We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel at an Amazing location !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Bekal
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bekal
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel at an Amazing location !”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at Taj, Bekal for 3 days\nights in May 2013. Drove down from Bangalore and it took us about 7 hours.

Positives:-
- The Hotel is situated at an Amazing location (having both beach and backwaters).
- The beach is clean and is not crowded
- Food, service and facilities are very good at the hotel
- There is a restaurant besides the beach which offers sea food (quite nice)
- Activities like kayaking, archery & swimming keep you occupied
- Stayed at Deluxe Delight room with Courtyard. It has a nice small courtyard and a small area just outside the bedroom where one can sit and enjoy the view of backwaters.
- Room delivery service is prompt and lots of options to order.

What could have been better :-
- It would have been nice to have buffet Lunch\Dinner just like Break fast.
- There are not many places to visit in Bekal (come here to relax and spend time with family). Bekal fort is about 6 Km away

Overall, a very nice and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    319
    76
    12
    14
See reviews for
657
429
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

When you actually visit the property you will realize the beauty of the property. Its one of the best property of Vivanta.

I and my wife had visited this property in June 2013. The road journey from Mangalore airport to Hotel is bad due to poor state of roads. However it will not take more then take approx 2 hours to reach the property from Airport.

Food: Anything we ordered turned out to be very good. Almost after every order the chef came and check with us to have our review on taste.

Service: It is perfectly TAJ standard you can ask for anything more.

The Bekal Fort near is very well maintained and its so damn picturesque.

I will have some of the pictures uploaded which can help assess to decide stay.

If you planning for a 3-4 day vacation where you would want to lay-back and not move too much I would strongly recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikhil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Once you get here after a bone rattling ride from the nearest rail-head, it is great. The rooms are fantastic with views overlooking backwaters with a swing in the balcony and good bathrooms with shower and tub as one would expect of this class of hotel. Minor work needed doing on the ceiling in the bathroom where there was a leak -blame it on the extra-heavy monsoons this time around.
The extra activities like archery and kayaking is chargeable extra which could have been included in the room package.
Otherwise it was a fantastic stay with obliging and polite staff.
Will visit again, but not during the monsoons.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alphadog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel is big , strategically located near the beach. Room size is good with backyard Garden. Poorly maintained Rooms. The door will not open with keys or electronic weighing machine will not be working. Don't expect here Taj group quality of service , it is lazy staff and poor services. Frequent power cuts. Limited food choices with average quality of food.

Room Tip: Search alternative to stay and enjoy the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girishj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The one thing that topped the beautiful monsoon, the unusual but nice hotel property, excellent dining, rejuvenating spa was the service with a smile! If you are flying in, be prepared for a bumpy 2 hour drive from airport to hotel. While the rooms are unusual with an outdoor shower and cozy outdoor day bed, the guest experience can be further enhanced with a little bit more attention to detail in the housekeeping - cleaning the grit off the floor for instance, providing bath robes instead of having to ask for it. Replacing the bulky key with an electronic card or the new biometric readers would be nice. I would rate the service at the spa for ayurveda therapuetic treatments, buggy ride, dining as excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UdayKumar_0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

unusual location is what struck me as i turned right from the kasargod-kannur highway, through a residential area.you can also see the Lalit sign board on the way but it goes in another direction as you move closer to Vivanta gate.Location is extremely quite as the road ends at the hotel.A short walk from the reception leads you to the beach which is not safe for swimming.the place has a feel of kumarakom, its a true Kerala experience with all the water and greenery around.Rooms stand out the way it has been built, very different lots of space and a river view at the rear from the balcony.I think some rooms have a garden view as well.The spa is really big and definitely worth the visit.many cycles available if you want to ride around.bar and restaurants is worth a visit as well

Room Tip: room with a river view was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jissbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Although I am a regular at the Leela Goa and Kovalam but they don't have one in Bekal.That was both bad and good as it helped us in exploring Vivanta by Taj Bekal.We stayed at the Vivanta by Taj Bekal from the 19th to the 21st of July.We had booked the premium indulgence room and it was just terrific.The visit was planned for my wife's birthday and the Vivanta Staff made every possible option to make our visit a memorable one. The flowers design on the bed for the birthday was a creative one which surprised us pleasantly.Special thanks to Sunil from the Latitude restaurant,Diljith and Varun from the Team Taj for our pleasant stay at the Taj Bekal.

Positives-Lovely monsoon weather beautified by the Taj's premium villa with Plunge pool,Coordial and wonderful staff who took care of all our needs during the stay,Fabulous Jiva Spa,Lot of options within the resort to spend your time.

Negatives- Beach during the monsoon doesn't have a great view,Unfortunately it was raining on all three days,In Room dining was not that great,Breakfast spread was limited compared with the other hotels in the same range.

Room Tip: Try the rooms with the plunge pools with a view of the river..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bekal
1.5 mi away
The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bekal Palace
Hotel Bekal Palace
#3 of 4 in Bekal
122 reviews
12.6 mi away
Kanan Beach Resort
Kanan Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Nileshwar
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Raj Residency
Raj Residency
#2 of 3 in Kanhangad
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
#4 of 22 in Kalpetta
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Gates
Green Gates
#6 of 22 in Kalpetta
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Bekal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Bekal

Property: Vivanta by Taj Bekal
Address: Kappil Beach, Bekal 671319, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kasaragod District > Bekal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bekal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Bekal 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Bekal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing