We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just back from a week all inclusive at this hotel. We were very impressed with everything. The room like the whole hotel was spotlessly clean. The food was excellent - lots of choices with freshly cooked dishes every night. Couldn't fault it. Value for money - certainly. Only downfall - uk tourists here in the minority - this hotel is popular with German tourists but that said it didn't spoil our stay in any way!
My only reason for not giving excellent for sleep was the bed - a little hard for my liking but appreciate this is personal taste.
Very quiet location. We only left the hotel one day and this was for an organised trip through Thomas cook which we thoroughly enjoyed - orange blossom trail - excellent value for money and fabulous day

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pools are sunny with those on the top floor having the best of this. Some nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    332
    78
    20
    7
See reviews for
499
366
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Lovely hotel with a great beach front position. Entertainment and children's activities were excellent with very helpful, enthusiastic staff who kept the vibe up. Food and drinks service was good if you go for the all inclusive option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SdC1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited this hotel over the half term week and a few days over, and even though it was school holidays we found that we didn't feel crowded in any of the areas we visited over the complex. Yes the other reviews often say that the playa and park are together and this is true, however this may not be a disadvantage. Yes it is big, (bigger than we would normally go) but we found that very often the pool in the playa is used by people without children or even older children. The park pool is definitely better for younger children.
We found our room extremely good, good mattresses, very clean, good size, and our cleaner, Lolita was fantastic, sweets on the bed almost everyday for our daughter, and always a happy demeanour when we bumped into her.
Food at the hotel was of a high standard, I only have a couple of nit picks, and they would be that the variety on offer could have been improved a little, and they should think about widening the choice for little ones. Also I would have preferred to have been taken to a table, certainly in the evening. The staff would let you just go your own way.
Our daughter didn't use the kids club until our last few days, but when she did she had a brilliant time. They seemed well organised, did lots of different activities, and gave prizes for games they played. These were given out after the mini disco. Evening entertainment was generally very good, but there were a couple of evenings when we left early.
As well as our cleaner all the staff we dealt with were helpful and efficient. The reception staff giving us a bus timetable which was useful.
As for the location this has been mentioned as being a disadvantage, (great to be beach side) but again I have to say we found that this wasn't a problem to ourselves. Can pic fort is only a couple of stops away on the bus (1 euro 50 cent) and if you like to walk you will have a very pleasant walk along the beach which should only take about 45mins. Alcudia port is approx 8 km away, same bus price, is pleasant, but you may find that almost every other shop being a spar shop might get away from the over all beauty of the place. The marina is worth a walk to see how the other half live !!!
Don't forget to visit the beach, it is very good for young ones as it isn't too deep, so easy to keep an eye on the kids. The water is quite shallow for a few metres, so again good for smaller members of your family.
I would certainly be happy to visit an iberostar again, I felt that we indeed had our monies worth.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor of the block beginning with seven. This faced the pools, and the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you want a week in the sun with a great beach, pools and lots of food and drink - stay here. It's that simple! Travelled with Thomas Cook (flying with Easyjet) and after a very rude rep was very unhelpful to passengers waiting for a transfer with us, we went straight to the hotel in a minibus with our toddler safely strapped in a car seat. Greeted brilliantly at reception with drinks & clear explanations. Upgraded to AI €22 per day/per person, hired a safe and towels - all very easy!!
There isn't anything nearby bar a few supermarkets (walk on from the first one you come to, if you want to save a few euro as we bought 2 packs of nappies from the next one along and saved over £5) so AI really is worth it. We drank a different bottle of wine each night (lovely Rioja) and that alone was worth it! Buy yourself a parasol and mats if you plan to use the beach.
Staff (restaurant/chambermaid) all very friendly & fussed over our toddler. Go to unwind, eat, drink and enjoy!

Room Tip: Stayed in 6105 over reception. Music from entertainment would be noisy if closer - if you have young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HRH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

1week from 31st may. Beautiful hotel, spotlessly clean at all times in all areas - room is bright and cleaned everyday our maid was Andrea who always had a smile. All staff are very pleasant and greet with smiles which is really nice and welcoming, I have been hotels where staff have not given even one smile so this was real nice. The restaurant was spotless and a good variation was available to suit all tastes and the drinks were bought to your table which was good. The beach is close and absolutely beautiful. There is entertainment which was quite good although a seat was hard to find after 9pm but all in all this hotel gives a nice touch of perfection and a relaxing atmosphere I would say suited to older age group or families with small children, I will definitely try the iberostar hotels and hope they are as good as this one was.

Room Tip: We stayed in high floor with side sea views quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Lovely friendly clean hotel on a beauty full beach. There is food most of the day if you are staying all inclusive it is well worth the money you stay in a different part of the hotel if you are half board and all inclusive so if you are going with some friends or family on a different board your rooms will not be near each other.

Room Tip: High level floor better view and less noise also all inclusive are bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Returned from our stay at the Albufera Playa on 04/06/2013.
We stayed at the adjoining Albufera Park nearly 2 years ago and enjoyed our stay, so we decided to try the Playa this visit.
We were a family of 4 travelling with Thomas Cook. Our booking included priority check in and priority drop off at resort. Both of these made the journey very smooth, especially with a 6 and 8 year old. The cabin crew on Thomas Cook airlines couldn't have been nicer - a pleasant change from our last trip with Virgin airlines to Orlando.
We arrived about lunch time - our room was ready so we could unpack and shower before lunch. We were offered champagne/juice on arrival and our bags were taken in for us.
When we stayed at the Park (July 2011) the room was slightly unimpressive, with the children sleeping on an L shaped sofa bed. As mentioned in other reviews there also was a distinctly strange/sewage smell in the room in the Park.
The Playa's rooms were altogether different - the kids had an adjoining room, which was a mirror of ours. This was the first time we have used adjoining rooms, but the additional space and comfortable beds for the children was a big improvement. I'm not entirely certain, but I think adjoining rooms is all that is offered to families in the Playa (unless you upgrade to a suite), so this would need to be considered if you have younger children. The rooms were comfortably furnished and spotlessly clean. We were all inclusive so the mini bar was regularly stocked up, and little touches like sweets and lollies for the kids were nice. We used the pool at the Park as it was more child friendly - the Playa's pools are quiet and much more for the older adult!
The food was relatively good - the breakfasts offered the best meal experience. The lunches and dinners became very repetitive, especially if you are staying for longer than a week. The drinks are nice with a good selection of cocktails, spirits and soft drinks. The wine is harsh, to be polite, but I am realistic about what all inclusive gets me!! As part of our all inclusive we got a meal at the a la carte restaurant which was very pleasant.
The pool was extremely cold in May/June - the sea was warmer - again, we expected this. There wasn't much reserving of sun loungers, although you need to be poolside by mid morning (however, it was only May).
The reception staff and cleaning staff were extremely cheery and friendly. The bar and restaurant staff are so busy that any friendly interaction is lost. The hotel as a whole is exceptionally clean.
The beach is lovely, and we did trips to the Caves of Drach ( well worth a visit) and Rancho Grande (overpriced barbeque and horse riding but the kids absolutely loved it). The kids asked to use the kids club twice and both really enjoyed the days. The Anamacion team were extremely enthusiastic and thoughtful, and I felt completely confident the kids were in good hands, although this is the first time they have been to a kids club. The Anamacion team provide most of the evening entertainment - the kids disco is great - if you are 6. The shows afterwards are average.
The location was perfect for us as a family - quiet, with a large nature reserve for walking in and the lovely beach. It is certainly not the place for wild night life. There is a limited choice of restaurants and bars locally.
The weather was great - slightly blustery for the first few days then sunny and really warm for the last week. We had one rainy morning which passed by about 11am.
In summary - a good, family 4 star resort. Excellent for kids. Good food. Extremely clean.

Room Tip: 7152/7151 were lovely quiet family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank princesspenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
1.5 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,060 reviews
0.8 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.0 mi away
Iberostar Albufera Park
Iberostar Albufera Park
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,536 reviews
3.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
IBEROSTAR Ciudad Blanca
#7 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
1,315 reviews
5.6 mi away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa

Property: IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
Address: Avenida Albufera s/n, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa de Muro
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Muro
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#10 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a king in the IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa hotel. Relax in an elegant room with balcony where you can gaze out and welcome another day in Majorca from a privileged position. Stroll around the gardens and pool area as if it were your kingdom. Sample succulent dishes every day. Reach the sand at Playa de Muro in the blink of an eye. And ask for anything your heart desires; our staff will be on hand to make sure you want for nothing. See for yourself! Calm descends. From these hotel rooms in Majorca, all that can be heard is the sound of the silence and tranquillity of the surrounding pine forest. Let the sun’s rays soak your terrace or balcony! Count to ten. Before you finish, you’ll be sinking your feet into the sand because this hotel in Majorca is so close to the beach that it feels just like an extension of it. The best holiday. Four pools (including one indoor heated pool and one children’s pool), a whirlpool bath, fitness centre, tennis and paddle tennis courts, gardens, children’s playgrounds and a pine forest… All this is available from the moment you step foot in this hotel in Palma. But wait, there’s more. Give yourself a treat. Or five. You can choose from a gourmet restaurant, an à la carte restaurant, two buffet restaurants (one of which is located on the beach), one fast-food terrace and two bars. Five dining options that range from sampling a typical Majorcan dish to drinking a mojito in the open air. No limits! At the IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa, you can add more and more until your stay is complete. To do so, you can choose the Unlimited Services option, which includes an à la carte dinner, Premium drinks and a 45-minute massage, among other perks. Come back invigorated. After a visit to our SPA Sensations wellness centre, all will become clear; holidays make you happier. As with everything else, the treatments available are plentiful: from energising massages to hydrating water therapies. Luxury stay. If you choose the Star Prestige accommodation type, the doors to the chill out area will open for you, so that you can relax surrounded by the solarium, pool and open bar with Balinese beds. Fit for a king! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Albufera Playa Hotel Playa De Muro
Iberostar Playa De Muro
Iberostar Hotel Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing