We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“100% in every way”
other travelers have booked this property
The Threshing Barn Sitting Room at Lower Hearson Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Threshing Barn Sitting Room at Lower Hearson Farm
Outdoor Covered Heated Swimming Pool Open Easter to End September The Threshing Barn at Lower Hearson Farm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The Threshing Barn Sitting Room at Lower Hearson Farm
Outdoor Covered Heated Swimming Pool Open Easter to End September
The Threshing Barn at Lower Hearson Farm
The Threshing Barn at Lower Hearson Farm
The Threshing Barn (on right)
The Threshing Barn Double Bedroom at Lower Hearson Farm
The Threshing Barn Twin Bedroom at Lower Hearson Farm
The Threshing Barn Bathroom at Lower Hearson Farm
The Threshing Barn Kitchen
Meet our friendly pigs
Sand Pit at Lower Hearson Farm
Toddlers car at Lower Hearson Farm
Pig Feeding at Lower Hearson Farm
Sheep Feeding at Lower Hearson Farm
Dog Walking at Lower Hearson Farm
Orchard at Lower Hearson Farm
6' Snooker Table at Lower Hearson Farm
Games Room at Lower Hearson Farm
Pigs at Lower Hearson Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Swimbridge, Barnstaple, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claire S
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“100% in every way”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I've been meaning to review this amazing place for ages. We stayed with our 2 boys during the easter hols. Lovely clean accomodation which was well equipped (now has cake tins too!). Great facilities and a fabulous host called Graeme.

You'll want to get involved with the feeding of the animals daily. Our eldest loved the piglets and I think they liked him too, lol.

Playroom, outside play areas, a treasure hunt and home reared sausages to eat make this holiday a special one. Sausages and eggs also available to purchase directly from Graeme.

The pool is great addition to any holiday and although it was a little chilly because of the weather we managed a couple of swims.

You wouldn't regret booking a holiday here.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2016
We are really pleased that you had a great holiday and it was wonderful to have you staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toad77
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

WOW WOW! Where do I start.....if you're reading this review then go ahead and book your holiday, you will not regret it.

I stayed at Lower Hearson Farm in the Threshing Barn cottage for the first week in May 16 with my hubby,3 1/2 yr old son and our springer spaniel Phoebe.

The cottage was spacious, exceptionally well equipped, spotlessly clean and most of all it felt like a home from home. There were even games in the cupboard for our son to play with.

The farm has beautiful tranquil gardens with swings, a slide, sandpit and trampoline, which Samuel throughly enjoyed. There is also a great covered heated outdoor pool.

There is a great play room full of books, DVDs, table tennis table, table football and lots of toys for smaller children.

My son Samuel had a throughly amazing time helping Farmer Graeme in the mornings and afternoons to feed the chickens, sheep and pigs. In fact hubby and I enjoyed it just as much as he did.

Graeme and Marilyn have created a truly magical place for children and adults, there isn't anything they haven't thought of to make your holiday perfect.

I can not thank Graeme and Marilyn enough for giving us so many happy and wonderful memories from an outstanding holiday, which we will all treasure for years to come.

I'm not one for going back to the same place for holidays but we WILL be returning next year.....that's if we don't become your neighbours first ha ha!

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2016
It was a pleasure having you all stay with us and we are so pleased that you had a wonderful holiday. We are looking forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandafar...
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday”
Reviewed May 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Thank you Lower Hearson Farm for the most amazing family holiday, Fin has loved every single minute and has not stopped talking about the chickens (specifically clucky!!) all the way home! We are very much looking forward to visiting next year (if not sooner!).

For anyone visiting this is an amazing holiday, the cottages are fantastic and Farmer Graeme (and his lovely animals) make the holiday really magical for everyone. Fantastic places to visit near by and very easy to cater for family's with lots of supermarkets nearby.

Thank you again and see you soon!!!!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: nothing, all fab
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2015
We really enjoyed having you stay with us and are pleased that Fin had such a wonderful time. We look forward to seeing you all again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llsourcer
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great time in North Devon ”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2014

I've been meaning to post a review for ages. We visited for a week and had a great time. Cottage was well equipped and very clean. There were toys and games in the cupboard for our little girl. She loved helping to feed the animals aside when she fell over in the mud! The treasure hunt graeme organised was really enjoyable. A couple of things that could be improved is the kids play area (was looking a bit worn and I'm sure some new wooden play equipment would be well received by guests) and the electricity meter - it's a bit annoying to keep finding pound coins for it. Personally I'd prefer they up the rental cost slightly to cover this as per the other cottages. Location was great, close to some stunning beaches and great days out. Would highly recommend the milky way park and saunton sands.

Date of stay: June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2015
We are really glad that you enjoyed your holiday. We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay here. We are aware that the play equipment could do with some additions and have been looking into this along with whether to continue with the electric meter in this cottage. Your comments have been very helpful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
splodgey2...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very enjoyable week”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just got back from a brilliant week at Lower Hearson. The Threshing Barn was very comfortable, home from home. Our 10 year, Natasha, was very unsure of the animals to begin with but come the end of the week there were tears because she had to leave. Thank you Graeme for a wonderful week. I'm told we have to book up for Easter so please let us know when you release the dates!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2014
We are really pleased that you had a lovely time. It was great having you stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHD_2007
Essex
1 review
“A wonderful holiday”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed in Threshing Barn with our two young children (2.5yrs and 7months) and had a really lovely time. The accommodation was spotless, the farm beautiful and so much for the children to do on-site. Graeme made us feel very welcome and our oldest enjoyed feeding the animals and collecting the eggs. Couldn't fault a thing. Hope to come back in the future.

The location is great for many attractions in North Devon with lots to do in all weathers.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2014
We really enjoyed your company during your stay and it was great fun sharing the animal feeding with you and your little ones. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aintree, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The safe environment for the children to play
Liked least: Going home !
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2014
It is always a pleasure having you to stay. See you all again in a few weeks time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing