We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good - especially for a tulou.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tulou Fuyulou Changdi Inn
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Really good - especially for a tulou.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you're looking to stay in a tulou, you won't find anything better than this. The building is a tulou (though not a round one) still used by the family that owns it. The location is great: in the middle of tulou country, on a river, and surrounded by a small town. The rooms are adequate, with a/c and wifi, and the food is good, if a little pricey for the location (though cheap by the standards of just about any other location in China). It's worth nothing, too, that there isn't another restaurant in town.

You'll share a bathroom, most likely with other guests and some members of the family. And if you're expecting five-star cleanliness I'd suggest looking for a vacation somewhere other than tulou country.

The family is very nice and helpful, and they want you to enjoy the surroundings. So, if you're up for visiting tulou country, and you want to stay in a tulou (with everything that choice entails), then this is your place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeltonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
16
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

stayed there 1 night, with a 2.5 year old. the rooms are very basic but clean, shower and toilet in a tiny room outside the room. I think it's the best option for this area, better to sleep inside a Tulou... Stephen, the manager, speaks fluent English and a great person, call him if you need anything regarding your trip, he will help you. we booked through him a driver that took us from Xiamen (arrived exactly on time!) to the Hakka villages (3 hours one way) and to a few tolou areas, then to the Changdi inn. in the morning we strolled around the village, you can walk for about 2 hours and see more tulous and the area itself is beautiful! after lunch at the Changdi inn (great food) the driver took us back to Xiamen. all and all our trip to the Hakka villages was amazing and we had an amazing time, including our 2.5 year old that enjoyed the different scenery.
Stephen's email: fuyulou@163.com
Stephen's number: 13799097962
private car + driver (from and to Xiamen) + villaes tour + 1 night stay at the inn=1200 RMB (very cheap regarding the prices you will get by trying to book in Xiamen)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

1. It is good place to stay for a night or 2 for sightseeing of the Tulou and relaxing.
2. The Hostel provided basic amenities but it is clean.
3. WIFI is provided for free.
4. The food served by the Hostel is delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in level 4 where it is near to the shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Guest House is located on the Fuyu Building inside Hongkeng Village. Stephen met us at the bus drop off outside the Village gates and his father came with a car to take our luggage. We were staying for 2 nights and even if you are staying at the village you still need to pay for the entrance tickets, which were 90rmb/person for 3 days. The walk from the village gate to the Guest House is about 20 minutes and you will pass by serveral other Earth Buildings. The village is quite nice and has been restored to receive visitors and tourists, but the nice new paving also allows for cars and local motorcycles to fly by while beeping at pedestrians, so do be aware when leisurely walking as they will not stop for you. Stephen and his family are extremely hospitable and they make the experience nice and interesting. Stephen speaks enough English to help you during your stay and booking a car to visit other villages, such as the famous Tianluonkeng, or taking a bus back to Xiamen. We were there during December, which gets quite cold during the nights and there are no lounging heated spaces in the compound where one can relax after a day of hiking, so do bring very warm clothes if you choose to come in the winter months. In the rooms the beds have a heated blanked, which help you keep warm while you sleep. The shower and toilet rooms are all shared. For the portion of the building complex we stayed, they are located in the ground floors, and with the cold it is a bit inconvenient if you are on the last, 3rd, floor. My recommendation is that you ask to stay in the building that has a toilet/shower room (still shared) on the same floor. The rooms and beds are nicer (meaning not as hard) and the toilet/shower more convenient. While there we ate at their restaurant for every meal. Breakfast is included and for foreigners they will serve eggs, bread and coffee, all very simple. For other meals they have an English menu and the food is very typical local Chinese. Although good, in my opinion was a bit expensive for the food type and location (for 3 one dinner was 360rmb). All in all was a great experience and I definitely recommend if you are fine with getting a little rough. I would definitely go back, but surely not in the winter.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the building that has toilet/shower room on the same floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The experience offered by Stephen and his family far exceeded our expectations.

We went for a long weekend to Yongding County to explore the tulou. The tulou area is large and spread out, not very well signposted, and very few people speak English. Stephen is a gem in that he speaks enough English to sort out transportation, tours and itineraries. He truly treats his guests like VIPs, providing a concierge like service to ensure that everything runs smoothly for his guests. He even picked us up by car at the bus station, took us to buy our entry tickets for the area, and took us back to the bus station again at the end. He was also very helpful recommending sites off the beaten track, which was lovely as we were visiting over a public holiday when many of the main sites were quite busy.

The accommodation itself is extremely beautiful and peaceful, in a tranquil 130-year old tulou built by Stephen's grandfather. There is a quiet courtyard, where breakfast and dinner are served. Stephen's family does a great job cooking a wonderful meal every night, and eating there every night was one of the highlights of our trip.

The actual rooms are fairly basic and there are shared bathrooms, but Stephen's tulou has been upgraded and offers a much more modern environment than those found at other tulous (which normally do not have bathrooms at all). It's certainly not a 5 star hotel, but it is clean and well cared for.

You can't beat the value for money here either, we would have happily paid more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Upon my arrival, I was happy to see my name posted outside the tulou to welcome back. I didn't pay attention to that until Steven told me so. I was totall absorbed by the genuine hospitality of his family, from the grandmother, parents, and his siblings. His sister offered us many types of tea but never push us to buy the products. The food is authentically hakka and absolutely delicious.Yes, lots and lots of locally grown rice, plus potatoes and sweet potatoes from the nearby farm. No cheeses or hot dogs or ham. Free laundry is provided. No ensuite bathroom and there are a few bathrooms to share. Wears and tears on sight but actually quite clean. So many tooth brushes laying around inside the bathroom.
Since this tulou is located at the UNESCO sight, you don't need to pay the entrance fees if you arrive after 7pm, with the driver. You can walk around and visit other tulou as well the next day. All neighbours are friendly and cordial. Truly a good community to experience homestay and genuine hospitality of the Chinese in which 'our house guest is always our VIPs'.
Internet connection is good and rooms are clean. My room was next to steven's grandmother and she brought me some buns to my room for breakfast. I assume I just have to eat the white buns as it is:)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank inxpekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

If you want an authentic tulou experience, stay here. The youthful boss Steven is eager to please (as are his sisters who will ply you with tea from their home-grown hand-roasted stock) He knows enough English so that you can arrange car rentals etc by email beforehand. Using drivers from this area as opposed to those from Xiamen travel agencies not only is cheaper, the drivers know the area and - if you know some Mandarin - will tell stories and offer background along the long drive.

Steven's mother makes excellent home-brewed rice wine. You can either order this by the cup or ask them to cook rice wine chicken. Yummy!

The beds are comfy with clean linens and warm duvets. But be sporting about dusty surfaces, climbing stairs, sharing a toilet, mosquitoes in the evening. It is worth these inconvenience to have this experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank springmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yongding County
5.9 mi away
Shuiyunju Inn
Shuiyunju Inn
#25 of 106 in Nanjing County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
93.7 mi away
Hakka Earth Building Prince
Hakka Earth Building Prince
#4 of 25 in Yongding County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Qingdelou Inn
Qingdelou Inn
#1 of 106 in Nanjing County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Yuqinglou Hostel
Yuqinglou Hostel
#5 of 24 in Yongding County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hakka (International) Hot Spring Resort
Hakka (International) Hot Spring...
#9 of 25 in Yongding County
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Panda Hostel
#1 of 2 in Yongding County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulou Fuyulou Changdi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulou Fuyulou Changdi Inn

Property: Tulou Fuyulou Changdi Inn
Address: Fuyulou Earth Building in Hakka Earth Building Folk Custom Cultural Village, Hukeng Town, Yongding County 364100, China
Location: China > Fujian > Yongding County
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Yongding County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tulou Fuyulou Changdi Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuyulou Changdi Inn is located Hakkas folk culture village. Fuyulou has 134 years of history, is a traditional Hakka architecture. 7000 Square meters. A total of 160 rooms (inn of 20 rooms). 1.We offer car services, arrange car to pick you up in Xiamen. 2.Bicycle rental, we have a map. 3.My family did featuring Hakka cuisine. 4.We like to drink tea, but we also have good coffee. 5.We have a local wine, there are also ice-cold beer. 6.We have a washing machine. 7.Fifth floor there are a lot of books. 8.We have a public computer. Has WIFI. 9.Here the night sky is very beautiful. 10.Or eat with us.Chat with us. 1. Take long distance coach (Xiamen-Hu Keng) at Xiamen Hubin Road Long Distance Bus Station. There are 3 coaches each day: 6:50am, 9:10am and 1:00pm. It will take 3.5 Hours. Please get off at "Earth Building Cultural Village", one stop before the terminal station "Hu Keng". The fare is RMB 63. Please contact the inn when it leaves from Xiamen and the inn will arrange the pick up at the village. 2. Take bus (Longyan-tulou) from Longyan Old Bus Station. There are 12 coaches everyday and the last one is 4:50pm. The price is RMB 23,It will take 2 hours.Please contact the inn when it leaves from longyan and the inn will arrange the pick up at the village. 3. Take bus (Yong Ding-Gao Tou) from Yong Ding Bus Station. Please get off at "Earth Building Cultural Village", one stop before the terminal station "Gao Tou". The price is RMB 13,It will take 1 hours.Please contact the inn when it leaves from gaotou and the inn will arrange the pick up at the village Changdi inn is inside the Earth Building Cultural Village. The entrance ticket RMB 90 per person. Only need to buy one.You can use many days. PS: . Our Inn has a bike rental. We can arrange car pick in Xiamen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tulou Fuyulou Changdi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing