We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay and eat on the Great Ocean Rd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aire Valley Restaurant and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hordern Vale B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stumbled upon this place through google maps and could not have been happier. We were in Australia visiting family in Upwey (we're from Charleston, SC) and we left for a few days to travel the great ocean road. This was our fist night away and we couldn't have felt more at home. The dinner we ate on the porch overlooking sunset and the fields was phenomenal. It was great to mingle with the other guests but there was also plenty of room for privacy. The room was well appointed, the bed was very comfortable and the property was gorgeous! Breakfast was above and beyond what we would have expected and every detail was taken into consideration. The property is open to walk around and explore, and the owners are in the process of perfecting each and every part. Fresh veggies grown on the farm, eggs from the chooks, horses walking the property, pure bliss! Great music in the living area, a fantastic fire place, great books, comfy couches the list goes on! A MUST STAY if you're anywhere nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dewey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 44 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2011

What a beautiful spot! Stunning views. Suzie and her beautiful family took great care of us and were so welcoming. I cannot recommend highly enough. Perfect place to base yourself whilst touring. We spent 2 nights there whilst walking Great Ocean Road. To come home to hot showers, wonderfully comfy beds, and Suzie's cooking.......what more could you want. OMG, that Lemond Curd Meringue!!! We set off with her packed lunch and carefully warpped snacks each morning, and were welcomed with a cuppa in the afternoon. 10/10. Thanks again Suzie!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

What Luxury! What Pampering! Cooked Breakfast to start the day, followed by a packed Lunch to eat along the Great Ocean Walk and back to an absolutely delicious 3 Course Dinner , sitting in the dining room with wonderful views down the Aire Valley . Being picked up daily and transported to the walk made it a trip to remember. I wil certainly be recommending this to my walking friends in Adelaide

Room Tip: Thr Front rooms have superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenstephens4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

A superb setting, living with Susie and her family as one walks the Great Ocean walk. Susie is a great chef using farm produce, and vegies from the garden. We were transported to start the walk each day, after a cooked breakfast, took a packed lunch with lots of goodies, returned to afternoon tea, and wonderful dinner. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, with ensuites. The family made us very welcome and we loved our 5 days with them.
Libby

Room Tip: I had a front room which looked right down a beautiful valley towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

This place is just amazing. The rooms are spacious, warm and comfortable. The food was above any expectations I could ever have had. But it as the views that done it for me.
The hosts were lovely. Martin and Annabel were perfect - always busy but always had time for us. My wife and I would recommend Aire Valley Guest House to all.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bucky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We were dumbfounded to see such a vintage old world charming place when we drove up the driveway. Inside was even better. Martin and Annabelle turned on great food, wine, log fire, great lounges, rooms, everything clean. WOW1 All veges were from their garden, organic I think. This place was superb and we look forward to staying there again, probably during winter. 6 stars if you like "vintage" accommodation!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank passdeplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Although we never met the owners, the two young Irish women had the guest house running beautifully, from keeping a wonderful wood fire going, to serving the most delicious meal I've ever had on the Great Ocean Road. The rooms were old fashioned, but we loved the setting; two horses visited the back yard, chickens clucked and the veggie garden was enormous!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bickles27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aire Valley Restaurant and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aire Valley Restaurant and Guest House

Address: 2590 Great Ocean Road, Hordern Vale, Victoria 3238, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Hordern Vale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hordern Vale
Price Range: $118 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aire Valley Restaurant and Guest House is situated just west of Apollo Bay on the Great Ocean Road, Hordern Vale. The Homestead dates originally from the 1890s and overlooks the lakes of the Aire River Wildlife Reserve and the Otways. Guests can wander around the vegetable garden while their vegetables are picked for dinner. Salads for lunches for walkers on the Great Ocean Walk are picked fresh each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Aire Valley Restaurant and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing