We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Bekal
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bekal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Awesome location and also perfectly pristine private beaches.

Everything was just awesome!! We have been treated truly royally.. Must visit for a short relaxing weekend holiday!

Management and staff very friendly, helpful & courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darshanaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
There are newer reviews for Vivanta by Taj Bekal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,182 - 1,188 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

One of the best treat I have ever had. Truly a Taj property and culture. A complete holiday. Excellent service and efficient staff. As they say culture flows from the top, I was surprised to see the GM Sameer Khanna take pain in smallest of small things. Be it a parking issue or the way pillows are arranged in the reception areas or they way they manage thing in the restaurant.
Efficient service could be seen throughout. Housekeeping, cleanliness or providing us clean towels and bottled water while we played volley ball.
The resort has a wonderful private beach. Large spacious rooms complete in all respects. The pool villas are to die for. Property covering 40 odd acres is evenly spread and very well maintained.
If I was forced to find some flaws then it perhaps is that the resort does not offer free wifi. there were lots of broken glass bits and stones on the beach volley court.
The restaurant does not have a huge spread but it covers the basics and all whats missing gets compensated with the efficient staff. We found the chef taking extreme pains in satisfying demands of Jain's who were part of my group.
A must visit.......

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suketu59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located strategically near the fort made famous by the Bombay movie song tu hi re. Awesome location and also perfectly pristine private beaches . Nice getaway from Bangalore. The hotel is very beautiful and sandwiched between the Kayal and the sea. . Went kayaking. And also spent most of the time in the beautiful pool and beach. The rooms are very tastefully done and the staff is very pleasant as expected from the taj group known for hospitality

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

From the check-in to room allocation, food to service, to the actual room with private pool. everything was just awesome!!
We have been treated truly royally.. Having to do nothing with the best of service and smoothest check-in and check-out experience. Must visit for everyone!!

Room Tip: Get the premium indulgence with private pool overlooking the back waters. Its beautiful
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RidzV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I think this is one of the best 5 Star Hotels I have been within India which is perfect for a nice relaxing break or a wonderful honeymoon stay.

The property extends to over 45 acres and the rooms are just a few meters away from the ocean. The place is serene and quite peaceful.

Rooms were done up really well.

The Jiva Spa is 145000 Sq.Ft which is extremely large and well built.

The Hotel however had failed in a few aspects.

After spending $200 for a couples spa session which includes a romantic pool we were offered Bajjis which are a local dish which is best served in roadside stalls rather than in a 5 Star Hotel let alone after spending $200 for a couples spa session. The Spa Therapists obviously lacked training and did a very poor job in these sessions. it is unfortunate that they have such a wonderful property with really huge Spa which is purpose-built but lacked in the most important aspects of providing trained manpower.

All this apart we asked not to be disturbed each night after ordering for in-room dinner. However to our surprise we get calls at 10 PM asking if they can clear the food trays. Even after we said to come in the morning and slam the phone they still come and ring the door bell. Obviously something terribly wrong.

What can be termed as one of the best hotels to stay in with one of the best experiences was ruined by things that you would least expect in a chain run by the Taj.

Quite unfortunate.

Room Tip: All are well located. you can ask for the rooms closer to the beach or the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bysanivijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Well all thanks to the trip adviser reviews, we landed up in Vivanta by Taj Bekal this month on their monsoon offer. The very sight of the hotel is extremely pleasing and gives you an impression of some kind of Kings' Holiday resort. When I entered the hotel along with my wife and child, it was feeling like we have come to our very own transformed home which now has a very very rich outlook. The reception desk as written by other guests in this forum is fast and efficient and enlightens you with what is in store for you in the coming days. We booked ourselves in the deluxe delite with plunge pool and that turned out to be the best decision i had taken besides the Taj stay. Rooms were fantastic and sit out with day bed, plunge pool and bath tub were very very good. In-room dining experience was just awesome. Still cannot get over the call that we hear when the food arrives...."In-room Diiininining ". The activities arranged by the Taj through Muddy Boots was just too good. On the day of check out, we were delayed due to strike in kasargod... and the staff was more worried than us...since we has to move ahead to madikeri. They only said to us" dont worry leave it to us". They prolonged our stay at bekal which was again fantastic and arranged for Cab, informed the next hotel at Madikeri ...what more can you ask for??

The final check out was not so good for us...since we had to LEAVE:). It was like entire hotel staff including the GM seeing us off with a nice send off gift.

It is a must visit for all you guys!!!

Room Tip: Deluxe Delight with Plunge Pool....dont even have second thoughts..
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shivanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and myself were booked for 3 nights stay at this place by our children on the ocassion of our 35th marriage anniversary. We checked in on 10th October. the road was very bad and we had driven all the way from Bangalore to Bekal. Check-in was smooth and we had a nice welcome drink. The room with sit out was nice and as per Taj standards the bed, bath room aminities were nice. Since this is not the season of travellers, there was no much occupancy.
In-room dining was good.The breakfast buffet had good South/North combinations. But most of the cottages/rooms were found not maintained properly, especially outer part such as typical Kerala style canopies were in bad shape.This may be due to heavy rains during the current rainy season.
There were no much activities due to limited occupation. I had a nice spa experience in their famed JIVA spa. The walk to beach was like a village trip.
But the experience is not up to Taj standards, compared to the other Vivanta properties.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHATBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bekal
1.5 mi away
The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal
12.6 mi away
Kanan Beach Resort
Kanan Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Nileshwar
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bekal Palace
Hotel Bekal Palace
#3 of 4 in Bekal
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Neeleshwar Hermitage
Neeleshwar Hermitage
#1 of 11 in Kasaragod
249 reviews
13.0 mi away
Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa
14.1 mi away
Gokulam Nalanda Resort
Gokulam Nalanda Resort
#2 of 2 in Nileshwar
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Bekal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Bekal

Address: Kappil Beach, Bekal 671319, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kasaragod District > Bekal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bekal
Price Range: $155 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Bekal 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Bekal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing