We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I thought every one should know”
Review of Eix Lagotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eix Lagotel
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is for ALL TRAVELLERS WHO USE LOW COST HOLIDAYS COMPANY PLEASE PLEASE READ THIS
CAA statement on Lowcostholidays, 27/01/2014

The CAA has spoken to Lowcostholidays about what it considers to be breaches of the Consumer Protection Regulations on its Lowcostholidays Spain website, which is aimed at consumers in the UK. The company has willingly engaged in discussion regarding amendments the CAA would like to see. The CAA will confirm details once it considers the website to be compliant.

The CAA’s concerns about the Lowcostholidays move to Spain remain focused upon the position of consumers. Even if the company amends its site to meet the Consumer Protection Regulations, the CAA still believes that consumers who consider booking with Lowcostholidays must be able to make an informed choice between the financial protection provided by the ATOL scheme and that provided by the arrangements under a Balearic Islands licence.

The CAA published details of the Balearic Islands scheme and a comparison with ATOL on its website in December. The details published have not been challenged by the Balearic authorities and so the CAA concludes that they are broadly accurate.

The CAA has already stated that in its view the Balearic scheme provides little protection for UK customers.

In respect of repatriation, the consumer is required to make their own arrangements and claim back their expenditure after they have returned from the holiday. Under ATOL, repatriation is a key part of the scheme, because it not only looks after customers at a critical moment and allows them to complete their holiday, but will seek to minimise expenditure by co-ordinating the parties involved.

With regard to refunds, the CAA understands that the Balearic scheme has required Lowcostholidays ES to put up only a Euro 63K bond and that there is no further funding for refunds. The CAA believes this small fund will mean that in the event of a failure customers would get only a very limited payout, or nothing as under their last ATOL, Lowcostholidays was looking to carry more than 250,000 UK passengers per annum.

The CAA has received no new information on the Lowcostholidays ES protection arrangements, so unless there is evidence that the position has been improved, it will continue to provide information to the UK public about the shortfall in protection under the Balearic scheme and others where it becomes aware that non-UK based companies are aiming their holiday sales at the UK market. The CAA is not saying that consumers should not book, but before they do so they should be aware of the differences between the protection systems so they can make an informed choice.

This is so important every one should know about this

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank stekane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,298 - 1,304 of 2,305 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

its been a few months since returning from the Lagotel and am just getting around to writing the review due to being unsure as to how to put my thoughts across, firstly, it isnt all bad, in fact potentially it could be quite good, if only the hotel management tried to ensure all guests could be catered for, and not just those with hoardes of children in tow. Not to sound too harsh, but this hotel comes in at an agreeable price point to suit most young families, however this comes with its downside, as the parents land and get on the beer, they just wind up the kids and let them loose, to create as much carnage as possible, i like kids, but well controlled ones are far more agreeable than the mini terrorists at this hotel!
The food was acceptable and generally choices of chips, stew, and salad dishes could be found,during the day however the poolside offerings where usually burgers, hotdogs, chips, nuggets, and bread cakes, which is fine, but they werent kept hot, and if not eaten could be in place all day. the restaurant could be split in to two, one for families with kids, and the other for adults who just want a quiet meal, we went out most nights, as it was like a scene from st trinians in there most evenings.
Evening entertainment was low key and consisted of the hotel reps doing bingo, and acts such as jugglers and xbox games where evident, drinks where of a reasonable quality for the price paid, but feel snacks could have been included in the ai offering such as crisps or nuts etc.
this hotel really could do much better for itself, it has two pools, one of which could easily be made adult only, two sides to the restaurant which could equally be split, and possibly better snack options during the day (however to be fair they could have been winding up the hotel for the season as it was to close the following week to our stay)
location is set back from the main resort with around a 15 minute walk to the main road where there was a selection of bars and restaurants, and the port is around a 10 minute bus ride to get to from there.
all together if you want a base to stay in and have lots of kids, i reckon the ratio was around 3 kids to 1 adult, and dont mind a hassled eating arrangement, this could be for you, if you are a nightlife lover ,or in a couple wanting an all round gettaway, probably choose not only another hotel, but another resort, as this offers little to tick all your boxes in that regard.
i wont score it as poor, as it undoubtedly has its place for some!

Room Tip: go high if you dont want alot of noise, as the stage is underneath the pool view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ajgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricardeix, e-comerce at Eix Lagotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Hola
Thanks for your stay and for your helpful review.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Lagotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the lago, the kids clubs are excellent, food very good and a bonus a snack bar around pool area serving hot dogs, burgers, chicken nuggets, chips, salald, pasta and fruit, also the bar area is self service which is great no queing at the bar, only for sprirts. Mozi's are a problem but take lots of stuff to accommodate this. The pool run is another problem, but it doesnt spoil your holiday. Location of the hotel is about 5 mins drive from centre where you will find lots of shops, bars etc and also the beach which is out of this world.

Room Tip: one bed apartments are very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Louise656899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricardeix, e-commerce at Eix Lagotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Hola
Muchas gracias. Happy guests makes us happy.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Lagotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

once again me and my wife spent a wonderful two week in the Lagotel in September of last year. I have still to find fault in the hotel in any way.THERE IS NO FAULTS. In fact we have already booked for this year and so looking forward to going back to my place or rest and relaxation. I know that I have already wrote two reviews on the lag. Once again I have no complaints but lots of complements for the lagotel.
The staff are as always fantastic, in all aspects of the hotel and of course lets not forget Fabio, and his team.
I will be returning in August this year and so looking forward to it.
Tony and Annie

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tony554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricardeix, e-commerce at Eix Lagotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Hola
Thanks for your different stays in Lagotel, for your new reservation and for your nice review.
This summer you will see the thifference in the new Double rooms.
See you in August
Best regards
Lagotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

when i got of the bus and went into the reception area the receptionist were very welcoming the food was OK. there was lots to choose from. The pools were fun for the kids . the beach was nice but a bit pebbly. The drinks at the hotel were very nice the hotel rooms were basic but clean. i would recommend this for family's and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricardeix, e-commerce at Eix Lagotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Hola
Thanks for your stay and your review.
We are currently renewing al the romos. Next season they will all look much nicer.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Lagotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Make sure you take bug repellent. Good pools. Wifi ok. Thomson reps lower then average and are hardly ever there, not very sympathetic when your excursion bus doesn't turn up. Rooms ok. Food ok. Drinks ok. Nice beach. Be careful of the jellyfish. I swam to the line at playa de muro and my husband saw jellyfish swimming around me. There were no jellyfish warnings at the time. Shuttle bus is great. Hotel wasn't too busy. We went September 2013

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sweetpotato25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked last minute and the three of us ( my boy is 6 ) looked forward to our first all inclusive holiday. Paying £500 each we weren't expecting luxury and being a 3 star + we expected a little bit more to be honest. Don't get me wrong everything is ok but badly needs refurbishment. It's a big complex especially when you consider across the road there is 2 more pools and numerous sports courts etc. We stayed in room 735 overlooking the stage area and although loud at times it never bothered us too much. But it's when the bar shuts at 12 you can get some rowdiness especially when certain people get another half a dozen beers so they're still outside supping until 2-3 in the morning. One such night a drunken underage boy assaulted a pregnant lady. To be fair the police soon sorted it out. Upon talking to various members of staff they much said the same thing which was 2013 was a difficult season as it was under new management and also several incidents of violence took place. Who caused it I hear you ask. THE BRITS. The management can't stop idiots booking. Plus points were the food in the restaurant the pools and entertainment. Fabian was excellent. Bad points were the poolside snack bar where the food was poor and same every day and the BRITS. Some families just let their kids run riot up and down the corridors at night. And being near nature reserves and lake you will undoubtedly get bitten by the mozzies.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
7  Thank Dusty5471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricardeix, e-commerce at Eix Lagotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Hola
Thanks for your stay in our hotel and for your helpful review.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Lagotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
31.0 mi away
Apartamentos Cala d'Or Playa
0.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sol Alcudia Center by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.2 mi away
Sol Guadalupe by Melia
0.4 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#5 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,360 reviews
31.8 mi away
Blau Privilege PortoPetro Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eix Lagotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eix Lagotel

Address: Circuit del Llac s/n | Urbanizacion las Gaviotas, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa de Muro
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range: $58 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eix Lagotel 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A complex comprising hotel and apartments in the Platja de Muro, situated next to the natural park of s’Albufera. The park is formed by grassy areas, dunes and salt marshes and is of great ornithological and scenic value, and is surrounded by two gardens of approximately 200m² each with a lake and jetty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eix Lagotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagotel Hotel Playa De Muro
Lagotel Alcudia
Lagotel Majorca
Eix Lagotel Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing