We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just gets better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau des Monthairons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dieue-sur-Meuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have stayed here on an off for nearly 20 years, since the present family started to develop it. The building is beautiful as are the grounds on the banks of the Meuse. Everything is run by one extended family. The food is haute cuisine. Even the breakfast croissants are cooked in house. (We were woken each morning by the smell of them baking!)
There is no better place to stay if you are visiting the Battlefields of the First World War. Two of our stays have been for several days in order to do this. But we have also used the Chateau as an overnight stop when we drive to relatives in Switzerland or en route to tour the Alsace.
We have seen this hotel grow from just 7 letting rooms to the thriving business it is now. Each time we stay there is something new, and next time we hope to be able to use the pool and spa they plan to build very shortly.

Room Tip: We prefer Chateau rooms over-looking the lovely grounds. But the terrace is directly under the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 221 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Actually stayed here September 2012 , never got around to writing this. Whatever your reason for visiting this part of France, there is no better place to stay. The hotel is a typical Chateau. Located on the banks of the River Meuse in its own grounds. The accomodation is fine, spotlessly clean. Our room looked out over the rear of the property. We were welcomed warmly and shown to our room. There is no lift for luggage but the staff offered to carry our baggage. Our room was classically appointed and very comfortable with a very well appointed bathroom.

However the real reason to stay here is the food. Dining here was without doubt one of the most delightful gastronomique experiences of my life. The menu is classic french, with sauces that Escoffier would have been proud to own. The wine list would give any lover of the grape joy beyond belief.

The cheese board or more accurately the double shelved trolley groaned beneath the choices. This meal was a gastronomes delight.

THIS IS A VENUE FOR A TRULY ROMANTIC TRYST.

YES, WE WILL BE RETURNING, ITS FABULOUS.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HamishOsborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We almost gave up trying to find the hotel. First we visited Verdun, and went into the tourism office for driving directions. It sure makes us realize that what is easy for us at home to find driving won't be for a newcomer. We got lost three times because of road diversions and what for us were confusing signs. A wonderful local citizen who spoke English said "follow me" . We did, and made it. When we checked in, we reminded the desk of my husband's down allergies. We wanted to nap before dinner, but couldn't because we couldn't get anyone to change the down pillows. Finally, my husband went down and in a harsh tone of voice in front of other guests demanded the change, and that got results. The meals are the best we've had in France. The setting and hotel history is unbelievable. We did not use the spa services. We were glad we had a flashlight with us which we used to get up our steep stairs to our room after dinner because of lighting problems.. There is no air conditioning and we did not want to keep the windows open until very late because we overlooked the entry patio where everyone gathers to smoke, and the smell came up through the open window. This is a wonderful place, and a once in a lifetime stay,but be aware that a few improvements would be great. We connected to wi fi downstairs on main floor and then could not use in our room except sporadically. You'll love the environment and will never forget your super castle adventure.

Room Tip: A room without steep stairs and maybe not overlooking patio because that's where people smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeperVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We last visited this hotel in October 2011 - 23 months on and little had changed except the weather was much better this time allowing us to sit outside with a beer and a kir in the early evening.
It was still the beautiful well run hotel we remembered.
If anything we enjoyed our evening meal here even more this time.
The whole stay was relaxation personified.
We can fully recommend it

Room Tip: We had room 18 which overlooked the park - quite spacious. The bath in the bathroom also overlooks t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffolkpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A little disappointed with the room which viewed the back area. However it was clean but a bit dark due to the small windows and dark furniture. The bathroom was clean bright and modern. Getting the luggage to the hotel was a bit of a bind- either you had to take it 200 yards from the car park (again a bit small) or reverse up the single width road bit in front of the hotel and then take the luggage up the steps.
The "bar" area known as the library was dark and it was not welcomed when we opened the curtains a bit to let some light in. We had to go to reception to order drinks and coffee. These did come with some delicious biscuits. Dinner was good and the ground nice. Pity we did not have more time to explore them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have said on this site before, you really find out how good a hotel is when things go wrong. I'm generally not too fussy but on being shown to our room I simply didn't like it. It was hot, stuffy and simply not what I was expecting. With no fuss, no issue, the room was changed for one which suited us much better. The room on two stories was great, with a sofa area downstairs and bedroom upstairs. All was clean and well decorated and furnished.
The real stars of the hotel are the building itself and the food! The building itself is magnificent in the most amazing setting with the river Meuse meandering through the grounds. The food is just out of this world. We stayed on a half board basis and every night the menu was a delight.
On top of this the staff are extremely helpful, polite and nothing is too much trouble.
We will return! There is so much to do in the area and the Chateau is so "impeccable" why wouldn't we?

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jandpuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

4 Star Chateaux set in 30 acres of grounds bordered by the River Meuse 8 miles south of Verdun. It has a full spar with a wellness centre and a gastronomic restaurant. Relatively small with 25 bedrooms all of which are well appointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dieue-sur-Meuse
7.0 mi away
Les Jardins du Mess
Les Jardins du Mess
#2 of 10 in Verdun
232 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hattonchatel Chateau
Hattonchatel Chateau
#1 of 1 in Vigneulles-les-Hattonchatel
125 reviews
11.5 mi away
Le Village Gaulois
Le Village Gaulois
#5 of 10 in Verdun
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Hotel du Lac de Madine
Hotel du Lac de Madine
#1 of 1 in Heudicourt Sous Les Cotes
257 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Orchidees
Hotel Orchidees
#7 of 10 in Verdun
158 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel de Montaulbain
Hotel de Montaulbain
#1 of 10 in Verdun
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Monthairons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Monthairons

Address: 26 Route de Verdun, 55320 Dieue-sur-Meuse, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Meuse > Dieue-sur-Meuse
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dieue-sur-Meuse
Price Range: $114 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau des Monthairons 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau des Monthairons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Monthairons Hotel
Chateau Des Monthairons France/Meuse - Dieue-Sur-Meuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing