We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,040)
Filter reviews
1,041 results
Traveler rating
540
320
111
45
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
540
320
111
45
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfive star hotelpool areabeach chairsclose walk to the beachbicycle rentaltasting foodside sea viewper dayhotel lobby iscost eurbeautiful beachnight showsbuffet breakfasthousekeeping teamspanish foodwelcome drinkexcellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 1,041 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here for 1 week with a 4 year old and a 2 year old. Overall the hotel is very nice, location, beach etc. However the swimming pools are deep, not suitable for toddlers and the childs pool is surrounded by wasps which you need to keep fishing out. Furthermore some of the guests give dirty looks when your children make a noise, and the evening entertainment is very loud and does not finish until 11 on some nights making it difficult to put small ones to bed. The buffet food would be better if there were a few small dishes done well, rather than trying to cater to everybody. This also meant that a lot of the food was recycled from previous days. Not a five star hotel by any measure and I wold not recommend to anybody with children under the age of 5.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear Russ C,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you spent writing your review on tripadvisor.
We are focused to keep improving our facilities and services, so we consider seriously all the comments written here.
The Palace de Muro has always been a family hotel, oriented to all kind of families with children. That’s why we do have a children pool apart of the main one, to avoid the danger of a deep pool.
Furthermore, we are located directly on a beach, where you have to walk several meters before the water turns deep, so children can play without parents worrying (we know parents are always worried about their children) about deep waters.
We will check about the wasps at the children’s pool, and we will keep an extra eye on it. Anyway we are located next to a Protected Natural Park, so that is something hard to control.
Here I must say that we never, never, never had a problem with wasps, an none guests got bitten by them.
About the food there is not much we can say, unfortunately, as you say, we cannot cater to everybody, so I apologize if our food was not for your taste. And there is something I do not agree with you dear guest, we do not recycle food at any case. What has been once at the buffet or ready in the kitchen to be served, will be never used again in any of our Restaurants. It is something forbidden by law and it’s not the feeling we want to show to our guests.
We truly apologize for not being what you expected, but we keep working hard to be a better place to spend your holidays and to become one of the best 5* Holiday Hotels at Mallorca.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I agree with most comments read here. If I compare to 5 Star hotels in some other beach destinations I have been to the hotel is lacking somewhat - still the best value for money this side of the island and the proximity to the beach makes it special. Rooms are ok, food is ok toO

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MWiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear Mwiest

Thanks for the “compliment” and for spending your time writing a review of our Palace.
We are focused to keep improving our facilities and services, so we consider seriously all the comments written here.
We work really hard every day at the Hotel to improve all the small details you think are missing.
Our target is becoming one of the best 5* Holiday Hotels at Mallorca.
As you say, we have an stunning location and a great staff, and that is our motivation to keep getting better.
We hope to see you soon again at the Palace de Muro.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The only thing that was 5* about this hotel was the price.We had a suite facing the sea which was nice but lacking a kettle for tea/coffee & once we had used the toiletries in the bathroom they were not replaced all week !The food at the buffet restaurant was poor plenty of choice but dull & not inviting. At breakfast the scrambled egg was very runny & fried eggs very undercooked.We asked for coffee which came quickly but there were no cups on the table & we had to get our own cutlery on several occasions. The hotel is right by the beach but residents had to pay for using the sun beds on the beach. The pool was lovely & the Spanish lifeguard a treasure.The hotel was 90% Russian & German, If you want a English orientated hotel this one isn't for you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear Kathy W,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you spent writing your review on tripadvisor.
We are focused to keep improving our facilities and services, so we consider seriously all the comments written here.
We truly apologize for not being able to reach your expectations. Our final target as hoteliers is the happiness of our guests, so we are sorry that we couldn’t make it with you.
We have been checking for a few days all your comments, as they are not expected at a 5* Hotel. We are a bit surprised, as those things are not often. We do know we may have lacks at some details, but not on those; toiletries are replaced always as you need; and coffee cups and cutlery are always replaced at the moment by the waiters. We had already a talk to the Chiefs of Department in charge of those jobs so it won’t happen again.
The sun beds at the beach, as detailed at the Info in the rooms, do not belong to the Hotel as in the 95% of the Hotels on the island. Unfortunately there are just a few hotels who own their own beach sun beds and umbrellas, and those are hotels who operate in small private beaches since more than 30-40 years.
About the Country orientation, there is nothing to say about. German guests are the most common at the hotel followed by Spaniards and Russians.
We try to be orientated to everyone, and so do we work. As you say, you won’t find 100% British guests at the Palace.
Once again I apologize for the inconvenients we may have caused you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Grand Palace de Muro describes itself as a 5 star hotel but in my view it falls woefully short in many respects.

The beach facing rooms are all suites with twin beds, most other rooms are described as partial sea views but you have to lean over the balcony to see the sea.

I resent paying for Wi-Fi in 5 star hotels but here they not only charge €5 per day for that service but also charge €3 per day to use the room safe (a first in my experience). It will cost you €10 per day to rent two sunbeds and a sun shade on the beach.

Of the 32 TV channels only Sky news is in English, there are no DVD players or tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

The hotel appeared under staffed with only one waiter serving all guests in the gastro restaurant….I will not be returning.

Room Tip: Only the beach facing suites have a proper sea view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PLondon979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear PLondon979,
First of all we would like to thank you for the time you spent writing your review on tripadvisor.
We truly apologize for not being able to reach your expectations. Our final target as hoteliers is the happiness of our guests, so we are sorry that we couldn’t make it with you.
As I explained to you at the Front Desk after your check in, you shouldn’t expect the same views at a “Suite with Frontal Sea View” and at a “Double Room with Parcial Sea View”.
We think the name itself says the difference. Anyway, as we talked that day, we were fully booked at the moment, and couldn’t offer you a “Suite with Frontal Sea View even paying the difference (around 250€ per day).
You received what you booked, we apologize for not being the room you expected.
WIFI and Safe are extra services that not everybody uses, that’s why they are not included at the room’s price.
The sun beds at the beach, as detailed at the Info in the rooms, do not belong to the Hotel as in the 95% of the Hotels on the island. Unfortunately there are just a few hotels who own their own beach sun beds and umbrellas, and those are hotels who operate in small private beaches since more than 30-40 years.
About the English channels, we can just say that we do have many nationalities at the Palace, and unfortunately we cannot have all the tv channels you have at your country.
Anyway we will receive some more British channels in the next months, as we subscribed to some of them.
I am sorry again for not helping you to enjoy your holidays.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have stayed in many 5star Hotels around the world. As you enter the grand glass fronted
entrance of the hotel, we noticed it was very sparse compaired to there web page as all large plants have died and had not been replaced.The hotel looks like a shopping mall without plants.Our suite was very expensive for what it was. Things you pay for are, key for safe & Internet. UK chanels on TV were very limited.You only get six coat hangers and they could not provide any more. You cannot sunbath on the patio of suite as the overhang of the roof is to low. In my opinion the room needs an upgrade.
The maid kept the room very clean and the beds were very comportable.
If you decide to sunbath on the beach in front of the hotel, you have to pay 10euro for two beds and a shade. On the good side the hotel was clean and staff very attentive.Maybe a 5star for Mallorca but a 4star at best compared to other 5star hotels we have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear Gail3333,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you spent writing your review on tripadvisor.
We are focused to keep improving our facilities and services, so we consider seriously all the comments written here.
About the plants, they didn’t die, we just thought they would look nicer located everywhere, and making the shocking Reception Hall clearer.
WIFI and Safe are extra services that not everybody uses, that’s why they are not included at the room’s price.
About the English channels, we can just say that we do have many nationalities at the Palace, and unfortunately we cannot have all the tv channels you have at your country.
Anyway we will receive some more British channels in the next months, as we subscribed to some of them.
Thanks for the compliments about our staff, we know that they are the best of the Palace de Muro.
We truly apologize for not being what you expected, but we keep working hard to be a better place to spend your holidays and to become one of the best 5* Holiday Hotels at Mallorca.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews