We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vivatastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Blue & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viva Blue & Spa
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Vivatastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is one of the cleanisest places I've ever stayed in. The pool areas are spotless and well presented. Staff are very friendly and the buffet and bar food are very nice with lots of choice. I went with my other half (both in our eary 20s) and this is a good place to relax as a couple, using the adult pool section which is lovely and peaceful. Lots of toddlers in the early part of September and I mean a lot! If you can put up with lots of kids screaming then your ok but be aware! The training pool is great if your a keen swimmer like myself, at an extra 3.50 euro per hour I thought this was reasonable as it keeps the riff raff out and you can have a very decent swim. Just ask for your ticket from reception and you have to show it to the life guard on duty at the time. We went breakfast only but had dinner in the hotel every night but one. The surrounding area is awful and looks like something out of the 80s (there all a bit behind out there!) and most restaurants look average and menus are standard. We went into Alcudia port a few times but not that much better there either. You can't go wrong with all inclusive at Viva Blue and we so wish we did. The only thing that did niggle me was the charge of 16.50 euro for the safe use, I've never had to pay for a safe before and I have travelled a fair bit in the past. Also, bring your insect repellant, I'm still itching with bites a week after returning, there a bit bitey.

Have fun.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyRetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    262
    54
    9
    4
See reviews for
648
104
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is clean, spacious and has a variety of pools and recreational areas for kids and adults alike. The olympic pool and the "adult - pool" are great areas for getting away for a small break from the noise that surronds the kids - area.

We lived in a superior de lux - apartement with a terrace with bubble bath and sunbeds, and, although expensive, the cool afternoon wind and privacy was definetly worth the money. The cleaning was also superb!

If you get a room facing the pool - area, like we did, you should be aware that there is a lot of noise from the nightshows - they keep it going until around 10 pm. For 6 nights straight, they were worshipping PSY and Gangam Style like it was the last night on earth (and it alomst felt like that for us).

All in all, it was a great stay (the kids actually like PSY - go figure(!), ant the staff was freindly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Øyvind P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Viva Blue & would highly recommend it. The hotel is very clean, the staff are the nicest we have experienced in a hotel & the food was great. We really liked the option of having the buffet restaurant, extensive pool bar menu & tex mex restaurant at lunch time. The buffet restaurant had something for everyone at dinner.
The children loved the hotel & they were well catered for with the pirate ship, mini club, bouncy castle & playground.
The evening entertainment wasn't brilliant but then they never are in our experience of all inclusive hotels so we didn't have high expectations.
Our only criticism is that the walls are very thin & we could hear a lot of noise. Our room was on the ground floor, next to the stair well so that probably didn't help!
Overall, we had a great time & we would return to Viva Blue without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoppy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the last night of our fifth stay at a Viva hotel, three of these being at the Viva Blue. Hotel is spotlessly clean wih staff contstantly cleaning both inside and out throughout the day. We stayed room only, but ate most days in the hotel. The buffet is good with plenty of choice and food freshly cooked. The a la carte restaurant was good value compared to other local restaurants and of a good standard.
The swimming pools must be he cleanest i have seen. The sunbeds are new this year and are very good with plenty to go around. The adult only pool is a great haven, however with kids the chance to appreciate it was limited.
The entertainment team worked hard, although the sports on offer were a bit of a let down compared to other stays due to building of the 25m pool on the multi sports pitch. Roberto and Sara seemed to be the hardest working and friendliest.
Evening entertainment was ok with visiting Viva teams putting on different shows.
The biggest star of the evening was the waiter, Jose. He worked tirelessly, and was by far the most efficient and friendliest of all the waiters. Shame all of the waiters were not as friendly as Jose. This was made more apparent on his day off when the service seemed more like fawlty towers as the waiter was clueless.
We had an issue with the air con on the first day, however this was dealt with very well by the manager.
Overall I cannot fault the hotel or staff. If i had any critisism i would say the rooms, especially the bathrooms are getting ready for a refresh. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Try for block 1,2 or 3 as block 4 has restricted views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Alloa,Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed 6th to 13th July ,in a wheelchair friendly room .Great holiday, staff friendly. Read reviews about mosquitoes, noise etc, not a problem. Food great, very clean. Very good holiday. Stayed all inclusive, well worth it.

Room Tip: Stayed in block 4 with pool view, very handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our family holiday at the Viva Blue. The service was really excellent, with staff always smiling and ready to help/serve. We stayed in the first half of July, and the hotel was full of uber-fit Scandinavians (they really incentivized me to get fit!). The room was always very clean, nothing to say there. We initially thought we would be self-catering, but soon found out that the "kitchen" was quite useless (too small) and there was only a tiny table for 3 (while we were 4). So we took up half board and were positively surprised by the quality of the buffets. The food was actually quite good, easily beating the tourist restaurants nearby that we tested the first couple of days.

Now for the really annoying thing: noise! The buildings are built on 3 floors with an open atrium in the center. That makes them very luminous, but at the same time, you hear all the noises in the hallway from everybody on all floors. The strongest noises are from people slamming doors, which resonates through the whole building. Then there are people arriving very late (like after midnight), or leaving very early (4:30, seriously!). As the floor is tiled, it transmits even the slightest suitcase wheel noise. To top this off, the first night while I was trying to get asleep, I was disturbed by snoring sounds, so I got up to check my kids in the living room, but it was actually the neighbor! The walls are razor thin, so if you have light sleep like me, be sure to take your earplugs!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Daniel1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for a week from 30th May to 6 June 2013. A family of 4; mum, dad, and two boys (aged 2 and 6). We stayed in a premium 1 bed apartment.

Room
The bedroom is light, airy and well kept. We asked for the bedroom to made up as a twin and put the boys in there, we slept on the pull out sofa bed. That was all done for our arrival. The bathroom is quite cramped (although the sink is in the ante room outside) with the unnecessary provision of a bidet. There's plenty of storage for clothes, suitcases, etc. in the bedroom and living room. The air con worked well, my wife found it a bit noisy at night.

The kitchen is a joke, there's nowhere to store food as all the cupboards and drawers have kitchen utensils in. As we were all-inclusive we never ate in the room and just used the fridge to store a bit of water, milk and juice in. The draining board stored a few snacks for late afternoon (after-pool, before tea) or early morning hungry children emergencies. Bizarrely there was washing up liquid and a tea-towel but no washing up brush / cloth for cleaning with.

What others say about noise is true, within reason. We were in the end room on the 2nd floor so only had neighbours on three sides (above, below and one side). The boys room abutted the neighbours on the second floor, and there was quite a bit of noise audible through the wall at times, luckily they sleep like logs and it never bothered them, we couldn't hear it in the living room. Noise from below was imperceptible, asumming there was anyone there. Noise from above was an issue - as others have said the sound of furniture moving about on tiles transmits well. One night about mid way through our stay some new people arrived above us at some time in the middle of the night (seriously about 3am) i could hear all their luggage being moved about (wheelie cases on tiles), someone seemed to be wearing 9 inch heels too. A couple of nights later i was treated to the sound of sobbing, then vomiting, children complete with the accompanying sounds of flushing toilets. To be fair, my wife slept through it, but I am not normally woken by noises in the night and this was noticeable. If you're a light sleeper or have mild insomnia this could be a big distraction.

The telly was also a waste of space, the only english channel is BBC World and the picture poor. We didn't have much cause to use it as there was so much else going on.

Food
We ate at the hotel for the whole week, except one lunch we ate out in Alcudia.

Overall i'd describe the food as fair. It was good value overall but none of it exceptional. There was always good variety, the evening buffet changed daily. The fruit was pretty poor - strawberries were either canned (yuk) or the one day real ones appeared they were already well past their best and quite battered. I sometimes had a bit of tinned pears and peaches, some of which were tough as old boots. The a la carte restaurant was ok - we ate there on our last night - i had the steak (rare) which was tough and chewy. Having never been all-inclusive before i guess it was as good as i hoped it would be but not great quality, but reasonable value.

Facilities
As others who were there around the same time, the swimming pools were not warm. They might have warmed up slightly by the end of our week as the weather was consistently sunny and 20C+, but it might just have been my imagination! The kids enjoyed the pools immensely and to be honest this was the main factor in choosing this hotel, and it did not disappoint.

The kids club was fairly 'free form' and it took our eldest a few days to get engaged but when he was he thoroughly enjoyed it. Yes the majority of other children seem to be german or scandinavian but I preferred it not being full of Brits abroad to be honest...

I tried reserving a bike through the Viva Cycling arrangement before i went, it all seemed to be set up fine but when the day came to collect it there was no sign of the bike or any staff. Reception tried to help but explained that the peak season was over and the cycling shop not open any more. It was very disappointing given they'd confirmed my bike reservation. Lucky for me there was a bike shop on the main drag that did me a good deal on a hire but the hotel failed to deliver on this front.

In some ways the bike hire experience was rather symptomatic of what i described as 'Hotel Manana' to my wife. Basically if you wanted to arrange anything (a spa treatment, hire a car, book into to the restaurant) etc. it was all ok but has to be done at 24hrs notice. With the car i just walked out the reception, around the corner and got a hire car in 10 minutes, but the hotel could do a bit more to offer things at less notice. My wife had a massage which, again, having been well pre-booked was good value but she paid the masseur direct, not the hotel. It just felt like many of the extras on offer weren't really part of what the hotel was about and it took some of the shine out of the package for me.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the evening entertainment kept the kids very happy and Bufo and Katty (the mascots) were bought and brought home with us. The all inclusive was good value but none of the food exceptional. Rooms were ok for the amount of time we spent in them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
1.4 mi away
Hotel Viva Bahia
Hotel Viva Bahia
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#3 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#4 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
3.5 mi away
Viva Can Picafort
Viva Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Blue & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Blue & Spa

Property: Viva Blue & Spa
Address: Passeig de Bateman, s/n, 07408 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Blue & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shopping district, just 200 m from Playa de Muro’s magnificent beach, and close to the S’Albufera Natural Park, Viva Blue is the perfect base for a fabulous family or couples’ holiday in the north of Majorca. It is ideal for families with children as it offers a complete array of amenities: swimming pool with water games and Pirate Boat, and an exciting entertainment program, including activities and dancing in the mini-disco. Couples, meanwhile, can enjoy an exclusive getaway and relax in the tranquility of our elegant chill-out pool. And a fully equipped, new store/repair shop for cyclists makes it great for sports lovers too. And for the hikers it is a place close to the spot where the most beautiful excursions of Mallorca begin. Moreover, the hotel organizes excursions with a guide. Above all, Viva Blue in Playa de Muro is the perfect location thanks to its comfortable and generous rooms, its delicious and varied dining options and its limitless opportunities to have fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Viva Blue & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Blue Hotel Playa De Muro
Viva Blue Playa De Muro
Viva Blue & Spa Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing