We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Excellent place....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj Bekal
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bekal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had gone to Taj Vivanta for our business conference in late-April and had a fantastic experience. The room was by far one of the biggest room that I have stayed in, complete with a separate area with a swing bed. The room overlooked the backwaters. The beach is hardly a couple of hundred meters from the resort entrance and is a nice and quiet place. The food is excellent and the variety is good. Overall, great properties, good service and you get all that you expect from the Taj brandname.

PS: Note since it was a business trip I cannot comment on the pricing vis-à-vis the experience :)

Room Tip: The rooms facing the backwaters are quite large and give a good view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amitgok13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
There are newer reviews for Vivanta by Taj Bekal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,238 - 1,244 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

It's a wow property to enter, stay and relax. The achitecture is exceptional with mounted rooms, local style hammock on the balcony of the room. All the rooms are spread over this vast property which are like a villa next to the other. Being a business visit, we could not experience all the facilities here but I am told the Spa is the highlight of this property which is huge and with some signature therapies. The food is interesting but the service kills the tempo of this great resort which is dull and the staff not very well trained. The location is on one nook corner so do not expect to many options for a stoll outside.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrVikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed in Bekal from 16th May for 3 nites with family....Was a real welcome break...nice property ,well spread out over more than 20 acres...children really enjoyed their time in the pool (celsius) and the private beach...food in latitude(their main restaurant) is good...recommend to go in for kerala saadya lunch once during the stay...they have a seafood restaurant called - by the bay which is also worth trying out once...special mention about jiva spa which is supposed to be a real big one and the treatments are worth trying...negative is spa seems to be slightly over priced...we went round the property cycling or walking and spent most of the time within the property and enjoyed a good relaxing holiday...staff as usual are courteous and smiling....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prabakar566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We enjoyed the experience thoroughly except for a few glitches. First the good things - The cottage was excellent. Nicely furnished and overlooking the backwaters. Couldn't ask for more. Fantastic location on the beach and very quiet. The Spa was a bit of a let down. The mens sauna was not working at all. The jacuzzi was only partly working. When we enquired, we were told that people are looking into it. I had high hopes on the restaurant called - By the Bay. Although the staff were very courteous and polite, the food could have been better. Note - All sporting activities were charged.

Room Tip: Get the room with a courtyard view and a pool. They are awesome.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indiantourist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Staff is very helpful and always smiling.

The beach was very clean and it seemed as though we had almost the entire beach to ourselves.

Kids enjoyed the fish pond. They took bread from the breakfast buffet to feed the fish and none of the staff complained.

We enjoyed riding the cycles around the property and were happy that we didn't have to pay extra for the cycles.

Our kids enjoyed the general pool which had the attached kids pool. We were a little disappointed that the pool was open until 8pm but we could only order poolside snacks until 6pm.

The room was spacious and clean, as expected.

Room Tip: We don't recommend the villa with the personal pool if you have small children because I think t...
Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank 8,282,304,553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Taj echoes service hospitality and makes the guest feel like a king.

They never ever say a NO to the guest, and I think that sums it all.

The pool villa is WOW and don't miss the spa experience no matter what.

Just back and wanna return!

Room Tip: Go for the supreme pool villa - awesome!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pooshaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Vivanta Bekal by Taj is about a year and four months old. We took a family break in April end. It is a very professionally run resort. The atmosphere and ambience is superb. There is a backwaters river that runs through the resort and the resort has its own beach. We stayed in a temptation villa with a pool. This was awesome ! The pool is 4.9 ft deep and not a play pool. The room is great and the bath tub fabulous. The staff are extremely courteous right from the GM to the house keeper. There are cycles in the resort, kayaking and archery, fishing, etc to keep you busy. It's a wonderful place for kids. The food is good and no complaints at all. The spa is very well kept and is one of the biggest spas in India.
We took a trip to Bekal fort which is about a 10-15 min drive and was a good outing.
If you are deciding to stay here, dont think any further. It's a fabulous resort with great staff and activities to unwind.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank surgact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bekal
1.5 mi away
The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal
12.6 mi away
Kanan Beach Resort
Kanan Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Nileshwar
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bekal Palace
Hotel Bekal Palace
#3 of 4 in Bekal
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
Vasco Da Gama Beach Resort
#23 of 38 in Kozhikode
81 reviews
12.4 mi away
Neeleshwar Hermitage
Neeleshwar Hermitage
#1 of 11 in Kasaragod
249 reviews
13.0 mi away
Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj Bekal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj Bekal

Address: Kappil Beach, Bekal 671319, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kasaragod District > Bekal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bekal
Price Range: $156 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj Bekal 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Vivanta by Taj Bekal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing