We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holidays” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great holidays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a week in Las Gaviotas, and had a great time. All comments we read on trip advisor were correct, this is a very nice hotel, very calm and very clean. We had a junior suite overlooking the main pool, amazing. Staff are very efficient and discreet. Breakfast are very nice, diners can be a little chaotic when too busy. I would say that the food is average, could be better for a 4 stars. There is also a spa which we used and that was very enjoyable. My guess is that it must be not as nice on hight season when the hotel is full, this week in October was a perfect time. Concerning the location, rather quiet, very touristic, we had some very nice lunch on the beach, grilled fish and paella for a good price and very fresh. The beach is beautiful, clear warm water. I would recommend this hotel and would go again with no hesitation.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lobbito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Greetings from Hotel Las Gaviotas, and thank you for leaving a comment on tripadvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    332
    56
    16
    8
See reviews for
335
556
31
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for 10 nights with our 18 month old toddler. The suite rooms are good because you have a separate bedroom and living space separated by a sliding door, which is good for the cot, if like ours the baby sleeps better in a separate room, also gives you a space when the baby is asleep in the evening. The rooms are very spacious & well maintained. It was strange there was no kettle or coffee making facility in room, so we had to use a travel kettle for cleaning the baby equipment etc.. We did find the towels we were given small & did not really dry very well, and also the soap/shower gels were not replenished daily, so had to end up taking them off the cleaners trollies when they weren't looking :-)
We had emailed to ask for a quiet room overlooking the small pool, when we arrived we found we had been allocated a room overlooking the bins, & a rather unsightly neighbouring hotel. When we asked if we could move a couple of times, we didn't get a positive response, so we resigned ourselves to the room we had been given, which wasn't so bad when we got used to it.
The food at the hotel was excellent, with a good range of different foods each day. We stayed half board, again one niggle was that they only had 2 coffee/hot water machines during breakfast so you end up queueing for quite some time. It was an obvious issue which could be easily fixed by adding 2 more machines. The wine/beer at dinner was inexpensive and good. I'm glad we went half board because the local restaurants did not look very inviting.
The pools & garden were great, always could find a sun bed, no need to put your towels down in the middle of night etc...
The gym was small, not well equipped & a little strange because it had glass walls, which turned it into a greenhouse during the day, and the 2 small air conditioning units could not keep up. If you like a good gym, this was a bit of a dissappointment & I would not recommend.
The resort area around the hotel was not great with tacky gift shops & unappealing restaurants/bars. The beach was nice, but it got very busy, & the hotel does not have its own beach area, and you do have to cross the main road. There were hawkers selling the usual watches etc, but they were not too much of a problem.
By the look of the other hotels in the area Las Gaviotas certainly looked the best, if you prefer a quieter hotel.
We hired a car quite cheaply and visited a number of older port towns with more traditional charm & character, like Cala Rajada. I would stay at these towns in the future & would not return to Playa de Muro or Alcudia. Alcudia Old Town was good, with buses every 15minutes from outside the hotel & some nice restaurants & bars. But don't get the OldTown, mixed up with the rest of Alcudia which is very resorty.
So in summary, I would not return to this area, but if I did have to return, I would stay again at this hotel, but they do need to sort out some of the rather strange & easily fixable service issues I mentioned above.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the small pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving a comment about our hotel! We are sorry to read that not everything was to your expectations, that we did not have a room available in the area that you hoped for. Inspite of this fact, we hope you will visit us again and we will then try our best to fulfill your wishes! Greetings from all staff of ¨Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel & Spa¨.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a week at las gaviotas and it was excellent!!

The hotel is very modern and clean. it has two pools, a poolside bar and a cocktail bar, it also has free wi-fi. there was plenty of choice at breakfast and the two nights we ate dinner in the hotel. the hotel is located 2mins from the beach and 10mins by bus from alcudia, where u find some nice restaurants along the pier.

porto pollenca is worth a visit during your stay

The reception staff, particularly 'anna' and bar staff, particularly 'christobal'' were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.

We had a suite on the 4th floor overlooking the main pool, we would recoomend u choose a suite at the rear of the hotel, sitting out on the balcony as the sun sets are wonderful!!

we would thoroughly recommend the hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comment!! :-)
Greetings from all of us at ¨Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel & Spa¨.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I, along with our 16 month old son stayed at the Las Gaviotas for 11 nights in August. We researched the hotel on Trip Advisor before we went and was not disappointed. Stayed half board in a Suite which was modern and spacious, the food was great with plenty of choice. Pool bar had reasonable prices and nice food. The hotel has two pools, one for adults and one for families, no problem getting sunbeds and a nice little childrens pool. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Anything we asked for was no trouble for the staff. Good location to bars and shops within the area and beach minutes away. The only minor issue was the lack of a childrens play area which would have been nice but it does not advertise the fact so cannot complain. Also the internet connectivity is not good in the room and you have to sit in the reception area, which is not very good in today's digital age. Playa De Muro is a typical spanish resort and has some nice bars all at good prices. Overall the hotel is lovely, we had a great time and would return. If you are thinking of booking do it, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room if you have children to avoid having to use the lift several times per day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan_Vicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Greetings from Mallorca! Thank you for your comment, very kind. We will try to improve the internet connectivity in the hotel, and we hope to welcome you back at ¨Las Gaviotas¨!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Everything about this hotel was impressive and enjoyable

Friendly reception (even though we arrived at 2am).

Suites are lovely, so comfortable, good size and excellent facilities.

Breakfast buffet was really enjoyable. excellent selection from cooked breakfast, to fruit and yogurt, bread and cheese, all washed down with a wee glass of Cava (very nice touch)!

Swimming pools were refreshingly cold, in a good way and there were plenty of (good quality) sunbeds and parsols. The area was always clean and tidy

Pool snack bar was perfect. nice menu with plenty of choice of salad, burgers, pizzas and sandwiches (a few traditional spanish dishes too). staff were excellent, attentive and with a sense of homour. complimentry drink at the end of each meal here (another nice touch)

Hotel bar was excellent. At the front of the hotel so you can people watch til your heart is contect. A huge selection of spirits and liquors for cocktails. Generous pours and more lovely friendly service

location was good for the beach and close to supermarkets

(only downside on the area was the restaurants. Didnt find any that was overly impressive, a lot of typical tourist steak houses. Hotel did recommend us to nearby traditional restaurant (cant remember name) which was a 10 minute walk away and this was the best we tried. Lovely setting and decent food. But canot blame to hotel for poor restaurants in the area)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jc1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are very happy to read you had a great stay, and thank you for writing a lovely comment! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel is very clean and modern and the staff were very friendly. When we arrived there was an issue with the room we booked and were upgrade to a sea view suite at no extra cost which was a nice touch.

The restaurant was varied and offered different dished daily via a buffet.

3 Swimming pools as well an outdoor bar area which was handy for drinks and snacks.

Our room was spacious, clean and furnished to a high standard. We had a min bar, international channels on the TV and a decent sized balcony.

The hotel is just across the road from the beach, about a 1 minute walk. However, the road is quite busy. The beach is nice but can get a little crowded. There are plenty of Spar shops around, in fact it also seems they are all Spa shops!

All in all, the hotel is very nice and highly recommended but the surrounding area is a little tacky tacky standard Spanish sea side resort. However don't let that put you off. Great hotel, lovely beach, lots of sops and bars,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your comment! Kind regards from sunny Mallorca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Fabulous stay at this hotel. Would highly recommend for couples of all ages. Modern, chique, clean and well run. Close to the beach. Has 3 outdoor pools and 1 indoor with a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Breakfast was great and varied, something to suit everyone. Stayed in a standard double which was spacious with large balcony, had a fabulous modern bathroom, flat screen tv with plenty of british channels and was immaculately clean with daily maid service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nattybelle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Great to read you had an excellent stay! Thank you for your comment! :-)
Greetings from all of us at ¨Las Gaviotas¨.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
0.4 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grupotel Los Principes & Spa
Grupotel Los Principes & Spa
#14 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#4 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.3 mi away
Grupotel Maritimo
Grupotel Maritimo
#3 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel

Property: Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Albufera 51 | Urbanización Las Gaviotas, 07408 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Best Value Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel - a pioneer in the area as far back as in the -70s and with more than 30 years of experience - consolidates stars and a image: modern lines in every corner invite you to a holiday oasis where quality is the common element and white, the colour that permeates everything. Here you can enjoy gardens, comfortable suites and modern facilities. But Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel is much more than just a beautiful design. Our identity is, above all, friendly treatment and good service. Our experience and know-how, together with each guest, will do the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Gaviotas Hotel Playa De Muro
Hotel Las Gaviotas
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing