We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ISOLATED RESORT FOR THE ONES WHO WANNA BE LEFT ALONE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bekal
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ISOLATED RESORT FOR THE ONES WHO WANNA BE LEFT ALONE”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Reaching the Lalit Resort at Bekal is the biggest issue, you can come from Mangalore or Kerala. Once you reach there you can feel the value of travelling so far to reach there.

Families / persons who really want seclusion at a price, this place is for you.

Get Lost in the back waters and the sea and enjoy the process of watching nature blend in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Himfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip M, General Manager at The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Sir,

Namaskar…

Thank you for taking your valuable time in sharing your feedback. I am pleased to note that your experience at the hotel met your expectations and that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal again.

Best regards

Dilip Mishra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    45
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
121
51
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I work with academic institutions and during one of my visits to Kasargode, i opted to take my client for lunch to Lalit, Bekal

We took food at the restaurant. Food was descent until we noticed a cockroach sitting on the roti, we ordered. On notifying this to the attendant, he blamed it on housekeeping and offered to replace it.

The cockroach was of least importance priority for the gentlemen serving us. Hence, i made the payment and came out immediately.

After all, the only thing needed was few good words saying he/she understands our situation... if they could not offer that... God knows what they are doing with guests who pay such huge premium and stay !!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RajeshNambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip M, General Manager at The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Mr. Nambiar,

Namaskar…

As per the last interaction with me and my Chef, we would like to reiterate that we value your feedback and thankful to you for such a detailed and complete review of our resort.

It was very disappointing to learn that our systems and people failed to deliver on this occasion. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. The same has been taken up with our concerned departments and all steps have been taken to ensure non-recurrence.

We regularly review the issues of food quality, service, ambience and cleanliness. We assure you that for us each and every guest is very important and we ensure that we take utmost care of every visitor. We regret we did not succeed with meeting up with your expectations on this occasion.

Thank you again for giving us your constructive feedback and we do hope that you will give us another chance to display our best of the products and services.

We would welcome the opportunity to regain your confidence by giving us the chance to be better host in a near future.

Best regards

Dilip Mishra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We drove down from Mangalore to Bekal for our Anniversary. The hotel staff were very obliging in helping my husband plan this surpise trip, right down to planning a personalised menu for our Lunch. The resort is located at a very tranquil beach with backwaters running through the resort. They have their own Houseboat too on the property with 8 rooms. The hotel rooms are larger than any i've previously seen, even the base category is more than 600 sq ft and has a juccuzi! Restaurant prices are very competitive and the menu has a range of local and international items. The staff are very attentive, probably because the resort looked barely occupied. This is sadly because the hotel group seems to want to market this property as their high end luxury spa brand and I guess not too many people can afford their room rates, so they're losing out on the local weekend crowd from Mangalore and neighbouring cities. Their Spa is really top class, and has a range of auyurvedic and international spa treatments with. There are few other 5 star hotels nearing completion in the area, so hopefully the hotel's rates will come down a bit and we can look forward to more trips there, instead of a one off experience.

Point to note : For people that just want to drive down for the day, they also have lunch packages inclusive of swimming pool usage.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MelPai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip M, General Manager at The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Sir,

Namaskar…

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on here, and for the lovely review. We couldn't be any happier than knowing we helped make your Anniversary everything you wanted it to be.

We're also happy to hear that you particularly enjoyed our personalized menu, Spa, rooms and most of all The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal Hospitality and Service.

Looking forward to your next visit at our resort.

Best regards

Dilip Mishra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

My family and I usually drive to Goa for our October vacation. But considering the condition of the roads just after the monsoon, that would have been quite a tiring journey. But when we came across The Lalit in Bekal, which is about 70km from Mangalore, we jumped at the opportunity to go there. The road condition from Mangalore to Bekal was poor, but considering the journey was just 2 hours, it was bearable.

The unique part of The Lalit Bekal resort is the service. As soon as we arrived, they assigned us a 'Personal Host' - they describe this as a butler kind of service. This person was at our service through the duration of the stay. This person is accessible through a button on the room telephone. This person asked our preference in food and activities, and and made sure that every part of the resort was tuned to our preference.

The resort is at a very picturesque location. It is at the junction of the local river and the sea. The place is quite private, and very beautiful. One evening we spent boating on the river, went up and down the river a bit, then went across to the sand bar and the beach. We tried our hand at fishing in the river, but no luck.

The food was another part of this resort that I enjoyed very much. The chef came to us at the table before every meal, asked for our preference, and the meal was custom-made to our liking. The local Kerala food was delicious, especially the fish and vegetarian dishes.

The room is large and very comfortable. Other than a king-size bed, there was a small couch which could be converted into a bed. We had a big LCD TV in the room - maybe 42 inch - and a DVD player. The kids watched a couple of movies (the resort has a collection) in the morning, when it was too hot to go outside.

The swimming pool is quite nice - 3 foot depth on one end, and 4 foot at the other end - perfect for my kids to safely play.

There were very few other people staying at the resort - too early in the season, I guess. But this suited us, we had the resort almost to ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sudhir_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip M, General Manager at The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Mr. Albuquerque,

Namaskar…

We are so pleased to hear such positive comments following your stay at The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal and would like to thank you for taking the time to review so nicely our rooms, resort activities, friendly staff and meal experiences.

We are glad to read that overall, your stay with us has been great and that you received great service and assistance from some of our staff. Your compliments has been shared with the persons you named in particular and you have my assurance that such excellent behaviors are monthly rewarded through our” best employee of the month”. Such positive comments from guests are surely taken into account.

I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you here in Bekal and that you will get the chance to experience a more peaceful and memorable lifetime experience.

Best regards

Dilip Mishra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

The moment you drive into the property the firat thing to hit is "Am I still in India?". Truly so beautiful is the setting that it feels just like Bali or some other such exotic place. Bali more so because of the architecture. Lovely small villa like rooms, streams, fountains etc etc really seeing is believing. See the attached pictures.
The welcome party was just awesome and the tender coconut water served along with the refreshing cool towel did the trick after a long drive from Bangalore. They have three kinds of rooms and we stayed at the Spa room which is really huge and very tastefully done up. Large french windows, own private lawn, a view of the stream and fountains - really dont know where to stop raving. Ok this really eats the cake - all rooms have their own private jacuzzi. Another great thing is that every room comes with a personalized butler who is just a call away (on his mobile - through the direct access button in the room phone) for any help that might be required. After a relaxing time in the jacuzzi we asked our butler to get us the menu so that we could pre order dinner. Thats when he had the chef call us to take down our preferences - really the surprises and personalization just didnt seem to want to come to an end.
Dinner was just the way we liked it - some great fresh seafood.
Day two was as awesome - visited the scenic Bekal fort which is just a couple of kilometers from Lalit Bekal and after which we had a nice private boat take us over the backwaters to the beach. Yes this property enjoys the opportunity to enjoy backwaters of the river as well as the beach with the sea. The beach is almost a private one with little or no local population and with the butler service you have a sentry of sorts should you require them.
Day three was when we were supposed to leave but not before experiencing the largest spa in all of Kerala where we had expert masseurs to give us some awesome treatments as recommended by the onsite ayurvedic doctor.
Service at this place is just amazing and its not limited to while you are at the resort - an example of this is - We wanted to have some good local Kerala biryani for which we insisted that we wanted to try a local small time restaurant. Our butler gave us the name and contact number of a restaurant in Kasargod which is about 15 km away and by the time we left Lalit and reach Viceroy hotel in Kasargod we learnt that our butler had spoken to the owner there and this ensured that we got some tremendous service there as well. Truly an unforgettable holiday and i would rate this as a top location for anyone wanting to INDULGE !!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mustafa8023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip M, General Manager at The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Sir,

Namaskar…

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and many thanks for your priceless feedback; it is indeed incredibly rewarding to read such wonderful comments from our guests.

It is very pleasing to know that you liked the Resort architecture, rooms, fountains, Jacuzzi, and backwaters. We are delighted to learn that our Spa Therapist as well as Holiday Host (Butler) have taken care of you very well and left you with lovely memory. Allow us to extend this kind message to our team for their motivation and acknowledgement for their hard efforts.

Your recommendation is our greatest compliment. Once again, thank you for residing with us and we do hope your enriching and indigenous experience will lead you back to our Resort in the near future.

Do visit us on www.thelalit.com and stay up to date on activities planned at The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal.

Best regards

Dilip Mishra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bekal
1.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Bekal
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bekal Palace
Hotel Bekal Palace
#3 of 4 in Bekal
119 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kanan Beach Resort
Kanan Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Nileshwar
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Raj Residency
Raj Residency
#1 of 3 in Kanhangad
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
#5 of 20 in Kalpetta
120 reviews
198.7 mi away
Aquatic Floating Resort
Aquatic Floating Resort
#67 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal

Property: The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal
Address: Bekal | Kasaragod District, Bekal 671319, India
Location: India > Kerala > Bekal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bekal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LaLiT Resort & Spa Bekal, located in Kasargod, the northern district of Kerala - ‘Gods Own Country’ is a top of the line luxury beach resort set up on 26 acres of virgin stretch of northern Kerala in the lap of Arabian sea. This paradise is 12 Kms from Kasargod Railway station and 75 kms from Mangalore Airport. Surrounded by a natural backwater from three sides and having internal lagoons, meander though the property - The LaLiT Resort & Spa Bekal is a beautiful combination of lagoons, backwater and the sea. The resort has a large, well appointed spa that offers health and lifestyle consultations, Ayurvedic treatments, western and eastern therapies, beauty treatments and yoga. The LaLiT Resort & Spa Bekal is the only Spa Resort that allows kids to accompany parents.The State of Kerala is well known for peace and tranquillity. National Geographic Traveler suggests Kerala among the “50 places in the world recommended to be visited in a lifetime”. And The LaLiT Suri Hospitality Group is the first major hospitality chain entering Northern Kerala and the only five star deluxe resorts in the tourism circuit of Northern Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lalit Resort & Spa Bekal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing