We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet rural hotel”
Review of Gasthaus zur Krone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gasthaus zur Krone
Ranked #1 of 2 Gottenheim B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Rural countryside hotel in the centre of Gottenheim, well situated to visit the Kaiserstuhl area. Clean and comfortable room. Pleasant "Biergarten" to enjoy a drink or even dinner if the weather allows. Parking space on private grounds. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Etienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 32 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed one night whilst travelling around the Black Forest . The night we stayed (Wednesday)the restaurant was closed but as you get free rail travel we went into Freiburg on the train. It took around 15 minutes. It was incredibly hot when we stayed but thankfully the room was cool. The room was quite dated but clean. Breakfast was included and was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We drove past this 'Gasthaus' and admired the pretty garden setting and decided to give the restaurant a try after reading that it was being run by the fifth generation of the Isele family. Heiko Isele, who recently took over as chef from his father, says ''I don't cook for stars, but rather with a lot of love and care for my guests,'' and this was apparent in his food. He focuses very much on local and seasonal produce and prepares 'Baden' favourites with a new twist. Our 'amuse bouche' of tasty homemade tomato mousse was summery and refreshing. As a starter, my husband and I shared the warm goat cheese topped with pine nuts and honey, served on a bed of ratatouille with potato gnocchi. What a refreshing change from the usual salad. My choice of a simple rump steak was transformed by serving it with crushed sea salt and a delicious herb butter, whilst my husband's 'Taffelspitz' with lashings of creamy horseradish sauce and homemade noodles was light and tasty. No room for desert, but there was definitely a nice selection to think about. The wine selection from the area was good and not over-priced, and the recommendation of a crisp, dry, local Chardonnay fit perfectly on this summer evening to both our dishes. Good value for money, and the service from the family was efficient and friendly. We will be back!

Room Tip: If you stay at this hotel, be sure to eat at the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

This is a small town, with little to do. I was here for a conference that was spread over three sites. The hotel was small, service was fair, and the rooms were clean. The blankets were only one meter and a half wide, so hope you don't have to roll around.
There was no phone service to the rooms, nor internet connections.
The breakfast was very cheap and monotonous. So much they could have done to show off the fine German sausages. Alas, it was the same every day.

Next time, I will stay in Freiberg and take the train.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sciencetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Reisender-BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: De eigenaar doet zijn best om van elke kamer een goede kamer te maken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ich glaube die Erdgeschoß Zimmer sind die besten!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sylwialaurisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gasthaus zur Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus zur Krone

Address: Hauptstr. 57, 79288 Gottenheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Gottenheim
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gottenheim
Price Range: $118 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthaus zur Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gasthaus zur Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing