We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox and Goose Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Parracombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
rotterdam
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We found the Fox and Goose Inn by coincidence. And we were happy we did so! Lovely luxury rooms more in a somewhat continental style (no flower wallpaper here). A great local cosy pub with a lively atmosphere and good food. Loved it. Friendly people too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    17
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
62
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just came back from and two night stay at the fox and goose,large room ,comfortable bed, large bathroom with walk in shower, all tastefully decorated, .Spottlessly clean, tea and coffee in room as well as homemade shortbread, absolutely great. Ate in the bar restaurant on both nights, and the food was also very good, tasty and plenty of it, breakfast, well what can i say!! excellent again, well done to the owners a job well done.!! thank you. Staff also very friendly and helpfull,dont know what else i can say really can't praise this place more highly !!,THANK YOU AGAIN WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blodwynBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were lucky enough to find the Fox & Goose totally out of the blue by searching recommendations in the area; How lucky we were. Starting with a genuinely friendly welcome when we arrived was the start to a really great two days stay. The room was unexpectedly large with separate dressing room and ensuite bathroom; beautifully furnished with a big comfortable bed. Homemade shortbread and flapjacks were a lovely touch. Evening meals in the bar/restaurant were delicious from an ample menu of choice for any taste at a very reasonable price. Nothing however prepared us for the breakfast though and it must be as good as ever you can experience. All local and homemade produce, it was truly outstanding and will remembered for a long time and hopefully experienced on our next visit.Thanks to all the staff at the hotel for a wonderful stay and will certainly return for more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauljulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed 1 night with another couple. Outstanding from beginning to end.
Booking was perfect,the bedrooms are lovely,with very beds and fittings and lovely touched such as a tin of homemade shortbread and flapjacks.
Our evening meal was delicious and very reasonable priced.
Breakfast was outstanding with lovely cereals ,fruit,compote,jams etc. The cooked breakfast also looked delicious but the first bit was so good we never got to the cooked!
We also had an excellent packed lunch from the pub.

Saving the best to last,nothing was too much trouble and Nikki and her team are perfect relaxed hosts who obviously enjoy their work. This ambiance makes the whole stay quite exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon ENGLAND
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The Fox and Goose was recommended by a friend on Exmoor and wish I had found it years ago. We had the best steak I have ever eaten - beautiful location , friendly service, and to walk into a pub and see top quality local food on the menu for such a reasonable price makes such a difference. Must be visited. Excellent x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Rooms a lovely surprise, very modern, except bed a bit too small. Breakfast was lovely along with the excellent service provided!! Just what we were after for a quick stop off seeing family. Will stay again.......

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericajames22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had dinner here on the last night of our holiday. I can't recommend the lemon sole enough - beautifully cooked with a fantastic sauce. The pub itself is nice too, with a great fire and really friendly staff. We were staying at a holiday cottage up the road and had got a baby sitter in for the evening, but unfortunately our daughter had other ideas so we ended up having to come home early. The staff delivered our food piping hot to our door. Now that's service! It was a shame we didn't get the chance to sit and enjoy the atmosphere in the pub for longer as it looked like a fun place to be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BristolPud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parracombe
2.9 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
572 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
928 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
40 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Hunters Inn
The Hunters Inn
#2 of 2 in Martinhoe
417 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heddon's Gate Hotel
Heddon's Gate Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martinhoe
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox and Goose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Goose Inn

Property: The Fox and Goose Inn
Address: Just off the A39 between Lynton and Barnstaple, Parracombe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Parracombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Parracombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fox and Goose Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fox and Goose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing