We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taj Bekal Resort & Spa, Kerala
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bekal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We visited Vivanta by Taj @ Bekal in the month of August 2012. The property was just superb, we din't even step out of the property. The inifinty pool and the evening boat ride was very nice. The drive from Mangalore airport was not so great due to road conditions. The morning trek was really refreshing. We could not go to the beach due to weather conditions. The service was extra efficient, so much like Taj. The buffet breakfast had too many varitites and options for both veg and non veg.

Room Tip: Rooms without private pool is a steal deal and with the private pool is really luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptulshan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,297 - 1,303 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Spent 3 nights 4 days in this awesome property. Stayed in the deluxe room with plunge pool. It was a expereince to remember. We did various activities including Kayaking, cycling and shooting. View of sunset from beach is worth looking at. We spent all evening at the beach, relaxing and looking at the sunset. Service was up to the Taj standards.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My parents and I stayed at Vivanta Bekal for 3 nights in Dec to celebrate their anniversary and had a great experience.

We had opted for the premium indulgence w plunge pool cottage. We were quite impressed by the design and layout of our villa with a quaint little courtyard with a swing bed on one side, the pool adjacent to it and an outdoor bath tub + shower on the other end. There are also a couple of day beds on the other side that faces the backwaters. The rooms were spotless and bedding quite big & comfortable. The bathroom is huge and stocked with all required bathing amenities. However one thing that it lacks is a health faucet next to the loo, which can prove to be quite inconvenient to the average Indian guest, but upon request for a bucket which the staff provided, we could breathe easy.

I spent a lot of time on the swing bed, reading, napping & chatting. We also had great fun splashing about in the pool. As none of us are swimmers, we requested the staff if they could provide us a couple of floating tubes, which they did quite promptly.

In the evenings, we ventured out to explore the huge grounds that are immaculately maintained. The backwaters extend out to the sea separated by only a thin strip of land. This therefore provides a great view for walks and taking snaps. Not to mention the astounding architecture of the resort itself. With statues of elephants and other creatures adorning the grounds, and a large water body near the lobby, the place is a treasure cove for taking photographs.

There are quite a few activities for guests such as archery, canoeing, cycling etc. Could also spot a volleyball net near the beach, not sure if its used anytime though. Kids have a little playground and a recreational room with games etc. For the health nuts, they also have a gym and there is a small reading area for bookworms, though the number of books available are quite limited. I understand we can borrow DVDs to watch in our rooms, but we didn’t have the opportunity to check out their selection.

There is also a spa called Jiiva on the premises, which we tried out. We went for a head & feet massage and found it soothing and relaxing. A bit on the pricier side, but worth a one time visit. The staff were quite gentle and friendly and explained their products and procedures prior to our treatments.

Coming to the food, there’s an inhouse restaurant named Latitude. They have a buffet spread for breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can also go for an a la carte option, although there is not much of a difference in price in the two. The breakfast spread was quite good with a large variety of continental and Indian dishes, and they tasted great too. Lunch & dinner were good, not great. They should have more dishes to choose from. Dessert selection however was really good. Service was mostly quick and efficient, however slowed down a little when the restaurant was full. The staff were friendly and remembered our preference for hot water every time we visited.
We also tried out their new seafood restaurant, By the Bay, near the beach. Again, average food, nothing to rave about considering the prices, but the staff were helpful and assisted us with our selections. There is a bar, Ivory Bar, next to Latitude. The ambience and design is quite modern & colorful and we spent a good hour in there relaxing on the cushy sofas, sipping our drinks.

Revelling in the luxuries and peaceful ambience offered by Taj Vivanta Bekal, we didn’t notice how 3 days flew by ! We left with a heavy heart, but with golden memories to cherish and look forward to visiting this wonderful resort again and again !

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Nitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Taj at Bekal is one of those properties that shine because of its great location. On a beautiful, secluded beach, and a stream (Backwaters!) running through the property, its got that perfectly pretty look going. Unlike older Taj resorts, this property doesn't have an oversized, ugly foyer/lobby, and in fact the whole hotel is made to proportion. The detached villas are beautiful and comfortable, and worth the extra splurge. The Spa is heavenly - beautiful and the staff are amazing. In fact the service is pretty consistently very very good, with the exception of a very old, saddu General Manager, Mr. Khanna. A downside is the ugly bar and restaurant which don't have the same beautiful look and feel of the rest of the hotel, and though the bar is well stocked, the single multi-cuisine restaurant just doesnt give you enough options, especially Kerala food. All in all worth a visit for a relaxed, pampered 4 days

Room Tip: Splurge for the pool villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BombayBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Let me start with saying that i would like to compliment the staff for making me feel really welcomed.

This 26 acres property has around 71 rooms of which 60 rooms are operating as of now.There is a touch of Bali to the property along with Kerala touch.The property is beautifully done.The roofs are given the look of a houseboat which is very interesting and unique.
We had informed them its our anniversary so they had decorated the bed with flowers beautifully and had made a cake for us too which was very sweet
There was chitra pothi art on our room wall.They have taken care of each and every minute detail.Its worth noticing the minute details.
The property has a private beach. We went for a walk in the evening on the beach.The beach is super neat and the sand feels like cushion under the feet.The best beach seen so far in India
The pool area.The pool is neat and has an awesome view of the Backwaters and the sea.They have other activities like Kayaking,archery etc. .Spa and jacuzzi are on the other side of a river ( narrow stream) that flows through the property.
The restaurant is beautifully done too.The property is just 1 year old so they have used quite interesting and innovative ideas which makes it stand out a bit among the others.The food was awesome.
If you want to go on a relaxed trip and yet want to enjoy what the place offers,head here.The place is beautiful.We were smitten by it.Taj knows how to pamper their guests.We were quite impressed and would surely visit this place again

The only complaint/dislike was the design of the shower area in the rooms. Lack of a door let the water splash out of the bathing area and just sit there. May be house keeping can fix that so not that big a problem. Given i picked this small little quirk as the only flaw you can imagine how high the bar was set by the hotel for me to review. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samarth83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Let me start by saying that this was one of the most awesome resports we have been to! And we are comparing it to resorts we have been to in Maui/Hawaii & Madives!! The location, property, beauty, beach, pool, backwaters, spa, villa, staff, hospitality, yoga, etc etc - all get a 10 out of 10!
The resort is rather unique and indeed an experience in itself!
All in all a must visit resort for a relaxing holiday - you have so much to do & yet you have all the natural beauty & setting to do nothing and simply relax & rejuventae.

Room Tip: Villa with a private pool or a view of the backwaters!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vijay-Neena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I went to Taj Bekal between the 25 November and 29 November on the occasion of our fifth anniversary and had a great time at Taj Bekal.

Positives
1) Location, Location and Location!!! The resort is set on the kappil beach and overseas the intersection of the backwaters and the sea. The beach is a long stretch (around 4 kms) and at any point in time, by city standards, it is virtually deserted. During our stay of 4 days, whenever we went to the beach, there were not more than 30-40 people. It is a zen like experience to sit in the sand in the evening and watch the sunset. So peaceful, you may actually hear your own heartbeat!
3) The rooms are very well laid out and maintainence is top notch. We had a deluxe courtyard villa with a small plunge pool and we loved the decor and the layout, especially the outdoor tub, outdoor shower and the day bed. The indoor bathroom is also huge with separate basins for the couple. They are one of the few taj hotels who continue to use sugar soaps instead of the butter soaps and I commend them highly for it.
3) The Spa! This is supposed to be the largest spa in Asia a tour of the Spa left us impressed. the treatments were even better. The therapists are superbly trained. While my wife and I splurged and had multiple spa treatment (given it was our fifth anniversary), I would recommend at least one treatment at the spa. If you are going as a couple or for your anniversary, I would definately recommend the couples spa treatment. It was an awesome experience.
4) Service: The service was the most part was absolutely top notch. The service at the front desk, at the activity centre and housekeeping was very good. I would like to make special mention of Sarel at the front desk, Ashok in housekeeping, Laxminarayan in the restaurant and Kin, Rajeev and another lady (with whom my wife had multiple treatments but cant recollect the name) at the Spa for their superb service.

Negatives:
1) Food: The food menu in the restaurant in my opinion was a little limited. There are limited vegetarian options and no chinese options on the menu. While the chef did make us chinese food when we specifically asked, there have to be more options at such a high end resort. Maybe I am comparing this with Taj Exotica, Goa but in my opinion, food options at most of the Taj properties that I have stayed at are immense. I did not get the same feeling here.
2) In room dining service: The in room dining service has room to improve. In one instance, they forgot an accompaniment that I had specifically requested for. In another case, we ordered a desert which had ice cream and pastry components and these were mixed and brought to the room (instead of being separate) with the result that the desert had turned into a runny mess by the time we finished our main course.

However, this property is new and in such case, it will take some time to iron out the minor niggles.

If trip advisor had the option, I would probably have given this property 4.5 stars, but since the option is not there, I am giving them 4 stars.

Would I go again? Absolutely. I would easily recommend to friends as well.

Room Tip: If you are looking for privacy (couples), then the deluxe courtyard room with a plunge pool is the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiraath_desai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bekal
1.5 mi away
The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal
12.6 mi away
Kanan Beach Resort
Kanan Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Nileshwar
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bekal Palace
Hotel Bekal Palace
#3 of 4 in Bekal
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Neeleshwar Hermitage
Neeleshwar Hermitage
#1 of 11 in Kasaragod
250 reviews
14.1 mi away
Gokulam Nalanda Resort
Gokulam Nalanda Resort
#2 of 2 in Nileshwar
104 reviews
13.0 mi away
Malabar Ocean Front Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Bekal Resort & Spa, Kerala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Bekal Resort & Spa, Kerala

Address: Kappil Beach, Bekal 671319, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kasaragod District > Bekal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bekal
Price Range: $152 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Bekal Resort & Spa, Kerala 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Taj Bekal Resort & Spa, Kerala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing