We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disapointed!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Playa - CLOSED

La Playa
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very disapointed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We didn't get as far as eating as we were made to feel very unwelcome. Waited 5 mins at entrance only to be ignored, sat ourselves at the bar to have a drink, waited 20 mins to be served & a further 20 mins to get the drinks. We felt as we were not locals we were invisable. Left after our drinks & went somewhere else where we were made to feel very welcome. Very very disapointed!!!!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank scant1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefacasa, Gerente at La Playa, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Hi Anthony,
I was very sad to read your message and your review. I´d like to apologise to you and your family.
You are probably right in almost eveything you write except for that we didn´t welcome you as you were not local. We work 50 % with locals and tourists and we welcome all and treat them all the same.
On Sundays almost all our guests are Spanish people as it´s their day off and all want to go to the beach and then eat a paella or fish with the family. We´ve had 2 Sundays when the work we´ve had has overwhelmed us and we´ve given a much worst service than we´ve wanted. Sadly you came one of those Sundays.
Also I must say that because of too much work I haven´t had time to answer your personal email and/or your review.
I´m sorry again in the name of La Playa. We hope that your vacation in Mallorca was a pleasent one.
Kind regards
La Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    2
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Nice local restaurant and bar close to beach. Very good local food incl an exellent kids menu (without burger, pizza, nuggets etc, but with "real" food). Don't go with kids during weekend since it is also a busy bar which leads to long waits.

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great family-friendly beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Soft, fairly clean sand and safe, warm shallow sea for children. All sun-beds seemed to be owned privately by the beach-side hotels - would have been nice to have been able to hire one for the day to have some shade for our young children.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allthekingsmen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent beach bar/restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Food was fantastic. We had Mallorcan lobster rice and it was outstanding. Washed down by an excellent Mallorcan malvasia.

Service was very slow, but that's part of the chilled out vibe.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DBG_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

If you love good food and want to avoid the typical tourist trap restaurants you should definetely visit this restaurant. Here you have owners that care about what they serve their guests. The drinks before the food are just how you want them to be, tasty, big and ice cold. While you wait for the food you have a nice view over the Muro beach and the sea. We ate pork cheeks in portwine for maincource. The pork that came with tasty mash potatoes, grilled green pepper and salad was just as we hoped for, tender and tasty! I can say that we are a family who likes to be in the kitchen at home and experience whith good food, and we think we know when to appreciate good food. We had white chocolate with strawberry icecream and wasabi icecream (tells so much about the restaurant) for dessert an it was a loveley ending of a good meal. Ok, they didn't fill our wineglasses as quick as we wanted, but all in all, we are going back here for one or two times before we return back home to Oslo, Norway!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PiaMichelle1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playa also viewed

Playa de Muro, Majorca
Playa de Muro, Majorca
 
Playa de Muro, Majorca
Playa de Muro, Majorca
 
Playa de Muro, Majorca
Playa de Muro, Majorca
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing