We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,041)
Filter reviews
1,043 results
Traveler rating
542
320
111
45
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
320
111
45
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfive star hotelpool areabeach chairsclose walk to the beachbicycle rentaltasting foodside sea viewper dayhotel lobby iscost eurbeautiful beachnight showsbuffet breakfasthousekeeping teamspanish foodwelcome drinkexcellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 1,043 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012

In no particular order, good points:

Attractive hotel building and public areas
Great location, a few yards from the pool to a very good beach. A reasonable no. of shops, bars and restaurants within waking distance.
Really good food (breakfast and dinner buffet both excellent)
Decent sized pool
I'm glad there was no music from the bar!
Friendly staff who gave us sandwiches, salads and drinks in our room on arrival in the evening.
Reasonable prices at the bar and in restaurant
Nice hotel shop

Areas for improvements:

Beds too hard for my liking
Kids disco only lasted 15-20 mins.
Children's pool a bit too deep for tiny ones and very, very cold. Main pool was too cold too!

Other comments:

Possibly not quite a true five star, but good value so I have no complaints.

We had no problem with German or Russian fellow guests, whose children well behaved. Everyone was very friendly.

There were no wasps!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DBG_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for a week in July 2012. On first arrival the hotel looks fantastic and the staff are very helpful and polite when you need them. The pool area and hotel in general were both very clean and tidy. The pool area felt a bit quiet though. Music from the bar would have given the place a happier and less sterile feel. The room was very pleasant with good air conditioning and a lovely bathroom and balcony. Despite booking a suite though we still had to ask for a kettle, iron and ironing board. I would have thought this would be standard for a 5 star hotel, but maybe that is just me!

After a few days we were bored as the main resort is a good walk away and from what we saw not that big! If you are after modern bars and good restaurants head for Alcudia old town or Polenca. There were very few English speaking people staying at the hotel and it appeared to be mainly German, Russian and Spanish. The entertainment in the evenings was certainly not 5 star. One evening we barely got 45 minutes of a singer and the show ended abruptly at 10pm. The other issue was the food. Breakfast was quite good, but the evening meals were not. The first holiday I've been on where I've lost weight!

The proximity to the lovely beach is a major bonus for this hotel. If you are with a large family party and can entertain yourselves then you will be ok here. If you want to venture out in the evenings though you would be better staying elsewhere. Not for young couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of back of the hotel. You will either get a view of the sea or the national park.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ella123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrtes, Director General at Be Live Collection Palace de Muro, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Ella123_12

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you spent writing your review on tripadvisor.
We are focused to keep improving our facilities and services, so we consider seriously all the comments written here.
We are glad to hear that you liked the Hotel facilities, rooms, location and staff. We work hard to keep the same staff after 10 years since the hotel first opened!

Otherwise we are sorry for not being able to reach your expectations.
As you said in your comment, if what you are looking for is a Party-Hotel, we are not your Hotel.
The hotel is located right at the end of Puerto de Alcudia, so its quiter than if you go a few km away. So what we do offer is relax.
In case you need to go out, you can always take a taxi to the Puerto de Alcudia, which would take an around 8 minutes ride.

We will keep improving our animation’s programme, to be able to reach everybody’s needs.

We do hope to see you again at the Palace to offer you a nice and relaxing holidays.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here for 1 week with a 4 year old and a 2 year old. Overall the hotel is very nice, location, beach etc. However the swimming pools are deep, not suitable for toddlers and the childs pool is surrounded by wasps which you need to keep fishing out. Furthermore some of the guests give dirty looks when your children make a noise, and the evening entertainment is very loud and does not finish until 11 on some nights making it difficult to put small ones to bed. The buffet food would be better if there were a few small dishes done well, rather than trying to cater to everybody. This also meant that a lot of the food was recycled from previous days. Not a five star hotel by any measure and I wold not recommend to anybody with children under the age of 5.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear Russ C,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you spent writing your review on tripadvisor.
We are focused to keep improving our facilities and services, so we consider seriously all the comments written here.
The Palace de Muro has always been a family hotel, oriented to all kind of families with children. That’s why we do have a children pool apart of the main one, to avoid the danger of a deep pool.
Furthermore, we are located directly on a beach, where you have to walk several meters before the water turns deep, so children can play without parents worrying (we know parents are always worried about their children) about deep waters.
We will check about the wasps at the children’s pool, and we will keep an extra eye on it. Anyway we are located next to a Protected Natural Park, so that is something hard to control.
Here I must say that we never, never, never had a problem with wasps, an none guests got bitten by them.
About the food there is not much we can say, unfortunately, as you say, we cannot cater to everybody, so I apologize if our food was not for your taste. And there is something I do not agree with you dear guest, we do not recycle food at any case. What has been once at the buffet or ready in the kitchen to be served, will be never used again in any of our Restaurants. It is something forbidden by law and it’s not the feeling we want to show to our guests.
We truly apologize for not being what you expected, but we keep working hard to be a better place to spend your holidays and to become one of the best 5* Holiday Hotels at Mallorca.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I agree with most comments read here. If I compare to 5 Star hotels in some other beach destinations I have been to the hotel is lacking somewhat - still the best value for money this side of the island and the proximity to the beach makes it special. Rooms are ok, food is ok toO

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MWiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear Mwiest

Thanks for the “compliment” and for spending your time writing a review of our Palace.
We are focused to keep improving our facilities and services, so we consider seriously all the comments written here.
We work really hard every day at the Hotel to improve all the small details you think are missing.
Our target is becoming one of the best 5* Holiday Hotels at Mallorca.
As you say, we have an stunning location and a great staff, and that is our motivation to keep getting better.
We hope to see you soon again at the Palace de Muro.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The only thing that was 5* about this hotel was the price.We had a suite facing the sea which was nice but lacking a kettle for tea/coffee & once we had used the toiletries in the bathroom they were not replaced all week !The food at the buffet restaurant was poor plenty of choice but dull & not inviting. At breakfast the scrambled egg was very runny & fried eggs very undercooked.We asked for coffee which came quickly but there were no cups on the table & we had to get our own cutlery on several occasions. The hotel is right by the beach but residents had to pay for using the sun beds on the beach. The pool was lovely & the Spanish lifeguard a treasure.The hotel was 90% Russian & German, If you want a English orientated hotel this one isn't for you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear Kathy W,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you spent writing your review on tripadvisor.
We are focused to keep improving our facilities and services, so we consider seriously all the comments written here.
We truly apologize for not being able to reach your expectations. Our final target as hoteliers is the happiness of our guests, so we are sorry that we couldn’t make it with you.
We have been checking for a few days all your comments, as they are not expected at a 5* Hotel. We are a bit surprised, as those things are not often. We do know we may have lacks at some details, but not on those; toiletries are replaced always as you need; and coffee cups and cutlery are always replaced at the moment by the waiters. We had already a talk to the Chiefs of Department in charge of those jobs so it won’t happen again.
The sun beds at the beach, as detailed at the Info in the rooms, do not belong to the Hotel as in the 95% of the Hotels on the island. Unfortunately there are just a few hotels who own their own beach sun beds and umbrellas, and those are hotels who operate in small private beaches since more than 30-40 years.
About the Country orientation, there is nothing to say about. German guests are the most common at the hotel followed by Spaniards and Russians.
We try to be orientated to everyone, and so do we work. As you say, you won’t find 100% British guests at the Palace.
Once again I apologize for the inconvenients we may have caused you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews