We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Noth
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Having spent two weeks touring northern Spain and France this hotel was our last stop on the way back to the UK. Of the 6 hotels we stayed in this was the best for service, decor, food and overall experience. We had a room on the top floor overtlooking the lake - it was very well furnished and well "set up" - bathrobes and towels were clean and fresh with slippers provided; decor was modern, bright and airy; unusually (in our recent experience in European hotels) there were tea and coffeee making facilities. The restaurant can only be described as "classy" - the food and the service were as good as anywhere you would experience in a 5* hotel - ignore the comment made by another visitor about the menu being a rip off. We asked the staff about this as we could not believe it. We were told that there was a misunderstanding upon the part of the client as he maybe did not understand the French menu - hardly surprising as he refers to "Nouveau" Cuisine rather than "Nouvelle" Cuisine. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and tastes vary (obviously) but one needs to be even handed in a review and endeavour not to comment on matters of private taste but see beyond the parameters of one's own prejudices.
This hotel is a credit to the owners but particularly to the staff who could not have been more helpful, courteous and engaging - congratulations! It is still being developed and will soon include a spa and a golf course which will undoubtedly move it into the 5* category. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couthures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 353 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from four days at this beautiful chateau. The house, surroundings, food and service are superb. We found the staff to be helpful, polite and attentive. The presentation and quality of the food is definitely of Michelin standard so I can't imagine that a star is too far away. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and conducive to a restful stay. I cannot recommend Chateau de la Cazine highly enough and judging by the plans I am sure it will go from strength to strength when the remainder of the estate has been completed.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a wonderful location to relax and enjoy. The Chateau is a beautiful building with very comfortable rooms, bedrooms, restaurant, lounge, bar and lobby. The place is bright an inviting. However on our arrival, for some reason, our room was not ready and we had to wait quite some time in the bar where we were given complimentary drinks to pass the time. We were eventually shown to our room and were very pleased with it being very well decorated, designed and furnished - a most comfortable room with a nice view but then in this location I guess all rooms have beautiful views as the chateau in in the middle of its own vast grounds.
We stayed two nights and enjoyed our pre dinner drinks on the terrace before being shown to our table in the well appointed dining room. Have to say that although we enjoyed our meals and the service was perfect, the prices were just a bit on the high side. Drinks were dear too but then nobody poured them down our throats and if we spent a bit extra on those it was our call. In general, the service was excellent and the surrounding beautiful.
The one reservation we would have was the breakfast service and options. There was a buffet which offered very little when compared with anywhere else we have been and for €15 a head was certainly not good value. Added to this, it was obvious that not enough staff were allocated and those that were there were run off their feet which was not a relaxing feeling. A bigger selection of fruits, meats, cheeses, fruit drinks etc is needed to make the breakfast appealing.
Overall we enjoyed our experience at Chateau de la Cuzine and would recommend it !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C-121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Only stayed one night and it is a beautiful chateau but thoroughly enjoyed it. However it's still a bit new and is waiting for some finishing touches, like pictures and proper bathroom accessories. Once the spa, golf course and Le Village are open, it will be an outstanding destination for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel stands in it's own grounds and looks very impressive with the tennis courts and swimming pool.
We were given a upgrade and the room was stunning overlooking the gardens and the lakes in the distance.
The food server at dinner is "Nouveau Cuisine" and is a real rip off. My wife had the set 39 euro menu and I had the set 55 euro menu.
Her starter was a trio of tomato but the centre was bright yellow liquid which tasted like nothing on earth, the main course was shoulder of lamb which turned out to be an oblong of pressed lamb, the sweet was a very small pear with a small dollop of ice cream.
My main was veal which was turned out to be two extremely small pieces with some froth and a white liquid I did not recognise, my sweet was six blueberries and a dollop of an ice cream whose colour resembled beetroot.
Both my wife's and my food was extremely well presented but a total rip off. the sooner they introduce good French food the better and drop this silly "Nouveau Cuisine" which would give true value for money.
The breakfast was fine but at 15 euros was nothing special.

Room Tip: ASk for one overlooking the front gardens out to the lakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick_Goold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked this chateau through Secret Escapes as a night stopover during our stay in France. The Chateau is stunning and the grounds beautiful. Our room was nicely decorated, modern and comfortable, the only complaint I would make was that the light in the shower did not work and the door hinge was broken and there was no hand soap but the rest of the room was clean and nicely decorated. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good but I would say that probably not very suitable for young children. Breakfast was the usual continental buffet but for a supplement you could have eggs and bacon.The restaurant and reception staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend his chateau as a place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have the loveliest views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed for four nights with my family. The chateau is beautiful, the rooms stunningly decorated. However, area around is a bit boring, with few restaurants and not much entertainment. La Sourterrain was like a dead town in August. Teenagers would surely get bored after 2 days. Can't wait for the spa to open to make the place more worthwhile. Breakfast, should include full English breakfast as it is run by British entrepreneur. Fantastic for weddings though. Staff are missing from the reception and bar area during certain hours of the day, there should be someone always present in a hotel of this calibre. Restaurant is great and staff are ever so polite. Cocktails are not up to standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noth
6.8 mi away
Domaine de Vareilles
Domaine de Vareilles
#1 of 1 in Vareilles
109 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Nougier
Hotel-Restaurant Nougier
#1 of 1 in Saint-Etienne-de-Fursac
103 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kyriad Gueret
Kyriad Gueret
#1 of 5 in Gueret
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Campanile Gueret
Campanile Gueret
#2 of 5 in Gueret
221 reviews
15.7 mi away
Auclair
Auclair
#3 of 5 in Gueret
82 reviews
17.5 mi away
Logis L'Orangerie
Logis L'Orangerie
#1 of 1 in Bonnat
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort

Address: la Fot, 23300 Noth, France (Formerly Château de la Cazine)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Creuse > Noth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Noth
Price Range: $82 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a place where the beauty of nature blends effortlessly with the opulence of five star living. Where families enjoy spacious accommodation and an outstanding range of facilities centred around a majestic French château, in the heart of France’s Lake District.Welcome to Château de la Cazine.Château de la Cazine has undergone extensive renovation in the past year and is due to open in June 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Cazine Hotel Noth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing