We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Viva Blue & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Viva Blue & Spa
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We have just come back from the Viva Blue hotel it has very pretty gardens and a lovely pool area we read all the reviews before we went as we have a 14 year old that likes to be kept busy and sure enough there was something going on every hour ,Football volley ball table tennis etc most of the guests were Swedish or German with a hand full of English.They have a lovely chill out area for over eighteens with about 23 doublebeds and a lovely pool which was where we went when our son was busy with football etc.The food and drinks were very good if I had to be pickey might have been nice to have jacket potatoes sometimes..
The not so good things was the beds were really hard but the apartments are big with two big wardrobes so plenty of storage space.
The evening entertainment was very poor and on two nights we were there it stopped at ten oclock and the waiters started clearing tables away which was really disappointing and most people then got up and left the other nights it stopped at eleven and the bar closes at eleven thirty which is fine but still the waiters were clearing the tables and grabbing glasses as soon as you put them down which was very off putting and made you feel like you had to leave.Apart from the early nights we had a great time at a lovely hotel that does great entertainment during the day and is great for families with small children,

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valentinMallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
There are newer reviews for Viva Blue & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2010

The complex itself is well laid out and heaven for children. Unlike other places we have stayed, the pools are large enough to fit everybody and we never had trouble finding a sunbed or feeling over-crowded in the pool. The staff were friendly and hard working - particularly the entertainment staff who seemed to be on the go all day. The buffet option for breakfast and dinner were surprisingly good and there was always a vast range of things to choose from. We had gone self-catering but often bought a ticket to the buffet dinner as it was tasty!

The only downside for us was the area. Playa de Muro seems a bit sorry for itself and there are a lot of closed units. It's not a pretty place but it's nicer than Port d'Alcudia just up the road. The restaurants in the area weren't that great and the best place we found to eat was part of a Tex-Mex chain. This is the reason we actually ended up eating at the complex - it was really good value for money. The beach is lovely and only a five minute walk away. The sand shelves slowly out to sea so you can wade/paddle quite far out. Sea is crystal clear and the bottom is only sand - no seaweed, no pebbles, no nasties.

In short, great for families, not so much for couples. We felt safe and our toddler had an absolute ball.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ziggy1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I have just returned from a week's stay at this hotel. I have been lucky enough to stay at some top 5-star hotels around the world, and whereas this was not as plush, I have to say I was very impressed with the facilities for the price we paid.
We travelled late April/early May and paid €60 a night for a priviledge room. The room was clean and spacious. The hotel itself was nicely landscaped and had several pools. As we travelled with young children, we spent most of our time at the kidies pool which had a large pirate ship with slides. My two had great fun here.
There was also a kiddies club and entertainment for children and adults in the evening. Ok, it was not spectactular but the children enjoyed it.
We were very lucky with the weather and also spent a couple of afternoons on the beach which was lovely and close by.
I would recommend this hotel for parents of children under 5 and if you go off season I think you would get a good value for money holiday.
One final point. There were no English or Irish guests (I am Irish) at this hotel, mainly german and scandanavian. This was not an issue for us, but may be for others so I have mentioned it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DuffManDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

The hotel is located a short distance from Alcudia in Playa de Muro. The area had a more upmarket feel than its neighbour. The hotel reception is bright and modern and on arrival we were quickly checked in. All staff were friendly and polite.

We booked a Royal suite room with rooftop Jacuzzi and sun terrace. The room was well finished and a good size complete with kitchen.

All-inclusive dining at the hotel consisted of buffet breakfast, waiter service lunch in the bar area and buffet dinner. Generally speaking the food was good quality, although repetitive and towards the end of the stay we were getting a little bored of the food options.

There is a good activity area for children with bouncy castle, swings, trampoline, arcade games and pirate ship as well as a wide range of activities provided at the kids club. Evening entertainment was mainly football matches, which suited our son, and inhouse shows, which weren't the best I've seen.

All in all we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EuroTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

The beds are firm and some of the furniture in the rooms needs updating. The entertainment is poor but it was at the start of the season and may improve.
However, everything else was fantastic. Went all inclusive. The food is varied and plenty of it. Something for everyone. The drinks are again varied and as much as you want. The reception , restaurant and bar staff are second to none, looking after your every need. I never go back to the same place twice but would break that rule for this place. It was just great.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank x-entricity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Just spent 8 days at viva blue great hotel very very clean excellent staff only thing that i didn't like or if i was to go back i would go bed and breakfast. The breakfast was very good the pool side restaurant was also very good. I found the evening buffet although very good not to my taste a lot of veal and fish, i would have preferred the ale carte restaurant with the choice of steaks and kebabs this is not included in your all in deal or have eaten outside for a change of scenery . The pools were fab no bother getting sun loungers great place for children the entertainment staff where flat out all day and night keeping every body happy also the over 18 pool was just bliss the beech is just 5 mins walk the area around hotel is quite not overly busy this a very family orientated hotel not so many British guests so if u want company go with a couple family's and u will not go wrong or if the viva hotel chain is like this i would not hesitate to back

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We have just returned from our 4th holiday at the Viva Blue hotel and had another fantastic time there. Why do we go back? The other guests are very friendly (mainly Scandinavian, although there a few few returning Brit's - Hi the Bristol gang)), the facilities in the hotel are first class, the staff are great - all very friendly and good with the kids, the entertainment staff a brilliant (Hi Simon and the gang), overall there is nothing that we can fault.
Eating outside the hotel, which buy the way serves great food, the buffet being very good and reasonable, there are a few restaurants, the best being Topo Gigio's & Boy. Not much else to do in the resort, although the beach is good, but if you want too you can catch a taxi or bus into the much (much) busier Alcudia. See you all again next year (we hope).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitty0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
0.1 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,080 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#4 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
4.1 mi away
PortBlue Club Pollentia Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#3 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Blue & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Blue & Spa

Address: Passeig de Bateman, s/n, 07408 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa de Muro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range: $67 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Blue & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shopping district, just 200 m from Playa de Muro’s magnificent beach, and close to the S’Albufera Natural Park, Viva Blue is the perfect base for a fabulous family or couples’ holiday in the north of Majorca. It is ideal for families with children as it offers a complete array of amenities: swimming pool with water games and Pirate Boat, and an exciting entertainment program, including activities and dancing in the mini-disco. Couples, meanwhile, can enjoy an exclusive getaway and relax in the harmony of our elegant chill-out pool. It comprises facilities which are perfectly adapted for sports lovers and particularly suitable for triathletes. It includes a heated 25-metre outdoor pool, with 6 2-metre lanes. It also boasts a fully equipped gym And a fully equipped, new store/repair shop for cyclists makes it great for sports lovers too. Moreover, the hotel organises excursions with a guide. Our Balneum Spa & Wellness Center offer an even wider range of services to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viva Blue & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Blue Hotel Playa De Muro
Viva Blue Playa De Muro
Viva Blue & Spa Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing