We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little gem”
other travelers have booked this property
Grain Store Sitting Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grain Store Sitting Room
Grain Store Kitchen Grain Store  Double Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Grain Store Sitting Room
Grain Store Kitchen
Grain Store  Double Bedroom
Grain Store Double Bedroom leading to Twin Bedroom
Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool open Easter to end September
Say hello to our friendly pigs
Help feed the sheep
Sand pit in gardens
Grain Store Bathroom
Grain Store sitting room
Toddlers car at Lower Hearson Farm
6' Snooker Table at Lower Hearson Farm
The Orchard at Lower Hearson Farm
The Games Room at Lower Hearson Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Swimbridge, Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Penny1803
2 reviews
“A little gem”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were looking for a quiet weekend break to recharge our batteries and couldn't have wished for a better place.

We had a very warm welcome from Graeme upon our arrival. The Grainstore was equipped with everything we needed and more, was spotlessly clean, had a wonderfully comfy bed, and was set in beautiful surroundings.

The location was great for easy access to North Devon, and the dogs loved running on the beaches. Lovely food in local pubs all of which were dog friendly too. All this and the best weather of the year so far!

We left feeling relaxed and refreshed and will definitely return. If you are looking for a little peace of heaven on earth then this is for you!

Thank you Graeme and Marilyn, we had a fantastic weekend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2016
It was lovely to meet both of you and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W
1 review
“Family fun at a farm cottage with great hosts”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We booked Lower Hearson Farm for a different family holiday then our usual Haven Holiday. The minute we got there we couldn't have been happier with our choice. Great location, properly out of the way, with great rolling hills and countryside. Graeme couldn't have made us feel more welcome and the Grain Store was so cosy. The kids immediately explored the farm, the outdoor play area, the old skool games room (if I said the game Test Match cricket) you get the idea. The Grain Store was right next to games room and outdoor play area, so with that and the compact layout of the grounds, we always knew they weren't far away and we could let them play. We all loved the games room with its darts, snooker, pool, table football, books and games.

The kids met up with Farmer Graeme and the other kids at the allotted time twice a day to feed the chickens and pigs. Graeme couldn't have been better or more interactive with the kids if he tried. Our kids loved feeding the animals,great way to interact and bond with the other kids aswell.

Now for the extra mile.......after having to eat out on the way down there, I had a gallstone attack come on the first night at about midnight. By 3am, with no painkillers and only 4 channels, after having walked around the cottage a hundred times(fellow gallstone sufferers will understand)I could take it no longer. I woke the wife, who then called an ambulance. As the farm is back and beyond, they asked my wife to stand at the top of the lane. I think farmer Graeme must have heard me walking around outside as he got up to see if everything was alright. Even for a farmer, 3.00am is in the middle of the night, yet again, he couldn't have been more helpful. It was a cold February night, raining hard and there was Farmer Graeme, stood at the top of the lane with my wife, watching for the ambulance. When it arrived, he helped me up the lane, stood with my wife outside while I was in the warm ambulance being sedated. He must have stood in the rain for us for about an hour and a half........Farmer Graeme..I tip my hat to you sir.

The measure of the holiday is for a five day holiday, I spent 2 nights in hospital and we all still had a great time. We will be back, I shall be gallbladerless and the kids will love it...again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage, hospitality, animals, facilities
Liked least: Gallstones
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2016
It was no problem at all looking after you all during your medical crisis and we are glad that you still all enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely self catering holiday home with everything you could wish for”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderful week staying in the Grain Store at Lower Hearson Farm. The cottage had everything you could possibly need to make your stay comfortable, including a great wi-fi connection and the cleanliness was exceptional. It was a great base not too far from some stunning coastal scenery and small towns etc. There is a great undercover swimming pool, plenty of outdoor games and also a well stocked indoor games room to keep everyone entertained. The animals were fantastic and the hosts were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. If we visit North Devon again there will be no hesitation in where we will stay it was such a lovely, relaxing break and we were sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole farm experience
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2015
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again if you return to North Devon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susiefloo...
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing family break”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

As a family of four we thoroughly enjoyed our break here. Farmer Graeme is really helpful and the kids loved helping him feed the pigs, sheep and chickens. They also loved making new friends and playing in the grounds, up the trees and in the games room.

We felt it was two weeks relaxation in one. Will go back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2014
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on the farm. It was great fun having all the extra help with feeding the animals and it will be fantastic to see you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
segrub
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Hesitated giving a great review as we want to keep this place quiet!
A lovely little cottage on a farm a short drive from loads of attractions. Great facilities for little ones - trampoline, swings, slide and a games room (shared). Graham was very helpful, and took the kids to feed the pigs every day, and also organised a pork night and a treasure hunt. They even took in a supermarket delivery for us and put it in the fridge before we arrived.
The beaches are a drive away, but that wasn't a problem.
All in all, we hope to come back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our little one LOVED it
Liked least: Tripadvisor have made it difficult to find this place in their search, hence few reviews!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing