We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort But Secluded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort But Secluded”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were referred by a friend of the Marriott Vacation Club and I will say that the resort and the room was great. All you can ask for. Nice pool and well kept premises. Of course this being Marriott, the restaurants in the resort were very pricey so we avoided them. There are not many good restaurants near the resort itself except for Kin Dee and you need to drive about an hour to get to areas with more choices for restaurants and shopping. If you plan to just stay in then there is no problem at all. The low point of the stay was the compulsory sales presentation where we got this rather 'in-your-face' salesperson by the name of Tommy. He has no tact at tall and was pushy. I am surprised Marriott hired him for the job. Any little intention I had of signing-up vanished after meeting him.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capt_Bola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Mai Khao Beach! While we are thrilled you enjoyed your vacation with us, we apologize you were made to feel uncomfortable at the sales presentation. This is not typical of the Marriott Vacation Club experience and will be addressed accordingly with the sales department. We would welcome the chance to speak with you further about your experience and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    224
    34
    11
    8
See reviews for
425
108
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Redding, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The biggest endorsement of this hotel is from my wife who said it was the most relaxed she had ever been on a vacation. This was our second week-long stay at this resort. We visited during our Chinese New Year holiday in 2013 and then again this year (Feb 1-8, 2014). If coming from HK, definitely fly Dragonair (Cathay Pacific) direct since the connection through Bangkok can be a real pain - especially on the way out of Phuket where the airport feels like a 3rd world zoo. Back to the hotel... The room we had was a 2 bedroom with full kitchen, washer/dryer and a nice balcony. 3 TV's and 2 DVD players in case you want to stay in. A nice selection of movies you can check out from downstairs. Kitchen was stocked pretty well. No dishwasher or oven (if comparing to some of the other Marriott Vacation club locations we have stayed in). The Master suite was beautiful with a large bathroom. Room was always kept very clean, although I would warn against leaving food out as we had an ant problem when we stayed here for Chinese New Year in 2013.
The pool area is beautiful with lots of chairs and places to relax - we never felt crowded. Staff brings you ice water, which is a nice touch. The JW Marriott is a short ride away on a shuttle buggy or bus (in the evening). The beach there is also beautiful and you can (during certain times of the year) check out kayaks, small sail boats or windsurfing boards.
We also got a poolside couples' massage (at Mai Khao) that was amazing - spa staff were very good.
Cons:
Food at Mai Khao Beach and at JW Marriott is definitely overpriced when compared to other Phuket locations - this is definitely where they are making the money. There is a small grocery store within walking distance, but the prices there are very high also. A nice birthday dinner for 4 at the Japanese place (Kabuki) at JW Marriott set us back over US$300 (without alcohol).
The JW Marriott is definitely a "separate" location as they will go to great lengths to point out over and over if you try to get beach towels from the JW Marriott. Also, you cannot use the pool area at the JW Marriott, which is a shame since that's where you go to the beach. Since the Chinese New Year holiday is probably one of the most busy times and the pools weren't too crowded when we were there, I don't think it would be that much of a problem if a few people from Mai Khao wanted to spend a little time by the JW Marriott pool... They are certainly more than happy to take our money for food and drinks. They should re-think this as they really leave a negative impression trying to keep you away from the JW Marriott amenities.
The hotel is a bit remote compared to some of the busy tourist spots in Phuket (like Patong Beach or Kata beaches) - although this was honestly more of a pro for us, it could be a con for others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmnmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We recently stayed here on a referral from a friend who has taken out the Marriott Vacation Club package.

The room we were given was a lovely, big, spacious 2 bed apartments that could sleep up to 6 people. We felt very spoilt as there was only 3 of us. The kitchen is well equipped with just about everything that you could want to cook a decent family meal. We were given 4 large bottles of drinking water each day and the apartment was spotlessly clean. I couldn't fault it.

We were a little disappointed that the facilities and grounds were not as big as the Marriott next door. Although they had similar things on offer (pool, kids pool, play kids club, gym etc) they were a lot smaller. We weren't allowed to use the big Marriott's facilities either which was a shame as our 3yr old would have had an absolute field day in the larger, much more entertaining kids pool, grounds and kids club.

The beach from this hotel was a short buggy trip away unlike the other Marriott, where is right on their doorstep. Although this didn't cause a problem for us I can see why it might put some people off. It's easy to get to (the hotel will take you on demand which was great) but there is no return buggy, unless you walk to the shuttle bus pick up point which is easily a good 10-15 minute walk away (so you might as well walk home). It might not be too easy with tired kids at the end of the day. There is a booth set up on the beach for towels, but this shuts at 5pm.

Finally, food at both the hotels can be expensive and the supermarket close by is also expensive. We paid for a little more baggage allowance on the way out, took our own food and just bought basics when we were there.

Overall the Marriott Mai Khao Beach hotel is lovely, the staff were cheerful, the room was great, but we thought that it did feel like the smaller, less important Marriott compared to the one next door.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have their own plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeCbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We appreciate your positive review of Marriott’s Mai Khao Beach! We are happy to hear the villa exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

I am currently 4 days into my 2 week stay here and am loving this hotel. The 2 bedroom apartment is clean and spacious and the pool is wonderful. The staff are attentive without being pushy. The only "downside" is that the location is a car journey away from any attraction, but this means that the resort is very relaxed and you won't get hassled.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolakeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We loved every element of this resort. It is the best place on Phuket for families. We went over and tried the JW Marriott pool and ended up leaving after an hour because the pool and the staff was so much nicer at the Marriot Mai Khao Beach. If you are coming to Thailand to go hit the bars in Patong, this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for a beautiful resort to relax and get sun, and paddle board, and then venture out on some tours with the family, this is the resort for you. And I cannot say enough about the staff. Probably the best run hotel I have come across and we have stayed in Marriotts across the world. Can't comment about the spa because we didn't use any of those facilities.

Room Tip: Get the ground floor room. Trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marinewife40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic family resort. Quite expensive but really great. Big apartments. Nice pool area and a fantastic staff. Breakfast is great and not the normal poor Thai breakfast wit fair dry toast and omelette. Currently some resorts offer 4000 bath or more if you attend a presentation of the resort where they present the sharing concept they currently offer. Only negative is the cost for food that is a little bit high. Close to the airport and a perfect ending on a road trip.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vallgata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sollentuna
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here in January on a preview package which was was of great value. Plunge pool suite is spacious, modern and clean with kitchen and even laundry and drier. The hotel experience from arriving to leaving was truly five star with smiling and friendly staff everywhere. The activities staff did a great job with kids club and also adult activities such as towel folding, fruit carving and many more. The outdoor cinema night by the pool was fantastic.

Facilities at the hotel is modern and clean with a good gym, kids club, table tennis, pool table, golf driving range (small) etc.

Main pool is good and there is a child pool with a small slide which the kids liked.

Beach is a short walk or buggy ride away (5 mins) and there you can access the activities such as wind surfing and hobie cat which was great. Restaurant choices are good as JW Marriott is close and there is also local alternatives on the beach.

We certainly enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return but I would also look at the JW Marriott as the facilities there are even better.

Room Tip: Plunge pool suite on ground floor is an extra plus with easy access to main pool and activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flindmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Mai Khao Beach Resort! We truly appreciate your detailed review and thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We hope you return to visit us on a future trip to Phuket!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
486 reviews
7.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Property: Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Address: Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Marriotts Mai Khao
Mai Khao Marriotts
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing