We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comparison with Sala detailed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Norddeutschland
Level Contributor
791 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
“Comparison with Sala detailed”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you are reading this you will most likely already know that this hotel is on a very quite place, not that much around in terms of shopping or inexpensive restaurants and is a perfect spot for spending some very relaxing time in luxury. All the reviews in that sens are perfectly true.

Nevertheless there is another hotel of similar standards just a couple of hundred meters south on the same beach and since we enjoyed both in the highest room category which makes sense for a couple, so no double sleeping rooms,, I will not only mention the facts but also give some comparisons since you might not be in the comfortable situation to try out both but wander which one to book.

General layout and location: The Ananatara has a very generous layout, there are many trees, a lot of flowers, the birdlife is varied and the lagoon makes for a very open and peaceful stay. A lot to enjoy and explore and a bit like a small park. This comes especially true once you have a Sala villa with your own Sala over the Lagoon. The Sala is much more concrete. Both have very good pools and a nice poolbar the one at the Anantara being a bit bigger. The beach is the same, the Anantara is closer to the turtle village (it starts right by the reception). This means that some rooms (in the 10 to 30´s) hear some noise from the major road to the airport.

Rooms: The highest category in the Sala is a bit bigger but does not have the nice sala over the lagoon which is extremely nice for bird watching or a snack. The villas are both very nice with the bathroom being inside the villa at the Anantara. The pool at the Sala is a bit bigger (as the whole villa) so swimming is a bit better. The villas itself are both spacious and luxurious and make for a wonderful stay. The Anantara is more open and offers more green alas that is also the big setback in my opinion. The rooms at the Sala offer total privacy, the rooms at the Anantara are built 4 together and at least one of your neighbors will have a good view inside you garden. Also passersyby may be able to peek inside. The Highest category at the Anantara offers some additional perks, some snacks (some tacos and vegatable sticks plus some spread and a beer per person) in the afternoon, a flowerpetal bath (the bath only separated by a window from the pool is a major treat) and a Loi Krathong ceremony. Nothing to get too excited over but all very nice.

The food:

Hands down, the breakfast at the Anantara is way better. It is maybe the best breakfast I have encountered in my travels (see other hotel revies). 11 kinds of juice, creals, 15 kinds of bread and rolls, at least 6 hot dishes (not counting the soups) heaps of condiments eggs any way you like them (order a poached egg and you get eggs benedicte) cheese, cold cuts, honey, marmelade, even Nutella for those who like it, fruits, every morning we left full to the brim. All very tasty and freshly prepared.

The Thai tapas at the Treehouse are also very nice, the cocktails are done perfectly. We were a bit disappointed by the sea fire salt, the starter mix plate was too much deep fried and the meat and fish we had a s a main was nothing too special. Even considering the standard of the hotel this was overpriced.

We did the cooking class which was really fun and well prepared, I can only recommend this, but skip the breakfast if you go for it.

The staff:

All very pleasant but from time to time, let us just say, operational hickups should not happen but after our complaint we were fully rectified, so no hard feeling there, the hotel was very generous to us to make good for some mistakes so that was a positive point. But in both hotels the staff is equally friendly and nice with but one exception that was the breakfast team at the Anantara. The crew did a wonderful job each morning and we really enjoyed their hospitality. Pla and her crew and their outstanding performance saved the 5 star rating for this hotel (the noise from the street and the lack of privacy would have cost a star due to my preferences).

All in all, the Sala is quiter and offers more privacy, the Anantara is much greener and has (by far) the better breakfast. Just keep one thing in mind, this review is based on the highest room category in both hotels.

Room Tip: Nothing in the 10-30s too close to the street and also some nosie form the neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    231
    60
    17
    12
See reviews for
408
876
28
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The good....

1. Great, nearly empty beach in front of the resort
2. Good restaurants
3. Impressive wine program, especially for SE Asia. Where else can you get Shafer Hillside Select, Lafite or or DRC... of course, Thailand marks up wine 450%, so keep that in mind.
4. Cool pool area, with loungers situated in the shallow pool
5. Probably the most impressive breakfast we saw during a month long travel staying at the best hotels in SE Asia (Six Senses, Amanjiwo, etc.)
6. They have Shisha by the poolside bar. Cool!

The bad...

1. Limited privacy between the villas. Just slatted, thin, wood fences that are about 6 feet high. Other villas we stayed at had 12 ft high solid rock walls.
2. We had trees over our pool... everytime the wind blew, we had hundreds of leaves fill in. There was rust around the bathtub, the doors overlooking the lagoon didn't fully close, the hot water tap on the bathtub could cause 3rd degree burns if touched.
3. Housekeeping can be slow... I guess this happens when you're looking after 80+ villas though

As others mentioned, the mini-bar is outside of the room, but that didn't cause any issues or problems for us. This was also the only resort that we stayed at that tried to sell time shares which I thought was super tacky, but thankfully they weren't annoying or aggressive.

Also, as a quick warning, all the daily activities listed on the whiteboard have a price associated with them, which is very unclear.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your feedback regarding the villa design and I can certainly use your comments in an effort to improve our guest experience.

If I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards,

Andrew Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Normally on a holiday I'm bored and want to explore/experience other things, but five nights here flew by and had me wishing I was staying longer. The resort may have some of the cheesy things like the welcome gong, petals on the bed in your name, the jasmine flower bracelet on arrival but even that was all tastefully done and had me feeling like a queen when I soaked in the outdoor tub that night under the stars with petals and wonderful bath salts. The villas are very comfortable and while they don't have a kitchen, the sala outside is a comfortable dining area if you choose to dine there. The villa pool of course made it more than a good hotel room and that was my reason for selecting this resort over others, I was not disappointed. the resort is located
on a beautiful stretch of beach away from the chaos of Patong beach which was also a selection feature.
The resort is extremely well managed and maintained with supervisors and management continually inspecting all aspects of the premises. Many hotels you're lucky to see a manager once during your stay instead Justin was not only present, but also conversing with all guests to
ensure their needs were catered for. Dining facilities were excellent with a great choice at breakfast buffet. We dined several evenings at Sea, Fire Salt where the food quality was excellent and particularly following disappointing culinary experiences at the other five star hotel
situated close by.
Having lived in Asia before, I was not sure how the spa treatment would be, but have to say it matched the high standard of the resort albeit rather expensive.
In all, the service was excellent throughout the property,staff attentive and helpful at every turn, the main pool very comfortable even if not necessarily an infinity pool with a great view that is portrayed, the beach was coarse golden sand and the sea perfect for swimming but there was no pedlars or anyone hassling you there so perfect relaxation from morning to night

There are not too many hotels or locations I consider returning too, but we are already talking about this for our 2014 vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventure10123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We are leaving in a few hours but couldn't wait to write... Anantara rocks!!!! Everything is perfect, endles beach, beautiful and kind staf, perfect villa with total intimacy, good food.....perfect massage at the SPA, Great for couples.... I just don't wanna leave!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha0403_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Anantara is beautiful! My husband and I have traveled a lot, and this is top on both of our lists! The hotel is clean and beautiful. We enjoyed wonderful meals. The private pools are clean and very usable (size bigger than other private pool hotels we have been to). The public area pool was HUGE! and very nice.
One thing that really got us, was that the assistant manager, Justin, was ALWAYS around. We saw him probably 3 times a day and he always made an effort to talk to us and the other guests.
I was so sad to leave our stay. I want to go back ASAP!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborahanne312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had gone to Anantara Villas- Phuket for our honeymoon. We stayed there for 4 nights and we had an amazing time at the resort. We have stayed in other five star hotels, but the Anantara experience has been one of the most awesome till date. With just 85 Villas spread across a sprawling lagoon, lush greenery, an excellent private beach, amazing villa designs and superb services- Anantara was just perfect for a relaxing, unwinding holiday.
The resort is located in North Phuket- which is quieter and has secluded beaches as compared to South Phuket. As soon as we entered, we were warmly greeted and welcomed by the staff. A lady called Amp took over our check-in formalities while we were enjoying the cool welcome drink. They also took a photograph of us as a memorabilia – which was quite charming. Here, I must mention how the resort took note of our special requests. We had given 2 requests on e-mail to the hotel- early check-in and vegetarian food. The usual check-in time is 3 PM, but our international flight was very early, and we reached the resort by 12:00 noon. We were delighted to hear that they had accommodated our request for early check-in and our villa was ready! Moreover, they called the Head Chef to meet us – who asked us our meal requirements and said that they can make preparations accordingly even if they aren’t on the menu. In-fact over the next 4 days, the Head Chef and entire staff took care of our requests and ensured our meals were great.

About the Villas- We had booked a Pool Villa. Our villa was villa no 84- which is farthest from the lobby and nearest to the beach/pool/Sea-Fire-Salt restaurant. We fell in love with the Villa as soon as Amp gave us a guided tour. The Villa has all amenities combined with a very artful interior Thai design, high ceiling-ed roof, a very nicely designed pool (with lots of greenery in and around), open air rain shower, a bath-tub, a very nice open-air sit-out with wine cellar and glass panels in the bedroom which open directly into the pool! The best part is that each Villa has complete privacy and once you enter your feel you are all alone in the resort. The private pool is sizeable (larger than usual private pools we have seen in other hotels). Infact, as another traveller has mentioned, the Villa is so good that you do not feel the need to step outside.

Resort activities- We found the private beach to be very nice – and it actually was private! The tide wasn’t very strong in day time and you can swim easily. The resort offers complimentary kayaking & canoeing and we enjoyed doing that. The sand was good, not white though. Beside the beach is a local shop (for dresses), local bar and a village team which gives Thai Massage at good rates. Lots of guests were using these facilities. There are bicycles parked at various points in the resort and you can cycle around at will. We did not use the Spa, so cannot give feedback on that. The public pool was nice – though we dint use it, since private pool was excellent. The resort has a gym and table-tennis table also. For activities in Phuket- you can go to the Library and get all information from the staff. They are very informative and guide you according to your needs. We booked cabs, entertainment shows etc through them and everything was smooth.

Food : We are vegetarians, so cannot comment on sea-food. But we found decent options in food. In room dining service was prompt and timely, Thai preparations were great. The Sea-Fire-Salt restaurant offers a unique dish served on Himlayan Salt bricks- which we found very interesting. Breakfast buffet spread was huge and had all possible combinations.
Service: Throughout our stay, the staff was very warm and responsive to our requests. We did not face any problems with English as mentioned by other travelers. The room was very nicely decorated for our Honeymoon welcome when we check-in. Housekeeping regularly came to clean the villa as well as the pool. The evening turndown service was very nice- they even prepare the tub for you with petals and candles. The personalized good-night note on a leaf every night was cute. We also did not face any problems with mosquito etc.
Overall, our stay at Anantara was a splendid experience and we enjoyed a lot!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RashiSethiaMittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I are just finishing up a three night stay at anantara phuket. Simply amazing. We have stayed at banyan tree, and other high end resorts and we feel anantara has them beat! We loved the small feel of the resort with 83 villas centered around a lagoon but what is great is that it is right next to the marriot resort and turtle village so there is a supermarket, tons of restaurants and plenty to do.
the resort is convenient in that your villa is close to the pool/beach area but also the breakfast area and front lobby.
The assistant manager Justin Pitt was always around, very friendly and remembered our names. We saw him at breakfast, by the pool and he was very attentive with whatever we needed. Most resort managers are not as outoing as he was and he along with mod at breakfast were wonderful.
Villas: 83 villas that are amazing. Every villa has a pool and they are bigger than any other private resort. I think the one thing i loved the most is the "usable space." of the villa. At other resorts we find there is a lot of grass, hedges and areas you cant spend time in. This room has a great outdoor sitting area, lounge chairs, outdoor pool and fantastic room with comfortable bed.

Overall this was a wonderful resort that i would highly recomend.

Room Tip: Villa 15 had sun on the pool until 3PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derek k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Property: Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Address: 888 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Phuket Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming tropical beauty of Thailand's premier island destination, Anantara Phuket Villas provides a luxurious refuge that opens out onto unspoiled panoramas. Awake to the sight of virgin sands backed by the lush vegetation of Sirinath National Park. Trek through the dense jungle by elephant to discover untouched island wonders. Relax in your private pool villa surrounded by the finest materials and design. Our Phuket resort puts the upmost emphasis on designer relaxation and guests' privacy, with 91 private Phuket pool villas scattered harmoniously across a prime stretch of Mai Khao Beach. Complimenting our luxury resort's tropically inviting accommodation is a host of services and facilities of the highest standard, including premium restaurants, bars and leisure facilities. Anantara Phuket's glorious contemporary design is inspired by a location that offers an array of activities, from diving in pristine waters to learning the ancient art of Thai cookery. The full delights of Anantara Phuket Villas are ready for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Phuket Villas Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Phuket
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing