We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here. Its perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stay here. Its perfect.”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

I travel extensively throughout Asia on business and pleasure. This resort is just about as perfect as it gets. Unlike the other people who have posted, I understand the owners of the resort have no control over the weather so I won’t unnecessarily whine on like the others. Call Mother Nature. This is a perfect place for couples. You can work on your lineless tan in your villa or socialize by the pool. Everything is here. There is no need for a long review. Go, get a villa and enjoy. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank xxqsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,170
    228
    58
    17
    12
See reviews for
394
856
28
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
385 reviews
377 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 697 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Went to Anantara golden triangle years ago and really enjoyed it, this is my second Anantara property and it was a lovely break and escape from reality.  

Pros
- beautiful villa and location.  Arrived close to midnight after a quick 15min car transfer from the airport.   the property was magical even at night. It took me hours to fall asleep, it was so incredibly quiet and I kept on wanting to get up to admire my room and go for a swim. My villa ( 73 ) was on the tip of the lagoon and therefore felt more private and secluded, yet just a short walk to the beach, spa, and restaurants.  
- good tasty food throughout, fresh ingredients, good service.  Especially enjoyed dinner accompanied by a beautiful sunset at Sea Fire Salt.  
- massage was decent and used Elemis products.  

Cons
- the acoustics of the room amplified everything outdoor, so the turtle water fountain and pool drainage were incredibly noisy while indoors vs outside.  You just have to ask them to turn them both off, but it does come back on, and you'd have to call and ask again.  Was just annoying to be woken up Sunday 8am by this noise. 
- expensive.  A dinner at SFS with cloudy bay sauvignon blanc, one crab dish, one fish dish, half dozen oysters, and a pot of ginger tea cost usd300+.  My 90 min deep tissue cost around usd170.  

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Probably the best beach resort we have ever been to. Everything is just right - the food, the room, the pool, the service etc. This place is very romantic and perfectly suited for couples (not surprisingly they represent the majority of guests). Weather wasn't great though, we were there first week of May, monsoon season just started and it was raining every day for several hours. The main problem was the sea - it was very rough and difficult to swim in. We still enjoyed it, but couldn't visit any of the small islands, which was a pity. So if you are on honeymoon and want to enjoy it to the full, better go there in high season.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kva090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2011

My husband and I spent the first 6 nights of our honeymoon here in late March. After reading so many reviews on Tripadvisor I knew we were in for something pretty special, but nothing could have prepared us for what we experienced. Anantara is absolutely amazing and worth every cent!
We arrived late at night and were greeted by the reception staff, then shown to a buggy that took us to our Garden Villa. Even though it was late at night and dark we were blown away by how beautiful the grounds and villa were.
Breakfast is the best I have ever experienced. Everything is so fresh, and there is so much to chose from. Every morning I'd have something different, ranging from Chinese Dumplings, eggs any style, fresh fruit and muesli, freshly baked cakes and pastries and tradition Thai stir fries.
The villa's are divine! They are massive, both in and outside and absolutely spotless! You can literally jump out of bed, and into your own private pool! They are also very private so you can lock yourself away in there all day if you like and relax without being disturbed. Awesome toiletries too which are restocked every day. The bed is the best I have ever slept in, most nights i'd get 9 or more hours of unbroken sleep.
The staff are fantastic! By the second morning we were being greeted by our first names! Mun is especially great, he'd remembered my juice of choice every day and would have it at my table within about 30 seconds of sitting down.
The gym is perfect with just enough equipment for a work out, and the staff, Honey and Asis who work in there were always on hand to offer assistance. Both my husband and I are in the gym every day at home so it was nice to be given the extra attention by Asis, one of our workouts even turned into a Person Training session! We borrowed bikes from the gym too which were great to get about on as the resort is quite spread out.
The Managers cocktail night was fantastic. We had 3 or 4 drinks each and lots of canapes and spent about 30 minutes chatting to the manager Matthew and Fredrick who are both great guys.
We ate at both restaurants in the evenings, but preferred the traditional Thai in the main restaurant. The Salt Brick experience at the beach front was a bit over rated, but it was great to try it.
Coming from Sydney's Northern Beaches we were stoked to see that the beach at Anatara had surf! One day the swell was big enough for my husband to go surfing, and even though Anantara does not supply surf boards, the staff were more than happy to track one down from the neighboring resort.
Unfortunately we only saw 4 hours of sunshine and blue skies at Anatara as it rained constantly the rest of time so we were there so we didn't get to see Anantara in it's full glory. This did not matter though as the entire experience was absolutely amazing. Full credit to Matthew, Fredrick and the other management staff at Anantara for training their staff to be the best there is in Phuket.
We sadly left Anantara and headed to Trisara for the last 5 nights of our honeymoon, and not a day went by that we didn't wish we had spent our entire honeymoon at Anantara.

Room Tip: Try a 400 thb massage from the beachfront shack
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreshieBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We were lucky. The rains that had been plaguing Southern Thailand seemed to have abated by the time we arrived in Phuket, and instead we had glorious weather. On arrival we were greeted with the warm Thai charm that has become synonmous with the country. After being shown around the reosrt, key areas such as beach, restaurants, pool etc, we were taken to our Villa. You get an immediate sense of exclusivity as you are faced with large wooden doors beyond which, your private den awaits. The world is shut out, no-one can enter. Perfect for a honeymoon or a romantic weekend away. The first thing you notice is the private pool, flanked by palm trees and the outdoor bath on one side, and an outdoor cabana on the other, which also houses the mini bar. Upon entering the villa itself, the massive bed becomes the instant focus. It is luxury for the eyes! What I personally loved about the Villa was the very small yet personal touches. A mini first aid kit which came in handy when one of us got an ant bite, plastic, refillable water bottles which can be taken with you when you leave, a decent sized walk in wardrobe, rose petals in the bath. As we opened the massive double door which opens up directly onto the pool, we ordered room service, and with feet dangling in the water, ate delicious curry, vegetables and thair spring rolls. Room service was remarkably excellent. The beef we had on the second night melted in the mouth it was so tender. The hardest part was leaving, we had swum, slept, ate, walked (a little), swum some more and just revelled in the beauty of the place. Will I go back - in a heartbeat - but this time, for longer

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shoregirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We returned from a 4 night stay at the Anantara last week, having previously spent
9 nights in Karon. The resort is beautiful and the villas are just lovely but we didn't see the best of it due to the incessant rain. We only managed to get one morning of reasonable sun the whole time we were there and it was frustrating not to be able to spend days dipping in and out of the gorgeous and very large pool. in addition the rain swept loads of leaves onto the terrace and into the pool so it spoilt the effect. Housekeeping did a great job in trying to clear it but she fought a losing battle!We ate at Sea, Fire, Salt on our first night and the food was very good and the ambience relaxing. Wine very expensive but the same as everywhere else in Thailand.

We also had Thai tapas for lunch in the Tree House which were tasty and the view over the lagoon with numerous herons and kingfishers was nice
Breakfast at La Sala was always nice but being Brits we like our morning cuppa and the tea was very hit and miss

The one really disappointing thing was the managers cocktail party. First I have to say that due to the rain it was held in the Tree House rather than by the beach so there was little chance to mingle as everyone sat down with a drink. BUT - unlike other resorts we have visited there was very little interest shown by the staff there and we were offered one drink, briefly spoken to by two staff members, not the manager (I wasn't even sure who the manager was) and then ignored thereafter. We left after 20 minutes.

Other places we ate were Bill Bentleys pub and the Coffee Club. The Thai food at the Coffee Club was excellent and so cheap for Mai Khao - most of the dishes were 200 baht. Turtle Village itself is very purpose built and has no Thai feel to it but it was good to have an alternative to the resorts and the Turtle Mart was good for shopping for drinks and nibbles and again, very reasonably priced.

The other thing I disliked was the pushing of the vacation club both in the resort and in the village. As soon as we checked in we were told we could get free wifi if we joined (otherwise it was 200 baht per hour as we stayed in a garden pool villa not lagoon or sale where it was complimentary) and we were encouraged to go to view the club rooms in return for free gifts, meals, trips etc. Don't get me wrong they weren't pushy but it's something we were just not interested in and I didn't expect it.

All in all I would recommend a stay here, as it really is a beautiful resort in a pretty unspoilt part of Thailand

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supersmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maldives
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

It's five star!.. I was here with my partner for a weekend last November 2010 and we found it magical.. The location is fantastic great food great staff and amazing villas!. Try their signature Sea Fire Salt Restaurant where you can dine of exotic Thai cuisine accompanied by Rare Gourmet Salts from around the World plus get your own Salt Sommelier! also visit their Tree House coffee shop in the afternoon for a complimentary tea and coffee and ask if you can borrow one of their iPads for browsing!

We stayed at villa 81 with a big private pool. The resort is next to turtle mart where you can shop and it is just 25-30 minutes away from Patong Beach. The resort is located in the Northern part of Phuket less crowded beach ideal for relaxing.. They also have a wonder main pool with sun beds that looks like floating in the ankle high water!. It is also next to JW Marriot Phuket and a few other resorts in the area!

I had a great time in there! I highly recommend the Place!! Anantara Phuket is one of the places I want to visit again and again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dylzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
589 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
845 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Property: Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Address: 888 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Phuket Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming tropical beauty of Thailand's premier island destination, Anantara Phuket Villas provides a luxurious refuge that opens out onto unspoiled panoramas. Awake to the sight of virgin sands backed by the lush vegetation of Sirinath National Park. Trek through the dense jungle by elephant to discover untouched island wonders. Relax in your private pool villa surrounded by the finest materials and design. Our Phuket resort puts the upmost emphasis on designer relaxation and guests' privacy, with 91 private Phuket pool villas scattered harmoniously across a prime stretch of Mai Khao Beach. Complimenting our luxury resort's tropically inviting accommodation is a host of services and facilities of the highest standard, including premium restaurants, bars and leisure facilities. Anantara Phuket's glorious contemporary design is inspired by a location that offers an array of activities, from diving in pristine waters to learning the ancient art of Thai cookery. The full delights of Anantara Phuket Villas are ready for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Phuket Villas Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Phuket
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing