We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for Self Catering” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prinsotel La Dorada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prinsotel La Dorada
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Not for Self Catering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Myself Partner and 2 kids aged 10 and 2 stayed here for 2 weeks. Overall the hotel was fabulous! Rooms cleaned everyday, towels changed everyday and beds twice per week! Pool area beautiful and the entertainment staff were amazing! Involving the adults too on some occasions. We were s/c but to be honest there weren't enough restaurants in the area to choose from and as we were staying for 2 weeks this was a problem. We found that if you take a taxi to Can Picafort there are more of a selection and also to the Port but the cost of €10 there and back made our holiday quite expensive. Shop around with the local spar shops as the price varies depending on what you buy?!!. Take mosquito repellant as we eaten alive! Overall fab holiday, cannot fault the Hotel at all just not the best area for self catering!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy7611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks to choose for your holidays Prinsotel La Dorada.
We hope you enjoyed your holidays.
It will be a pleasure if you come back again with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    313
    63
    22
    6
See reviews for
712
120
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

myself husband and two sons ( 17 and 19 ) stayed here for one week at the end of August, we all enjoyed our stay at la Dorada, myself and husband would definatly return again as for my sons it was their last holiday with us ( thankgod ) so I could not say for them, our room was cleaned every day the cleaners were very polite and would say hello, the pools are very nice lots of sun beds so no hassle of getting the 4 we needed, we had lunch at the pool bar 3 times and enjoyed all 3 meals average spend was 35 euros for 4 meals and 4 drinks, we would go out on the evening to eat a couple of times in play de muro other nights we would get the bus into Alcudia port or can picafort both 1.50 euros per person again food we had was all good, in all we had a very good holiday and would definatly use la dorada as a place to stay at again..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hallinhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks a lot for your opinion.
I hope you enjoyed your holidays with us and I hope also to see you again in a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a really lovely holiday here travelling with our two children aged 10 and 8. We were self catering and had a 'Select' room in block 3 overlooking the nature reserve which had stunning views (apart from the power station which I told the kids was the chocolate factory!). A 'select' room includes pool towels (which you can change every day), remotes for the two huge TV's, one in main room and one in the bedroom, some reviews have said they had to pay for the remote if they didn't have a select room. We also had a playstation and could borrow games from reception at no charge, and was given a pass to use for a 30 minute hydrotherapy circuit in the hotel spa, which I must admit I didn't use (just didn't fancy it!). Slippers and dressing gowns and sweets were placed on the beds in the main bedroom, and the fridge was filled with complimentary soft drinks, water, chocolates and a couple of bottles of San Miguel.
The room was cleaned every day, and given fresh towels, and bedding changed every three or four days. The whole complex is spotlessly clean, all of the pool area, paths etc are mopped down every day. The pool area is fantastic for children of all ages with varying depths across the 5 or so inter-linked pools. The Animacion team work extremely hard and mae everyone feel really welcome. They have a programme of entertainment aimed and smaller children 4-9 (froggy club/mini club) they do all kinds of activities including different themed days and have two sessions each day in the club house as well as pool activities in between. The maxi club is for 9-14 year olds and includes soccer, water polo, darts, archery, shooting and again other activities in between in the pool. Evening entertainment includes a mini disco from 8.45 with Spanish songs that are quite addictive after a while! Then at around 9.45 there are various shows, we saw a parrott show, snake show, a Gary Barlow/Michael Buble tribute, and a couple of fantastic African & Polynesian dance/gymnastic shows. Prices in the bar were (Euros) 2.60 for a small bottle of wine, (couldn't get a normal sized bottle of wine in the main bar), 6.10 for a 1/2 litre of Sangria, 3 for a glass of beer, and about 2.60 for Fanta/coke.
We didn't eat in the on-site restaurant simply because we like to go for a wander and find our own places to eat but heard lots of good reports. Matias Restaurant just around the corner was very good value and good food, especially the salads and pizzas, and a large, very cold Estrella Damm lager just 2.50 euros. But our favourite had to be Topo Gigio, http://www.restaurantetopogigio.com/ the food is really good, the staff cant do enough and if like my kids they get sick of everything with chips, they will do anything on the adult menu for the kids, on average a meal for 4 (my 10 yr old generally has an adult meal) with wine, soft drinks and deserts would cost between 65 and 80 euros).
We visited Can Picafort and Port de Alcudia an the market in Alcudia, all worth a visit, travelling on the bus it was 6 euros for four of us one way. Visiting the quay in Port de Alcudia, and the many tapas restaurants are fantastic.
The local beach is really lovely and clean with lifeguards on duty all the time. 10.65 for two sunbeds and a thatched sun shade. Beach bars a little further up the beach (Yolanda's was particularly good) with lunch menus for four for around 20-25 euros including a couple of large beers.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this to families who just want to get away from it all and relax and would go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kindly opinion.
It´s nice you enjoyedyour holidays.
It would be nicer if you decide to come back once to Prinsotel La Dorada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Arrived early on a Sunday afternoon for a 2 week break, asked for a safe key, told later. On the fourth occasion advised was unable to give a key until at least the following day when a guest checked out, they could possible reserve us one. Just told sorry, no alternatives offered eg' hotel safe. This meant we had to carry all our valuables around with us and could not leave the hotel grounds. When we went to the bar, were advised unable to get food, as had not prebooked. We lost out on the evening and it started the holiday on a sour note. We never had this trouble before. Not good enough for a 4 start superior hotel. Should be a key for each of the rooms

The following day we did get a safe, but were still charged the full 2 weeks money.

On the positive side, there were always plenty of sun loungers, though the same people also took the same big beds. The grounds kept very clean. Hotel supermarket very reasonable and the bar snack food very good.

Good clean beach nearby.

Air conditioning not good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I´m so sorry about the inconvenience you had with the safe key.
About the air conditioning you should have informed to the reception and we would have helped you as quick as possible.
Anyway I hope you enjoyed your holidays in Alcudia-Mallorca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Yet another fantastic holiday at the Prinsotel La Doarda. This was our fourth time at this hotel and still had a really enjoyable holiday. Cannot fault this hotel at all. Exceptionally clean, maid service every day, all staff extremely polite. Brilliant pools, lots os sunbeds. Just another fantastic holiday and planning to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenC789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for your opinion and it´s nice you enjoyed your holidays in Prinsotel La Dorada.
We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is nice and clean. Near the beach and full of activitys.
We were there for 3 days and we were vry pleased by the service.

I suggest you take the meal deal cause there's not much good restaurants around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for your opinion.
We like our guests are glad with us and it´s nice to know you enjoyed.
We hope to see you back next year again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have just returned form a week in Mallorca.
We had a great time as a family with a three year old.
The hotel is completely family orientated and it has a very relaxed atmosphere. It is full of children running, smiling, playing but it does not feel crowed or noisy: just a nice family hotel.
The hotel is spotless and. Staff is very polite and works extremely hard to make sure everyone has great time.
The restaurant is great with a wide variety of foods.
The grounds and swimming pools are very well kept.
The rooms are very clean and practical - not very fancy but have all you need to have a comfortable time.
The animation team is great - always smiling.
The beach is 5 minutes walking and it is very safe for children.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for those who want to have a relaxed and happy family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EM_sooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prinsotel187463, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Prinsotel La Dorada, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks a lot for your opinion.
It´s nice you enjoyed your holidays in Prinsotel.
We would like to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
0.1 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#3 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Viva Bahia
Hotel Viva Bahia
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
Hotel Apartamentos Ivory Playa
#5 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsotel La Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsotel La Dorada

Property: Prinsotel La Dorada
Address: Crta. Alcudia - Arta, km 5.5, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsotel La Dorada 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prinshotel La Dorada is next to Mallorca’s Albufera Nature Reserve, 200 metres from the beaches of Alcudia Bay. Set in lush gardens, it features a large outdoor pool, sauna and gym.All air-conditioned apartments have a private balcony and a lounge with a sofa bed and flat-screen TV. There is a private bathroom, and a kitchen area with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.The La Dorada complex has a sun terrace with loungers and parasols. There is a games room, and a court for playing tennis, basketball or volleyball. Daily evening entertainment is provided.There are 2 restaurants at the Prinsotel La Dorada, as well as a lounge bar and poolside bar.Prinsotel la Dorada has a 24-hour front desk, and Wi-Fi is offered for an additional charge. You can hire a car or bicycle from the tour desk, and free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prinsotel La Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsotel La Dorada Hotel Playa De Muro
Prinsotel Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing