We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class R&R”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed for 7 days and could easily have had 7 more. The resort is first class and staff friendly and helpful. Don't be concerned with this not being right on the beach - its a short 300m walk or buggy ride and for that you get privacy and seclusion. We hired a car for one day to go have a look around the island and that made us appreciate even more what we had at the Marriott. The rooms are self contained so you can eat at the restaraunts which are reasonably priced or can eat in your room. Easily as good as any of the other best resorts we've stayed at.

Room Tip: The rooms on levels 3 and 4 have a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 685 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

The 2 bedroom rooms are fantastic for a family. We were 4 adults and 2 kids and we all had a ball of a time.
The food is average at the resort but there are plenty of shops nearby for food.
The location is far from town so stay here if you want to just enjoy the resort and the JW marriott resort next door.
JW Marriott has more restaurants and facilities we prefer to stay here as rooms are modern and newer than the JW marriott property.
Massages on the beach by local thais was excellent rather than paying US$ 150+ at expensive spa's.
Have stayed here twice - will definitely go there again.

One huge downside - water in the pool is very stale and very dirty because of the very heavy usage by guests and everyone uses lots of lotions etc which cloud the water and accumulate on the edges of the pool.

Informed the manager on duty, showed her the dirt etc but basically did not take it seriously. Serious let down for a Marriott property.

Room Tip: choose a higher floor room if you want less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frankview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed at MKB for 7 nights and it was fantastic. The staff were extremely friendly and the rooms immaculate and definitely self contained. Perfect place to stay for families, friends or couples who just want to relax as the resort has organised activities for all ages. Wouldn't be the place to stay if you want to party! Has a lovely pool with swim up bar and a kids pool with a slide. We hired a car which I would strongly recommend (we found it cheaper to rent upon arrival at the airport than online). The concierge was really helpful and provided us with a map and locations of must see sights.
The restaurants at the hotel had great food although a little expensive (for Thailand). There's a small supermarket and shops next door (Turtle Village) but the prices are inflated. If you head north along the main road there is a supermarket on the right (between the Marriot turnoff and the check point) which is about a third of the price. If driving you drive north on the main road and u-turn before the checkpoint to get back to it. You could walk - would probably take about 30 mins.
Around MKB we tried Kindee Restaurant (best food we've had since being here) - you need to drive or catch a taxi. At the supermarket on the main road (follow directions above) turn left. Kindee is about 1km along on the right. You can't miss it. Other places we found are north of the hotel. After the check point heading towards Phang Nga there are little beach huts (before the bridge) on the left. We had sunset drinks here - didn't eat, but there were people in the restaurants, so would be worth a try. Also over the bridge there is Thanoon Restaurant which has great sunset views as well. Food is good if you like seafood. There are also good restaurants in the Tesco Lotus shopping centre, approximately 20kms south along the main road. Our friend is a member of the Accor Vacation Club so we got a really good deal for our 2 bedroom suite.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R00nd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

stayed there twice...both are unforgetable...nice,clean & huge!!! comes wif 2 bed rooms,nice living room & a well equiped kitchen...pool is great!u can rent a bicycle from them & just cycle around...though its far from town,u can easily get em to rent a car for u,car will be delivered to hotel & u just need to drop the car back at the hotel...they will even prepare a map & instructions for u to get to town!! Of course,service is FIRST CLASS!It was my brother's birthday upon chk in & they even sent him a birthday cake...surprise!the place to go if u truely just wanna rest & unwind...just bring your sun glass,swim wear & ipod ! enjoy:)

Room Tip: take the higher floorsif u can...nicer view:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cannie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel is far from the Phuket's action field, Pataong Beach. Distance from Patong beach is about 1 hour drive but very close to the Airport, 6 k.m. Having said that, they have pick up and drop facility available to the city on chargeable basis. If you only want beach, pool and quite surroundings... you can consider this hotel.

Also, do not get confused with the name and consider this hotel as a beach front hotel. This hotel has no beach access. They have beach access to the JW Marriott hotel and have shuttle every 15 mins to drop you off to the beach.

Villas are huge and very well maintained. All amenities are available with kitchen, cutlery, Oven, washing machine, dryer and so on. Perfect for long stay with family.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holidayfun0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed at both-Mai Khao for only one night and Phuket Beach for 7 nights in the two bedroom suites. The Marriott Phuket Beach out shines the Mai Khao and listed on Trip Advisor it states Mai Khao is more expensive! Advantages of Mai Khao-very self contained, pool, one bar-swim up bar attached, two restautants and Turtle Village(shopping area) are all within 2 min walking or maybe 5 min if your at the far end! This probably is great if you have children or older folks in your party. Beach is almost not seen unless your on the top floor and then you can see it thru the trees. Because it is smaller you get to know the staff. Plus if you have a late check out they will allow you to check out of room and hang out at the pool, they hold bags and then they give you a room to shower(no showers in the exercise room). Phuket Beach has an excellent exercise facility with showers, sauna, cold pool.

Room Tip: Bottom rooms have small pool attached. Upper rooms have slight view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sportbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Took a 4 day, 3 night FOC package under the Mai Khao Marriot Vacation Club plan, after referral by a friend, on condition that spouse and myself attend a 90 minute talk. Went with 2 other friends, all with 2 kids, aged around 4-7. Apparently, breakfast is included only for non-peak periods. Do remember to ask for plunge pool which is only available for the 1st floors. If impression serves me right, the resort are all 4 levels high, or there or about, with only the 1st floor with a pte pool, which we did not used at all, for some reason.

Mai Khao is near the airport and up north and we made the mistake of renting 2 cars for 3 families with kids. Should have stayed in the resort and perhaps take a cab out. If you prefer the crowded Patong, this is no good, but if are prepared to cook, arrange activities yourself in the resort and make use of the kids' club/activities room, which I think you should, then this is good. The kitchen is fully furnished and stocked, right down to clothes, detergents and they even have washing machine and dryer with detergent.

Just 30 seconds walk away, is a mini village, Turtle Village which has a Swenson (only gelato), a Coffee Club (which sells pretty excellent East/West food) and a minimart, which is slightly more expensive but carries extensive grocery items and you can just go to resort empty handed and get ready to cook some simple breakfast and maybe light lunch.

For dinner, we went places but one of the best was a delivery order, apparently from a restaurant outside but near the resort. You can google for the name and food was good, costing about THB3,200 feeding 3 families of 7 adults and 6 children. Can't remember the name though.

Pools in resort are great and clean. The 90minute talk was at JW Marriot, some 300 metres away and the resort looked much more exclusive. The salesperson comprises different nationalities and rather professional. They will assess your travelling needs/patterns and make recommendations accordingly. Pros and cons of signing the package you will have to assess yourself but Marriot has a brand name to protect and uphold.

Overall, quite a good stay, provided you are intent on staying in the resort, which is some 20 kilometres from the main shopping areas although along the way, there are 2 TESCOs, a most overpriced Premium Outlet and a rather clean and uncrowded shopping complex call Central Festival.

Room Tip: 1st floor with a private pool but the main, open pools are much better and warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalvinOng1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Address: Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $220 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Marriotts Mai Khao
Mai Khao Marriotts
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing