We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very satisfied customer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grupotel Los Principes & Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel on a half board basis & could not find fault, the staff were amazing, my 2 year old daughter especially enjoyed the daily mini disco. The food was excellent with plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank princessBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 444 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

enjoyed my stay at this hotel, would recommend it to every one visiting Mallorca. Close to the sea, but also nice pool facilities. Good restaurant, polite personel, quit area. Close to all facilities, and shopping areas. go for a visit to the caves, this place is really fantastic

Room Tip: choose one of the bungalows ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnetteA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel with a mixed review to match the changeable weather. After 2 hour delay sitting on plane at Gatwick, 1 hour to claim baggage at Palma and 1.5 hour transfer being 5/6 drop off when Thomson Platinum should be first( when mentioned this to the rep.offered 5euros each) did not arrive in best of moods only to be compounded by being allocated small, dingy sideroom with small balcony a view of rundown apartments with no direct sun am or pm. Requested change at reception met with bit of an attitude from one member of staff but it was eventually settled to our satisfaction. Beds are hard but excellent walk-in shower.Perfect location when the sun shines with ample sunbeds around pool and grass areas with direct access to great beach, soft sand, clear,warm, shallow water ideal for those with young children. Food fine, good variety and ample choice, Sunday morning smoked salmon and cava went down well !Entertainment was usual acts of varying quality but a few nuggets of talent. Bus trip to Alcudia Old Town and Port well worth it .All in all a good late season break but at this time of year you take a chance on the weather.

Room Tip: If you want sun on your balcony choose front of hotel overlooking sea/ pool/car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MOD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just returned from a lovely relaxing week between 6-13 Oct. The Hotel is very clean , staff very friendly. You are allocated a table for breakfast and evening meal which I thought was a good idea as you never had to wait to be allocated a table you are also gretted by the staff and manager. The food choice was excellent, it was never ending.
The hotel is well situated on the beach with a jetty, white sand and blue crystal sea. A couple of mins walk to a square for lunch - the best we found was Leon Rojo. The front road has a good bus service which you can reach can pica fort to porto pollensa.
The spa was really relaxing which we used on the only day that it rained.
Would go back to this hotel , well rated as 4 star.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCTCHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visited this hotel in September/October 2012 and experienced mixed weather (from hot sunshine to heavy rain and strong winds). The hotel is very well laid out and the staff are all very friendly and welcoming. The reception are is cool and very nicely appointed with marble floors and comfy couches to sit on and relax. There are toilets nearby (including a large disabled accessible one), together with the entrance to the dining room and the spa. There is also a small luggage storage room and shower for use on checkout. There are two lifts which are extremely small (my husband is in a wheelchair and we struggled to get in when he had the foot supports on it) and a nice curving staircase.

After a mix up with our request for a disabled accessible room (which they hadn't received) we were given a room on the first floor near the lift (strangely from the same request that they said they hadn't received!). The room was smallish with twin beds that were quite hard and with strange 'bolster-like' pillows. The bathroom was well equipped with bath, shower, and hair drier although the soap was in liquid form. There were also 'freebie' shower cap, comb, shoe cleaner and cotton buds. There were no coffee/tea making facilities although it was possible to borrow one from reception at the cost of a (refundable) deposit of 10 euros. Coffee cups could also be borrowed from the dining room and milk purchased at one of the ubiquitous nearby Spar supermarkets. The room had a (pay per use) minibar in the fridge but we just took everything out on arrival and used the fridge to store cold drinks and milk etc. Later in the week we moved to an accessible room which had wider access, rails around the toilet and a walk-in shower. The only criticism of this was that I had to sit my husband on the loo and remove his wheelchair in order to close the bathroom door and allow access to the shower stall as the door opened across this! A nice shower however, although the seat was round, moved easily and was quite small.

We were half-board and this included breakfast and evening meals. At breakfast, drinks such as tea, coffee, juice, milk and water or even milkshakes were included but not in the evenings. To get drinks at dinner, the waiters would take your order and you sign the chitty to pay at the end of your stay although I think it's possible to pay cash at the end of your meal. The food is extremely good and even the fussiest person would have ample choice, including vegetarians. Whilst there is a slight bent towards the culinary (?) tastes of the largely german and dutch clientele, there was a huge choice and several different themed nights. Breakfast included cereals, yoghurt, continental breakfast choices of cold meats and cheeses with croissants, eggs, fruit (dried and fresh) and several kinds of bread (including black bread) and rolls. There were often sweet rolls, cakes or doughnuts too. Hot foods included eggs in several ways, crepes, bacon, frankfurters, chorizo, fried potatoes, and then there were salads! Dinner included similar salads, breads, fruits, as well as two hot soups plus the gorgeous gazpacho. There were also freshly prepared hot meats, paella, prawns, fish and meat dishes as well as chips, etc. Desserts ranged from cakes and flans, to jellies, mousses, rice pudding and ice cream and there were even a couple of chocolate fountains too. The food in the cafe/bar around the pool failed to live up to the standard of the main dining room and tasted as thought the chip fat had been sued all summer and had cooked every chip, picece of chicken and all the calamari. Eat at one of the much better beach cafes and restaurants a short walk away.

The pool areas were nicely laid out with beds around and chairs near the hotel side for the bar and cafe. Whilst we heard of people reserving these, we found no trouble in securing beds near the pool although the garden area was busier. The beach beds, being in a public area, cost 10 euros for the day. The beach is lovely with soft sand and the water is clean and shallow. When the wind got up, it was quite breezy around the pool and the sea was significantly warmer than the very cold pool. There was a pool hoist for people with limited mobility although my husband managed with the handrail that goes part way into the water (the last few steps had no rail which seems strange). He did enjoy going into the spa pool which was much warmer, in a tranquil area and with adequate steps to get into the water. We didn;t use the children's pool which had a removable cover, but I understand this too was warmer than the freezing main pool.

Evening entertainment was mediocre at best and I wish people would stick to singing in their own languages! Love songs are best sung when you understand the words. The best act was the 70s rock tribute band, although they seemed to think they were stars in their own right and some of the guitar solos were a bit self-indulgent! Other entertainment included some gentle exercise stuff, the gym, kids clubs and the very irritating air hockey and table tennis. One ti is to ensure that you have plenty of things to entertain yourself if it turns wet as they quickly exhaust the supply of cards and scrabble and there is not much else to do, especially when you have limited mobility.

All in all a very good place to stay ad we will certainly consider a return trip

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FMF23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Room 260.

Had a fabulous stay at Los Principes, a smart but relaxed hotel located on a long and stunning gently shelving beach with sparkling blue sea, soft sugary sand, pier for day trip boats and lifeguards all day. Perfect!

Our room (260) was small but fairly perfectly formed. Beds were 3 foot twins each with one rather firm pillow. Lovely bathroom, flat-sreen tv with 3 UK channels. The in-room safe costs 15 euro to rent for the week. We emptied a few bottles out of the mini bar to chill out bottled water. Aircon works well but only when the window is closed - a sensor switches it off when window open. Our balcony overlooked the pool and gave a great view of the entertainment stage each evening and a pleasant side view of the beach and sea. I would not consider a room at the rear of the building but thats just my personal preference.

We paid a supplement for a sea-view room. The Thomson holidays brochure ommitted to mention that the majority of sea-view rooms have limited sea view. We weren't at all happy with the first room we were given (152) as it was right next to an ugly flat roof, overlooked the car park, the entertainment stage and a bit of the pool.

Reception responded well to my request for a better room and gave us one of the best rooms in the hotel in terms of view and the fact that we had one of the more private balconies. I recommend requesting a room at the front overlooking the pool and as much sea as possible.

Dining: Guests are allocated a specific table for the duration of the stay. Great idea! Breakfast was my favourite meal of the day by some way and had plenty of choice, plus endless tea, coffee, juices. Sparkling cava seemed to be available on the days they had smoked salmon at breakfast. Dinner was fairly decent. Being a vegetarian made things more of a challenge, but I never went hungry! Yes my heart sunk when I found that some of the lovely looking pasta and rice salads had chopped meat stirred through. It would help greatly of they labelled certain items as vegetarian to make life easier. I really wasnt certain if the spring rolls or pasta parcels had meat in them. If I returned I would probably just opt for a breakfast-only deal due to limited options for vegetarian in the evening. The pool bar had some super lunch options; their food and drink was surprisingly good value.

Internet Access: Wifi is chargeable, but the concensus of the staff and rep is that its pants. There are a couple of internet pcs in reception. Smiths Bar, a friendly wee place next to the hotel on the Alcudia side has free wifi. It was recommended by the rep.

The pool is very pleasant if a little refreshing (cool). The spa pool is much warmer and a pleasant spot on a rare rainy day. There was a covered heated pool frequented by toddlers and their parents. Beach towels are free but need a 10 euro refundable deposit. Perhaps this is why people didn't seem to leave their towels on the beds all day - they risked having them removed and losing their deposit.

Alcudia is a pleasant stroll away along the beach or 1.50 euro single fare on the regular bus. Puerto Pollensa is just beyond Alcudia and 1.75 euro on the same bus. Can Picafort in the opposite direction is 1.50 euro single fare. Buses run on a loop between Can Picafort and Puerto Pollensa via Alcudia about every 15 mins.

A special mention should go to our waitress (from Andalucia i think) who served us each day and helped us select our wine each evening. She was a delight and a real credit to the hotel. Angela our maid always had a ready smile and a 'hola' and left our room absolutely spotless. Thank you both for making our stay a great one!

Photos to follow. I hope some of the info I have included is useful:)

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool at the front of the hotel, preferrably with as much sea view as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Purple C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

WWent here in July/August.Very well placed,2 miles from Alcudia and fronts onto a lovely beach with coast road at the rear having a good bus service.It is quoted as 4 star and has the facilities to be so e.g. good pool large grass area under pine trees for lazing about(though all beds are 'toweled'by 7.30) but is let down by the way it is run.No fridge in the room--the mini bar was a waste of time,the dinning room ,food O.K.,has a very limited wine range ,mostly with an excessive mark up(250-300%),and they begin to clear away some of the main course early--8.15-gave a feeling of being rushedThe standard of dress allowed in there at times was not 4 star--flip flops.shorts and baseball caps!!O.K.for breakfast but not dinner,though the ladies always looked nice-why do their partners not appreciate this?Balcony lights are switched off about 10.45.Some reception staff good,some not.If you wanted entertainment in the evening it is there and some was quite good ,though some------.Always finished by 10.30.The hotel could raise its standard with little effort,it just needs management to look about more.The beach has plenty of sunbeds etc.2 beds plus umberella-£8.Pleny of places to get a lunchtime snack at good prices ,Smiths pub 100 yards away or Swan pub same distance the other way are both good.e.g.2 omelette and chips and a bottle of rioja £14.We are both in our 70's but very active.We would go again despite it's drawbackes,mainly because of it's position--the surrounding are so nice.

Room Tip: Due to the way it is bult very few rooms can see the sea so you have little choice.When we arrived w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank george d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de Muro hotels
0.2 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#5 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
1.1 mi away
Grupotel Parc Natural & Spa
Grupotel Parc Natural & Spa
#15 of 30 in Playa de Muro
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Alcudia Park
Iberostar Alcudia Park
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Los Principes & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Los Principes & Spa

Address: C/ Galio 31 | Urb. Las Gaviotas, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa de Muro
#8 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range: $108 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grupotel Los Principes & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grupotel Los Principes & Spa is the perfect combination of sea and land. The hotel and its apartments, located facing the sea and with direct access to Muro beach, are ideal for all types of guests. Its lush gardens capture the magic and peace that is necessary to switch off from the rest of the world, standing head and shoulders above other hotels and apartment complexes on Mallorca. Its modern Spa offers everything you need to forget your routine back home. Come to relax at this charismatic Spa hotel in the north of the island of Mallorca, on Muro beach. What more could you ask for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grupotel Los Principes & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Los Principes Hotel Playa De Muro
Grupotel Los Principes & Spa Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing