bags into his trunk and we all jump in. It wasn't the autobahn but Christian certainly has done this before and became our expert private driver. We arrive for our flight with minutes to spare. So when you are considering a place to stay in Phuket look no further because what you are really buying is a team of people to make your time their special. Bigger not better, more expensive does not buy satisfaction....and the softest pillow does not insure a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbk963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We visited Anantara for our 3rd wedding anniversary in November 2011. We had a fabulous stay. We stayed at the 1 bedroom pool villa with our son. We all had a fabulous time. The property is managed in an excellent condition. My favourite experience was at the spa. They have a wonderful spa with an array of services and products to purchase.

We are definitely looking to return again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UmaDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

...Anantara Phuket Villas is such a great place that we went there for the third time in December 13! Seems that it becomes a pre-Christmas tradition for us :-)

It's not just that we love the tasteful, comfortable and very private villas with pool. From the very first moment, the beautiful tropical garden with lagoon makes you feel like you're in paradise. The service attitude is exceptional, it feels like staff members aim to exceed (already high) guest expectations. And whenever we had a special request, e.g. having an individual choice of seafood starters in the Treehouse from the beachfront restaurant, it was fulfilled immediately.

We usually spend our time mostly in the villa, leaving it only for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is served in the "La Sala" restaurant and offers a wide range of food, both European and Asian style. The choice of fresh juices, smoothies, lassi, coffee including espresso, latte etc is also really great. After a relaxing day, we started our evenings always with drinks in the Treehouse, tried all the different kinds of mojito styles and loved the atmosphere when relaxing on the comfortable daybeds, overlooking the lagoon. A nice alternative is the pool bar during sunset! Both restaurants are excellent!

Finally we would like to thank Christian, the general manager, for doing an exceptional job with the resort and making us feel very welcome!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Everything was near perfect during our 5 day stay!

After pick-up at airport, upon arrival at the resort, we felt totally relaxed starting at the reception for check-in. The service was attentive, sincere, and just outstanding.

The pool villa is nicely designed and very comfortable for the two of us. We enjoyed the pool, hot tub/Jacuzzi, sunbath by the pool, the bar in the yard and more. Take a walk to the connecting beach on property and you will discover more facilities, such as outdoor pools, hot tubs, fitness center, bar and much more.

For dining, we tried several meals at La Sala and Seafood Barbecue. The staff was friendly and the food is quite good. You may also walk out of the resort to the mall next door for quick meals or simple shopping.

The resort also offered other activities for purchase, such as elephant riding, Fantasea, etc. We selected a few, which saved us the trouble of planning. We also recommend to have Spa/Thai Massage in the comfort of your room. They are trained and skilled.

After a trip to Patong Beach, we realized how wonderful Anantara is for us, because we can't relax with too much crowd. If you like tons of party people and shops, Anantara might not be your choice. But, Anantara has everything else.

The only negative thing to say is that although Anantara has everything you need, it could dent your wallet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legend2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Property: Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Address: 888 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Phuket Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming tropical beauty of Thailand's premier island destination, Anantara Phuket Villas provides a luxurious refuge that opens out onto unspoiled panoramas. Awake to the sight of virgin sands backed by the lush vegetation of Sirinath National Park. Trek through the dense jungle by elephant to discover untouched island wonders. Relax in your private pool villa surrounded by the finest materials and design. Our Phuket resort puts the upmost emphasis on designer relaxation and guests' privacy, with 91 private Phuket pool villas scattered harmoniously across a prime stretch of Mai Khao Beach. Complimenting our luxury resort's tropically inviting accommodation is a host of services and facilities of the highest standard, including premium restaurants, bars and leisure facilities. Anantara Phuket's glorious contemporary design is inspired by a location that offers an array of activities, from diving in pristine waters to learning the ancient art of Thai cookery. The full delights of Anantara Phuket Villas are ready for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Phuket Villas Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Phuket
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing