We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great property”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed there over Christmas 2012 and had a fabulous time, really great property very well laid out and managed. If I had to point to a couple of minor shortcomings they would be the relatively limited dining choices (inevitable in a boutique resort) and some of the service wasn't quite up to the mark.

Having said all that it was highly instructive to visit the next door resort for dinner one evening, I am sure it is a great place but next to the Anantara it felt like an overcrowded holiday camp.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    232
    60
    17
    12
See reviews for
408
879
28
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here during November. The villa is in great shape with first class amenities and the people here are obscenely friendly. Absolutely no request is too much for them. Food was good.

Pros:
-Pool Villa is great... pool is much larger than some "plunge pools" in other properties. Also a decent amount of pool deck space.
-Breakfast is amazing (though expensive, so be aware of that if you're not on a breakfast-included rate)
-Outdoor mall right around the corner with grocery store, outside restaurants, clothes shops, etc

Cons:
-Beach isn't exactly idyllic white sand and crystal clear blue water. It's a nice beach and the water is fine. But it would never be confused for Tahiti or the Maldives.
-Not much nearby, so this is a total R&R spot--not a great jump off point for exploring the island or heading to Patong (if that's your cup of tea).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoundGuyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family of three (my 3 year old son) spent our December holiday first at The Racha followed by Anantara Phuket. I love the ambience of the resort especially it's garden concept. It's like strolling through a botanical garden. The villa was beautiful and clean. It has everything we need. My boy's comment after exploring the villa was - 'very nice' and he loved playing at the shallow part of the pool with constant supervision of course. The service was fantastic. The staff were helpful and warm from service to housekeeping. Instead of a type written welcome note from the General Manager, i was delighted to be greeted by the hand written note card. This showed the sincerity of hospitality. When we wanted to extend or stay, the staff was kind to help us make arrangement with the airline but unfortunately we could not as the flight was full. Food in the resort was good but there are other restaurants around the area if one hopes to try other Thai food in the area. The hotel does help to arrange for transportation. I missed the resort and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BerniceTey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Excellent customer service, thoughtful and helpful staff, beautiful setting, secluded and comfortable villa. Had breakfast every morning in the restaurant and loved the wide variety of foods offered. Made the 24 hour travel time well worth it!

Room Tip: We stayed on the lagoon but the greenery was overgrown that the view was blocked. Doubt I would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alivia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We loved this place so much we came back just 6 months after our first stay here.

Staff were also again polite and helpful, with Ms NumNim again full of spriteful energy and service excellence. Ms Samorn and Ms Oum from La Sala were also particularly attentive and efficient standouts amongst the their peers.

The villa was still outstandingly beautiful, spacious, clean, relaxing, luxurious, private etc.

So, still wonderful in so many ways, but the following are only reasons I'm only giving 4 stars this time instead of 5 (and the fact that TripAdvisor doesn't seem to allow 4.5 star ratings):

1. The only fridge in the sprawling villa is still outside in the sala area. As inconvenient as it is to have to head into the villa from the pool to get a cold drink, it's even more unsavoury to have to head out at night just to grab a drink, or whenever it's raining. It's only been 6 mths since we've been back, so maybe it's too short a time to react, but it'd be good to know if there're plans, 'cos I've seen other reviews here also lament on this.

2. The lagoon/canal along villas 20-42, i.e. the body of water between Marriot and Anantara, was reeking quite a foul smell the entire time we were there (13-16 Dec'12). We were in Villa 44 but thankfully by then the canal had ended. Still, we had to pass by that stretch everytime we wanted to go to Turtle Mart or La Sala for breakfast. My understanding is that Anantara and Marriot are under the same group/management/owner, and if so I hope they can sort this out.

3. The outdoor sitting area of La Sala has a fly issue. On the first day's breakfast, it came to the point that we had to constantly swat flies away from our food and even that was hopeless as you'd swat one away whilst another one or two were landing someplace else like on your cup etc. Much as we love eating breakfast outdoors, we had little choice but to sit indoors for breakfast after our 1st try. And yes, some flies made it through the constantly opening/closing doors, and started landing themselves on the food in the buffet line instead! Yes, I know it's a tropical country, but this should still be a controllable matter when you own the entire compound - furthermore, when we ate outdoors at the other restaurant, Sea Salt Fire, there were almost no flies.

4. When we first arrived, the villa was stocked with 4 large bath towels and 2 face towels (not the 2 hand towels by the sink). However, over the next few days, somehow the 2 face towels didn't get replaced, and it wasn't as if we had the 2 existing ones to re-use.. they'd cleared them as well.

All that said n done, still a very good experience. I'd really love to have given 5 full stars again, but I have to be honest and say it wasn't as impressive as our first time just a short 6 months ago (and I really don't think it's 'cos I became more demanding!!), and considering the above 4 points along with the amount that guests have to part with.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for coming back to visit us for the 2nd time. I appreciate your comments and can assure you that we have addressed the concern regarding the lagoon water.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Regards

Andrew Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

After my honeymoon stay at Oberoi in Mauritius, I thought that nothing could ever come close to that level of true 5-star service and resort. Anantara did just that. Although it didnt surpass Oberoi, in its own ways it was amazing on all fronts. The pool room/villa concept is great, and just gives you an amazing feeling of privacy to relax and have fun, but then just a short walk away is a rgeat pool, amazing beach and terrific service. The pool set up is great. You open the bathroom or bedroom sliding doors and dive right in. There is a nice sitting area outside where you can lounge if the weather permits. Staff were incredibly friendly and courteous. Terrific bar overlooking the pond, and good food either by the sea or at the main restaurant. The scenery was lush and provided for great picture opps. All in all, a true 5-star experience which everyone must indulge in once in a while. By the way, there is a great shopping center with a supermarket 20 meters from the lobby ... so pick up lotion and soda/beer if you need it ... but the nice thing at this hotel is that water and some of those things you may be temped to buy from a supermarket are free, so dont over do it.

Great stay ... loved it !!! GO

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Around917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I have to say that his hotel is incredible the Villas have a great archiecture and give you the most relaxing feeling. I really recommend to use the bikes that you have outside each room they are great to go the breakfast and makes you feel really free. Staff was really friendly and always attentive definitely a 5 star service. If by any chance you catch rain just go the spa and this become an incredible experience to hear the rain outside in the lagun.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Property: Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Address: 888 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Phuket Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming tropical beauty of Thailand's premier island destination, Anantara Phuket Villas provides a luxurious refuge that opens out onto unspoiled panoramas. Awake to the sight of virgin sands backed by the lush vegetation of Sirinath National Park. Trek through the dense jungle by elephant to discover untouched island wonders. Relax in your private pool villa surrounded by the finest materials and design. Our Phuket resort puts the upmost emphasis on designer relaxation and guests' privacy, with 91 private Phuket pool villas scattered harmoniously across a prime stretch of Mai Khao Beach. Complimenting our luxury resort's tropically inviting accommodation is a host of services and facilities of the highest standard, including premium restaurants, bars and leisure facilities. Anantara Phuket's glorious contemporary design is inspired by a location that offers an array of activities, from diving in pristine waters to learning the ancient art of Thai cookery. The full delights of Anantara Phuket Villas are ready for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Phuket Villas Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Phuket
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing