We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pristine 4star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2012

A very clean hotel which is properly run and rooms are comfortable and attended to everyday.Flat screen tv with english and other channels in room and power shower with robes provided as well as pool towels in room.Always spaces on loungers by the large pool so nobody had to reserve.Although the food was very good it was spoilt by not having warm plates to put hot food on! Bus stop outside front door which runs every 15 mins to alcudia and other way to can picafort,they also run to other resorts at different times but be warned as they do get full specially on market days in alcudia.Across the main road to the beach there is a brit pub which does good grub,beer and tv screens for the footy.Opposite there is a good sized supermarket which has everything.The beach is very long and sandy and the sea is nice and warm and shallow and loads of room for everyone but no shade.Close to the hotel there are plenty of steak houses as well as restaurants but not many bars but posh paddys bar in the next strip down is worth a visit and brendan entertains and very friendly staff.I would recommend staying here but dont expect much in the way of entertainment but that suited us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Nice to read that you had a good stay, thank your for commenting! Saludos de Las Gaviotas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

I picked this hotel after reading other reviews on trip advisor and it more than lived up to my expectations. The staff couldn't do enough for you, the hotel was spotlessly clean and the food was good. The beach is a 2 minute walk away and the hotel is in a good position for touring the rest of the island. Palma is about a 40 minute drive, Cap Formentor (breath taking) less than half an hour. Alcudia is only 10 minutes and Pollenca (gorgeous for an evening stroll beside the sea) not much further. The hotel is 4 stars plus and excellent value for money. I would love to return.

Room Tip: Ask for one over looking the internal courtyard with smaller pool - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

You are always welcome to come back! Thank you for writing such a kind comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was our first trip to Mallorca and we spent quite some time searching Trip Advisor for something a little bit more luxurious than the majority of the "package holiday" hotels that tend to dominate the island.

First of all - Las Gaviotas is really quite an exceptional establishment when compared with other hotels that we looked at in the same area. In fact, even upon arriving outside the building, it stands out as very classy looking (this was a relief - the Port of Alcudia which we passed through en route was a bit resemblant of a mini Magaluf which was definitely not our thing!).

The whole hotel is very modern in a trendy designer kind of way - fresh clean and minimalist lines and obviously recently renovated. Check in at reception was quick and efficient. Our suite (324) over-looked the main rear pool and was really quite impressive. A large sitting room area leading to a sliding door double bedroom, both of which opened out (via sliding patio doors) onto a huge balcony. The bathroom was also excellent - no bath but a large walk-in power shower (amazingly refreshing!) and nicely decorated (again clean modern design).

We stayed half board. Breakfast was on the first floor in the buffet restaurant and was comprehensive and tasty. There was a great choice of food and a chef on hand to cook omelettes and pancakes. The dining room is clean and modern (again) and has a nice airy feel to it. The hotel was only about 40% full and it didn't feel at all cramped or hectic. The waiting staff (in fact all the hotel staff) were a pleasure and always had a smile on their face. Dinner was equally as good - lots of choice (bear in mind this is a buffet restaurant so its not always as upscale as an a la carte) and again a chef to cook fresh food in front of you (varied by night - steak, fish, pork, fresh pasta etc).

The two pools are lovely - the rear main pool (not sea facing but backed onto a residential area which was not an issue) was huge and the whole area was kept spotless. There were a large amount of sun loungers so I would imagine even in high season you would not have a problem getting one.

A couple of things to note: this hotel (and indeed Playa de Muro) attracts two main nationalities - German and English. While we were there, English did seem more in the minority, however we had no issue at all with the Germans that we met (who quite frankly were more civil than some Brits!). The hotel itself tends to attract couples (of all age ranges) more than families and we did not see too many kids. This brings me to my next points - hotel entertainment - there was not anything noticeable in the evenings. The front reception bar is fairly small and that's about it. I don't think the hotel unashamedly hid the fact that there was no "sing along" stuff or sketches / comperes in the evening. They market themselves as a suite / boutique style hotel and therefore this would not be in line with their image.

Playa de Muro is pleasant and there were plenty of small bars / supermarkets / restaurants (all very reasonable in Euro land terms) around the hotel. In fact the resort is "nicely" equipped with a few eateries and bars without being over-commercialised (unlike other nearby resorts).

The transfer between Palma airport and Playa de Muro should take about 45 mins as the crow flies - ONE WORD OF WARNING!! - we opted for a coach transfer: this does not necessarily go straight to the resort, but instead went "all around the houses" stopping at several nearby resorts (and numerous hotels) first. A supposed 45 min transfer took 2hrs 30 mins!! Not really that pleasant if coaches are not your thing. Other options are limited (taxis about £60 one way) so perhaps finding cheap car rental for the week is worth considering (lots to see around the area also).

All in all and excellent stay!

Room Tip: Suites are all in the rear block over-looking the main pool. Third and fourth floors are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Canadajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

How nice to read your comment, very kind of you and very important for us to know if we can improve something for the future. We hope to see you back at Las Gaviotas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

A modern and newly renovated hotel with clean white lines everywhere. It has all facilities and 3 outside pools + a new indoor SPA with a small hidropool too. The nice beach is 150m from the hotel. Rooms are nice and clean, Tv is not big but okay and in the lobby there are 2 big screens for the use of the guests. The staff was very helpfull, always smilling and doing their best to help in any way. Food was great! We had a half board and thought to go and eat out a few times but eventually found ourselvs eating in the hotel the whole week...
The suits are much larger than the not so big double rooms and I recommend to upgrade it unless you use it as a single. There are some more hotels very close to this one but this is the most quiet of them all and more "family" like.
Since a lot of people come to Majorca to cycle this hotel welcomes all cyclists but has no special room to store and lock bikes but instead lets you keep it in your room or balcony.

Room Tip: Unless single go for the suits
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uri_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you very much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

A fantastic place to stay. We had a modern, spacious suite which had twin beds and a very good quality sofa bed (which was more than adequate for our two kids) in the seperate lounge area.
Apart from the beach, it's not the most picturesque resort, but the hotel made up for this and there are lots of amenities nearby like outdoor go-karting, mini golf, aqua park, shops, restaurants, etc.
Great bathroom with a large, walk in shower.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the room was kept spotless by the cleaning ladies.
The breakfast is plentiful and varied with bucks fizz freely available!
The dinner buffet was great too, and good value at 15 Euros for adults and 7.50 for children.
We hired a car and found lots of parking available around the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romano127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Greetings from all of us at Las Gaviotas, and thank you very much for leaving your comment! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

A lovely stay at Las Gaviotas. I stayed in a twin room, which was on the small side, but more than adequate for a single traveller (or a couple).

Where to start on the positives?

* The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful.
* The hotel was absolutely spotless.
* The buffet breakfast had an excellent selection of high quality foods - chocolate croissants to die for!
* A stunning beach a few minutes walk away, and a bus stop directly outside the hotel if you want to go further afield.
* A small "supermarket" within the hotel that was cheaper than any nearby shops.

The negatives?

* The in room internet access worked for one day, and after that the lovely receptionists chased the engineer several times with no success. However, there was still wireless access in the reception/ bar area, and all credit to the staff for trying to remedy the problem.
* The location was not the best, and in terms of good restaurants you are better to be based in the old town or port areas. However, these are far busier areas so you lose some of the peace, and if you do wish to visit they are easily accessible by bus.

In summary, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. I shall be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments :-) We shall try to improve the internet. Sorry to read that the area was not really to your expectations. We hope to see you again, you are always welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have stayed here for the past 2 years, the first year in a standard double and the second yeah with are 10 month old daughter in a suite, which was very spacious. Both rooms where lovely wnd just as well maintaned and as clean as each other, but if i have the extra for the suite its well worth it. We also went half board, food was brillient, loads of choice and never repeated the same meal in the week we were there. Food fresh and some cooked right in front of you, at breakfast and dinner.
Staff where very friendly, nothing too much trouble, even with are daughter, heating up her food was no problem. Pools are lovely and clean, bit cold but refreshing!! The beach is litrally across the road.
Would reccommend this hotel to anyone, we have been as a young couple and as a family and would definatly go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellasgaviotas, Recepción at Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

We hope to see you back next season :-) Thank you for your kind comment!
Greetings from the Las Gaviotas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
0.4 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,102 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
1.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#4 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Muro
Iberostar Playa de Muro
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Albufera 51 | Urbanización Las Gaviotas, 07408 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Best Value Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range: $82 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel - a pioneer in the area as far back as in the -70s and with more than 30 years of experience - consolidates stars and a image: modern lines in every corner invite you to a holiday oasis where quality is the common element and white, the colour that permeates everything. Here you can enjoy gardens, comfortable suites and modern facilities. But Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel is much more than just a beautiful design. Our identity is, above all, friendly treatment and good service. Our experience and know-how, together with each guest, will do the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Gaviotas Hotel Playa De Muro
Hotel Las Gaviotas
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing