We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playa Garden - Nice Place room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Playa Garden – Nice Place room for improvement”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have earlier stayed at Playa Garden in 2006, at that time we did not have any meals inclusive in the stay.
We are experienced Playa del Muro holiday makers, we have stayed at Alcudia Pins, Viva Bahia (more times) and Playa Garden (now 2 times).
We booked our sommerholidays form 13/7-2013 to 27/7-2013 (14 days) through the Danish online agency http://www.dinferie.dk we booked all inclusive and a room with a poolview.
We got a corner room overlooking the pool area the balcony is somewhat small but ok. The room is in adequate standard and the daily cleaning service is done satisfactory (everyday). Overall we were satisfied with the room.
The pool area is well proportioned with different pools with some different features on top of this there is a very nice indoor Free spay area.
The hotel declares a “no reservation” policy for sunbeds, but it is a policy that the hotel does nothing at all to enforce.
We find that is OK that holiday makers are early out in the morning and reserves sunbeds for their family, provided that the beds have a physical “occupation” rest of the day – except for short “aways” for breakfast and lunch. But at Playa Garden it is custmary that holiday makers book a series of sunbeds and maybe goes to town or to the beach and maby first comes to their occupied beds at 16:00-17:00. We have seen that many times – as one earlier review (Spanish language) also confirms, the hotel will do nothing in this respect.
Other hotels in this area actually leaves a note on reserved sunbeds that if they are not in use in i.e. 45 mins the towels will be removed – this policy is seen at Alcudia Pins and Viva Bahia. It is really a bad thing that the hotels does nothing here – and I am sure this disturbs many holiday makers. As a consequence of this I was present every day at 7:30 and stays at our beds until breakfast, where I left for apx.30 minutes. The same applies to lunch. The reality is as follows at no time ever we saw at least 40-60 sundbeds not in use at any given time – but repeatedly people looking for places to stay (sunbeds) – it is unbelievable that the hotel does not do anything in this respect. Unless you like me are willingly ready to drop sleeping long hours in your holidays, and you want to be on sunbeds at the pool side – STAY AWAY from this facility. Maybe there is a reason for this- all other hotels in this area we have stayed at have a on duty Lifeguard that have an oversight of the sunbeds – But Playa Garden have no lifeguard ??? (although other hotels have less “complicated” pool areas).
We opted for all in inclusive and I have to praise the staff at the hotel for a very polite and attentative execution of their breakfast/lunch/dinner related functions. The food is in OK quality, but the variation is to0 little to endure 14 days here. Meat selection is to narrow. One time a week you can have dinner at either the Hotes own pizza outled GIORDANOS or at the BULL STEAKHOUSE – But beaware it is not the ala carte menu your are given, they have special ALL-INCL. menu, which is horrible (Bull Steakhouse). However you can just order from the standard menu and get a 50% discount.
Doing that you will enjoy your dinner and the quality of that. But if you belive you are like the paying guests at the Bull steakhouse your are lured.
I would think that many families would describe ALL INCL. at Play Garden As being top classe- it might be so. But for me and my family a part of being at holiday is also to source and find the dinner place for tomorrow, by having a given place to eat made us feel like being in a camp or prision allhough well fed are deemed to be present.
The hotel offers free wifi in all rooms, but the speed offered is very slow, I do simply not understand why a higher speed is not available – Spain has a good and solid infrastructure, the speed available is slower than you can buy anywhere in the world.
The hotel is visited by a multitude of nationalties, germans are the dominant, which causes that staff both service and entertainment staff would address you first in german. Germans are good tourists, we enjoyed that there were not many brits. I have nothing against brits – however when they are in larger groups, they tend to become noisy in swimmingpools and often they play games (with a ball) that would bar others to use the pool at all or safely.
I would recommend anybody to go to Play Garden, we had a good holiday – but the hotel should improve and care for their guest in the pool area and enforce the “no reservation policy”

Room Tip: Book a room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lars_Krull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    207
    83
    25
    16
See reviews for
396
95
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked 11 nights all-inclusive (17 May - 28 May 2013) in a premium apartment. When we arrived, we requested a room change because our apartment was located on the ground floor and we preferred either a room on either the 2nd or 3rd floor. The reception staff, particularly Joyce and Claudia, were very friendly and accommodating and we received a new room within a couple days when another room became available.

We have booked all-inclusive in other 4-star vacation locations, but by far the dining experience at the Playa Gardens has topped the list. They offer a wide selection of delicious dishes. We were never bored because the options varied. The dining room staff were all very friendly, personable and efficient!

The Garden Experience entertainment team IS TOPS!!!! Samantha (team leader) and Jose are true motivators and fantastic entertainers and can encourage even the most introvert to participate in activities. All members of team were absolutely wonderful, and there is no doubt they all love what they do! Activities for guests (adults and children) varied daily. The evening shows (mostly excerpts from musicals) were professionally performed by fantastic vocalists. The entertainment team lead all activities in German, English and Spanish. We've never experience this at other hotels. Each member of the entertainment team was fluent in at least 3 or more languages. This is a plus for making all guests to feel comfortable and welcomed. THANK YOU Garden Experience Team for a memorable time!

The hotel facility and landscaping are well maintained. I really liked the spacious apartment style floor plan with kitchenette, living room and bedroom areas. The furnishings were stylish; the beds and pillows were comfortable and fresh ( I absolutely hate flat pillows).

The hotel is located directly on the beach and beach chairs are available without costs. The weather this year was a little cool (high 60s to low 70s Fahrenheit) so there wasn't the big rush to get a chair on the beach or at the hotel swimming pool.

Our stay at the Playa Gardens is one of our most memorable of vacations. It is a hotel that caters to couples and families with small to teenaged children. We're glad to have chosen this facility to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary! We have already decided to return next year!
R. and J. Kausch

Room Tip: The ocean cannot be seen from all buildings in the complex. So request an apartment on the 2nd or 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nice sized rooms, good facilities, lovely beach (although access not suitable for all) and an excellent restaurant. We stayed all-inclusive for a week and never got bored with the variety. Staff generally friendly apart from reception who could be a little sharp. Entertainment was also good if a little bit unusual at times!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

except the receptionists ,everything its very good. the food is very various, very clean

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mihaimisu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Booked in January 2011 for an August holiday for 14 nights. Paid in full in May 2011, only to receive an email from the booking agents to say the Playa Garden is overbooked. How come it takes them 4 months to decide they are overbooked and surely there were other bookings made after us in January?!!! Garden Group offered alternative accomodation (as they were required to under the booking agent's T&C) however it was located 43km away in a resort which we definitely didn't want to stay in. No offer to assist us in getting alternative accomodation in Playa de Muro and certainly no form of compensation. Total disappointment as the whole family were looking forward to re-living a holiday taken there in 2009. Booking company obtained full refund however the Garden Hotel Group have lost our future business and that of all of our friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
7 Thank Audrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Finally, I am getting around to writing a review for this hotel / resort. First a little background: We booked two weeks at the Playa Garden upon recommendation from my German brother-in-law who had stayed here with his family the previous year. Since we were travelling from San Francisco, making the dollar to euro exchange ridiculous, we decided to book all-inclusive which I’ll never do again, but more on that later. We arrived at the Playa Garden completely exhausted. Our baggage never made it on the plane from Barcelona but thankfully my lovely wife remembered to pack an extra pair of shorts in her carry on. After arriving, all I wanted was a cold beer and place to finally relax. Our room was not ready so we were instructed to go to the lunch pavilion near the pool. We headed over checking out the property and amenities. All appeared to be very nice until we reached the pavilion. Shimmering in the mid-day heat was a full on feeding frenzy. Germans were packed upon each other as they jostled for position in the food line. My wife slumps in despair and says, "I'm going to kill my brother."

As we got into "vacation mode", we became accustomed to how things work. Our assigned room was nice but it was not what we were promised. We went to the desk and request a room change. The desk told us no problem tomorrow we’d be able to move to the ocean side room. The next day we went to the front desk and after 20 minutes of waiting to get out new room, we were told that it was not available. As we were turning to walk out, we overheard the desk manager give the promised room to someone just checking in. We were furious. Apparently, they favor the Spanish customer over anyone else. We decided not to let this ruin our vacation.

As I mentioned before, we book all-inclusive. While it was nice to help yourself to a beer or bottle of wine anytime you desired, the food and the food servers grew tiresome. Breakfast was fine as you had many choices and I only really eat yogurt with muesli. Lunch and dinner were not very good and lacked variety. Every night they set out the same sides that dried up under the heat lamps. Also, don’t even consider being too late as the staff beings putting things away as you are trying to put something onto your plate. I will admit that most would consider us to be food snobs from San Francisco but come on, I would have loved some authentic Spanish cuisine and not the greasy paella they put out every night. After three days of eating all-inclusive, we started adventuring out by bus during the day to experience the “real” Mallorca which was very nice and we found some outstanding places in small villages away from the Playa Garden madness.

The next part of the experience that we found incredibly disturbing was every night around 12:30, an incredible stench would waft into our room. I began to hypothesize that the hotel and others around it were pumping their sewage directly into the sea. The pool was not much better. After two weeks, I never saw a pool guy come and clean the sand and film from the pool.

While out two weeks at Playa Garden weren’t horrible, I will definitely never go back. We discovered a wonderful hotel on the other side of the island in Puerto Soller which was more than half the price, had a very clean pool, incredible views, and was close to many amenities and lovely small towns. I only wish I had more time to spend in Puerto Soller instead of Playa de Muro which was an expense and hard lesson learned. .

Room Tip: Insist on getting what you paid for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank OceanView_415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prievidza, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Hotel ponuka sluzby postacujuce na stravenie peknej dovolenky v prijemnom prostredi. V zahrade hotela a pri bazenoch sa clovek citi dobre, nikde a s nikym sa netlaci. Na zahradu nadvazujuca plaz ja velmi pekna s krasnym morom a teplou vodou, vhodnou na kupanie sa deti. Ale svoje miesto si tam najdu aj dospely ludia. O plaz bolo starane kazdodenne. Velmi by som vyzdvihol tunajsie stravovanie!!! Neviem si spomenut, ci bolo vobec dna, ze by som si nevedel vybrat, snad mozno iba v takom pripade, ze sme nevedeli co skor jest!!! Co nam asi najviac vadilo bolo samotne ubytovanie. Izby apartmanoveho typu su velkostou postacujuce, ale chcelo by to kompletne zrekonstruovat a zmodernizovat. Bolo na nich vidno, ze uz maju cosi za sebou. Pri celkovom hodnoteni by ale zvitazili hodnoty perfektnej stravy, ochota personalu, prijemneho prostredia nad skromnejsim ubytovanim.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank morgen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de Muro hotels
1.2 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,058 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.2 mi away
Zafiro Bahia
Zafiro Bahia
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,016 reviews
1.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa

Property: Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa
Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia Km 25.9, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa de Muro
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#24 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Playa Garden Hotel & Spa stands out for being one of the most complete and welcoming hotels in Playa de Muro: an authentic spa hotel in Majorca ideal for combining rest, quietness and good gastronomy with sports, parties and activities for children. It is the most exclusive proposal of Garden Hotels for your holidays in Majorca: a hotel with 4-star services, personalised attention and the best quality price ratio. Our spa hotel in Playa de Muro is located at the seafront, in a privileged setting near S'Albufera Natural Park. It has incredible views to the Mediterranean, well-cared gardens and equipped terraces with design furniture. It is the ideal place for resting and getting away from it all admiring the natural beauty of the north of Majorca. It features the most varied accommodations: from double standard rooms to exclusive suites, including modern apartments with views to the sea or to the garden. All of them are perfectly equipped with services specially designed for your comfort and rest at the shores of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel And Spa Playa Garden
Aparthotel & Spa Playa Garden Hotel Playa De Muro
Aparthotel Hotel Playa Garden
Aparthotel Hotel Playa De Muro
Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing