We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cockroach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grupotel Los Principes & Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We arrived very, very early and where offered a complimentary breakfast while waiting for our room to be ready. That was a nice touch.
Our suite (with 2 balconies) was clean and spacious (enough for 2 adults and a kid).
The sandy beach is a few steps away and very nice but we are quite spoiled when it comes to the sea and are used to the dark blue waters (the south of the Adriatic, for example) and this brownish one, full of seaweed, was not our thing. I'm sure most (normal) people will find it lovely!
There is a spa with an indoor pool where kids aren't allowed in, so we didn't check it out. There is, however, a small, covered, heated pool outside, which we used daily, because the other pool and the sea was still too cold (for us).
We found breakfast and dinner buffet plentiful and of good quality until we saw a cockroach in a bread basket.
The service was satisfactory and everyone was friendly.
The hotels is a good value for money and we would still recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea/pool view are exposed to the evening entertainment until 23:00.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nameless-cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
There are newer reviews for Grupotel Los Principes & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 432 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

The only downside to this hotel are the very hard beds and smallish rooms. Everything else is just great. Food is good but don't expect anything other than a very nice buffet with PLENTY of choice. Spa area is small but has interesting showers. The beach is just the best. The area around the hotel is typical Mallorca holiday resort but the behaviour of people is very good....even the English bar seems like a lot of harmless fun. Children will be safer on this beach than anywhere you can think of....but it does get very busy. We seem to be in the minority as English guests but the children all mix wonderfully. In Spring cyclists totally dominate the hotel.....but at least they are out of the hotel most of the day leaving the Spa to us ladies.

Room Tip: Sea view every time as rear view is pretty dismal.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debthereb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel on a half board basis & could not find fault, the staff were amazing, my 2 year old daughter especially enjoyed the daily mini disco. The food was excellent with plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank princessBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

enjoyed my stay at this hotel, would recommend it to every one visiting Mallorca. Close to the sea, but also nice pool facilities. Good restaurant, polite personel, quit area. Close to all facilities, and shopping areas. go for a visit to the caves, this place is really fantastic

Room Tip: choose one of the bungalows ;-)
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnetteA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel with a mixed review to match the changeable weather. After 2 hour delay sitting on plane at Gatwick, 1 hour to claim baggage at Palma and 1.5 hour transfer being 5/6 drop off when Thomson Platinum should be first( when mentioned this to the rep.offered 5euros each) did not arrive in best of moods only to be compounded by being allocated small, dingy sideroom with small balcony a view of rundown apartments with no direct sun am or pm. Requested change at reception met with bit of an attitude from one member of staff but it was eventually settled to our satisfaction. Beds are hard but excellent walk-in shower.Perfect location when the sun shines with ample sunbeds around pool and grass areas with direct access to great beach, soft sand, clear,warm, shallow water ideal for those with young children. Food fine, good variety and ample choice, Sunday morning smoked salmon and cava went down well !Entertainment was usual acts of varying quality but a few nuggets of talent. Bus trip to Alcudia Old Town and Port well worth it .All in all a good late season break but at this time of year you take a chance on the weather.

Room Tip: If you want sun on your balcony choose front of hotel overlooking sea/ pool/car park
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MOD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just returned from a lovely relaxing week between 6-13 Oct. The Hotel is very clean , staff very friendly. You are allocated a table for breakfast and evening meal which I thought was a good idea as you never had to wait to be allocated a table you are also gretted by the staff and manager. The food choice was excellent, it was never ending.
The hotel is well situated on the beach with a jetty, white sand and blue crystal sea. A couple of mins walk to a square for lunch - the best we found was Leon Rojo. The front road has a good bus service which you can reach can pica fort to porto pollensa.
The spa was really relaxing which we used on the only day that it rained.
Would go back to this hotel , well rated as 4 star.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCTCHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visited this hotel in September/October 2012 and experienced mixed weather (from hot sunshine to heavy rain and strong winds). The hotel is very well laid out and the staff are all very friendly and welcoming. The reception are is cool and very nicely appointed with marble floors and comfy couches to sit on and relax. There are toilets nearby (including a large disabled accessible one), together with the entrance to the dining room and the spa. There is also a small luggage storage room and shower for use on checkout. There are two lifts which are extremely small (my husband is in a wheelchair and we struggled to get in when he had the foot supports on it) and a nice curving staircase.

After a mix up with our request for a disabled accessible room (which they hadn't received) we were given a room on the first floor near the lift (strangely from the same request that they said they hadn't received!). The room was smallish with twin beds that were quite hard and with strange 'bolster-like' pillows. The bathroom was well equipped with bath, shower, and hair drier although the soap was in liquid form. There were also 'freebie' shower cap, comb, shoe cleaner and cotton buds. There were no coffee/tea making facilities although it was possible to borrow one from reception at the cost of a (refundable) deposit of 10 euros. Coffee cups could also be borrowed from the dining room and milk purchased at one of the ubiquitous nearby Spar supermarkets. The room had a (pay per use) minibar in the fridge but we just took everything out on arrival and used the fridge to store cold drinks and milk etc. Later in the week we moved to an accessible room which had wider access, rails around the toilet and a walk-in shower. The only criticism of this was that I had to sit my husband on the loo and remove his wheelchair in order to close the bathroom door and allow access to the shower stall as the door opened across this! A nice shower however, although the seat was round, moved easily and was quite small.

We were half-board and this included breakfast and evening meals. At breakfast, drinks such as tea, coffee, juice, milk and water or even milkshakes were included but not in the evenings. To get drinks at dinner, the waiters would take your order and you sign the chitty to pay at the end of your stay although I think it's possible to pay cash at the end of your meal. The food is extremely good and even the fussiest person would have ample choice, including vegetarians. Whilst there is a slight bent towards the culinary (?) tastes of the largely german and dutch clientele, there was a huge choice and several different themed nights. Breakfast included cereals, yoghurt, continental breakfast choices of cold meats and cheeses with croissants, eggs, fruit (dried and fresh) and several kinds of bread (including black bread) and rolls. There were often sweet rolls, cakes or doughnuts too. Hot foods included eggs in several ways, crepes, bacon, frankfurters, chorizo, fried potatoes, and then there were salads! Dinner included similar salads, breads, fruits, as well as two hot soups plus the gorgeous gazpacho. There were also freshly prepared hot meats, paella, prawns, fish and meat dishes as well as chips, etc. Desserts ranged from cakes and flans, to jellies, mousses, rice pudding and ice cream and there were even a couple of chocolate fountains too. The food in the cafe/bar around the pool failed to live up to the standard of the main dining room and tasted as thought the chip fat had been sued all summer and had cooked every chip, picece of chicken and all the calamari. Eat at one of the much better beach cafes and restaurants a short walk away.

The pool areas were nicely laid out with beds around and chairs near the hotel side for the bar and cafe. Whilst we heard of people reserving these, we found no trouble in securing beds near the pool although the garden area was busier. The beach beds, being in a public area, cost 10 euros for the day. The beach is lovely with soft sand and the water is clean and shallow. When the wind got up, it was quite breezy around the pool and the sea was significantly warmer than the very cold pool. There was a pool hoist for people with limited mobility although my husband managed with the handrail that goes part way into the water (the last few steps had no rail which seems strange). He did enjoy going into the spa pool which was much warmer, in a tranquil area and with adequate steps to get into the water. We didn;t use the children's pool which had a removable cover, but I understand this too was warmer than the freezing main pool.

Evening entertainment was mediocre at best and I wish people would stick to singing in their own languages! Love songs are best sung when you understand the words. The best act was the 70s rock tribute band, although they seemed to think they were stars in their own right and some of the guitar solos were a bit self-indulgent! Other entertainment included some gentle exercise stuff, the gym, kids clubs and the very irritating air hockey and table tennis. One ti is to ensure that you have plenty of things to entertain yourself if it turns wet as they quickly exhaust the supply of cards and scrabble and there is not much else to do, especially when you have limited mobility.

All in all a very good place to stay ad we will certainly consider a return trip

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FMF23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
0.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#4 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grupotel Maritimo
Grupotel Maritimo
#4 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
690 reviews
1.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Alcudia Park
Iberostar Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Los Principes & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Los Principes & Spa

Address: C/ Galio 31 | Urb. Las Gaviotas, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa de Muro
#8 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range: $127 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Los Principes & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grupotel Los Principes & Spa is the perfect combination of sea and land. The hotel and its apartments, located facing the sea and with direct access to Muro beach, are ideal for all types of guests. Its lush gardens capture the magic and peace that is necessary to switch off from the rest of the world, standing head and shoulders above other hotels and apartment complexes on Mallorca. Its modern Spa offers everything you need to forget your routine back home. Come to relax at this charismatic Spa hotel in the north of the island of Mallorca, on Muro beach. What more could you ask for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Grupotel Los Principes & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Los Principes Hotel Playa De Muro
Grupotel Los Principes & Spa Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing