We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - wrong location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel JS Alcudi-Mar
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Here
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - wrong location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

The Alcudi-Mar is a nice holiday hotel, but its location is not so good as just at the main street to Alcudia. So if you have a room on the street side, it could be quite noisy.
Our room was on the other side with view on the pool and the mountains, but just at the lift. So depending on the guests, it was more or less noisy, but this has nothing to do with the hotel if people are not educated enough to stay silent...
There are no rooms with seaview as you have to cross the main street and walk about 50m to reach the beach which is large and clean.
The restaurant was nice, many choices for each the breakfast and diner buffet with specialities, fish and meat.
The staff was friendly and professional and did all what they could to help us.
This hotel also accepts dogs...

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PierrotFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    95
    43
    17
    17
See reviews for
73
119
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laura69x
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

Lovely holiday in a great location and couldn't complain about the cleanliness off the hotel but the service and services were appauling.

Pure german hotel, if your english then stay away at all costs. The staff are incredably rude and only polite if your german. Nothing to do at the hotel, no activities, entertainment, kids club etc.

Now heres the real problem the food.....awful, cold, greesy, bland, uncooked, reheated from previos day and all food catered for german taste.
We stayed at the hotel for two weeks all inclusive and ate out most nights, hundreds of euros wasted as there were 6 of us.

We were due to stay in another hotel but diddnt find out they were overbooked untill we arrived so had to pay for another transfer to take us to alcudi-mar and when we got there we had to spend almost half an hour explaining our situation and checking in as they had no record of us and all the reception staff diddnt speak a word of english apart from one woman.

Overall we did have an enjoyable holiday as we spent most of it outside the hotel and tried not to let it spoil our holiday. but aviod this hotel at all costs.

Hope the helped =]

DONT GO IF YOUR ENGLISH!!!

  • Liked — Clean & moden rooms, nice pool, next to the beach
  • Disliked — No english people, ignorence of staff, appauling food
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura69x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2007

We received a phone call from our travel agent , the day before we left for our holiday , that the origional hotel we had booked was full and so we had no choice than to accept the offer for an alternative. We eventually settled for 'Alcudi Mar' , though reluctantly as we had read the few reviews and did not like this hotel.
The receptionist was very friendly and on entering the room', we were delighted to note that the air-con was working perfectly. The room , was decent, and I thought to myself that we were in for a good stay. How wrong could I have been!. I went straight for the television remote control to turn on the television, and lo and behold, each channel was in German language except for one; eurosport!. I thought my worst nightmare had come true, as I had read about the Germans. It was definately a German hotel.
The food was totally useless, with little variety. We had paid halfboard, but never actually had any breakfast as the sight of it, was repulsive. As for dinner, for the seven days that we were there, we had dinner three times. We had to cough up extra money to eat out every day thus paying extra for this holiday ( more than we budgeted ).
Each morning, we left the hotel, only to come back to sleep. To make matters worse, we had what looked like an evaluation form on the day before our departure, and of course it was in German.
How could we evaluate what we could'nt read.
Anyway I know better than to return there.

Vivian (Bedford)

  • Liked — Air-conditioning
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank vivianBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, West Mids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

Booked this holiday a week before we were due to go away and all looked good from what was stated on the internet. Some websites state that this is a 4 star hotel but let me tell it does definetely not warrant this 4 star rating. The only thing that may push this hotel up to 4 star quality is the jacuzzi and sauna faciities other than that you will be sadly disappointed.

The hotel staff were unfriendly and most of them spoken little or no English. When you asked them to do something everything seemed like a chore. Tables for meals were never cleared from the 1st sitting ready for the 2nd and you were often left waiting for the tables to be cleaned. Breakfast was very much catered towards Germans, with frankfurter sausages and even carrots being served. Toast in a morning was the best option if you were English as the Bacon was overcooked and there wasn't even any beans. Evening meals did not improve that much and if you were vegetarian or had children with you on your stay there was very little choice for. What was stated to be served on the menu never was and the chips were always cold and soggy. The pizza that was served was rock hard and the meat was sometimes undercooked and pink.

The pool area was nice and clean but very small considering the size of the hotel and the amount of guests staying there. Also if you want a sunbed your best bet to get one would be in the afternoon as they always take up by Germans first thing in the mornings. So my advice is if you are looking for a hotel with a friendly atmosphere and good food then this definetely isn't the place for you. Not a 4 star hotel in the slightest, would definetely not go back there.

  • Liked — The Jacuzzi
  • Disliked — food choice and how it was catered towards germans
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

We original booked with Excel travel earlier in the month to stay in Alcudia, but after arriving at this hotel to find it over booked, and sent to stay in Alcudi Mar Play de Muro 25 minutes away. This hotel was very unfriendly, very German/Swiss and French. No English info anywhere. Food absolutly terriable. Breakfast consisted of deep fried broken eggs, scrambled eggs slightly green in colour, grisly bacon fit only for fish food and a lovely dish of veg!! either green beans tinned carrots or brussel sprouts! absolut nightmare. Evening meal examples are rabbit and onions or pork chops sat in a very fatty sauce, previous nights salads just re mixed, hard pizza and luke warn chips, dirty pots/cuterly/glasses and very unfriendly waiters. But we were the only English there are were looked down on totaly. Originaly given 2 beds for my family of 4 to sleep in, air conditioning turned off 4 first 3 days. Lights out at 11.30 on balcony, i can go on and on, horrid. In the process with Excel to have a refund as it was litteraly a hotel on allocation and not the one we spents weeks looking into for all our needs. Advise do not go maybe a 4 star but does not deserve them. Love to here any one elses views on this hotel.

  • Liked — Absolutly nothing
  • Disliked — No polietness, dreadfull food we ate out every night as so bad. No English entertainment, pure German and im not a racist person but felt so very alone as we were dumped here by our original hotel being over booked. Even the rep when she came said it was bad.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jamieadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de Muro hotels
0.2 mi away
Grupotel Los Principes & Spa
Grupotel Los Principes & Spa
#13 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grupotel Amapola
Grupotel Amapola
#23 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grupotel Alcudia Suite
Grupotel Alcudia Suite
#26 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#5 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.2 mi away
HSM Lago Park
HSM Lago Park
#14 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel JS Alcudi-Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JS Alcudi-Mar

Property: Hotel JS Alcudi-Mar
Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia s/n, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa de Muro
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#18 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel JS Alcudi-Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2006, the beach hotel consists of a 4-storey building with a total of 20 singles and 180 double rooms, as well as a well-kept garden area. Amongst the hotel facilities there is a foyer with a 24-hour reception, a safe, a currency exchange desk and a lift. A cafe, a bar, a TV room and an air-conditioned restaurant with highchairs for children are to be found within the hotel. Moreover, the hotel offers a conference room, a public Internet terminal and a bicycle storage facility as well as bicycle hire. Younger guests may let off steam in the playground. Those arriving by car may make use of the car park or garage. Laundry services are available as well as medical assistance to round off the services on offer. *** FREE WIFI *** This popular hotel lies in the area Playa de Muro and is only 100 m from the beach and the sea. From the hotel, all the sightseeing attractions and the centre of town, which is only 4 kilometres away, can easily reached by making use of the local bus service. A selection of shopping venues, restaurants, bars and pubs are located in the hotel's vicinity and the nearest nightclubs are within 2.5 km of the hotel. The en suite rooms are fitted with a hairdryer, a direct dial telephone, satellite/ cable TV, air conditioning/ central heating, a balcony, a hire safe and a minibar. The hotel offers a pool with a children's area, a snack bar, sun loungers and parasols. Sports enthusiasts may enjoy a game of table tennis or a work out in the gym. The health spa offers a sauna, a steam room and a hot tub. The hotel also offers a seasonal entertainment programme to ensure that there is never a dull moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel JS Alcudi-Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Js Alcudi-Mar Hotel Playa De Muro
Alcudi Mar Hotel
Hotel JS Alcudi-Mar Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing