We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Guesthouse in North Devon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spinney Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Shirwell B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Guesthouse in North Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at The Spinney and I cannot recommend this guest house enough. We were greeted by Dave and Jo and were treated to excellant service, hospitality and food thoughout our stay. After our long drive we were shown to our twin room and we were then treated to a fresh pot of tea with buttered crumpets and homemade strawberry jam - not to be missed.

The attention to detail in our room was second to none, the towels and bedding were of top quality. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate with biscuits were also available with bottled water and mints.

The breakfast was amazing with a variety of homemade produce and nothing was too much trouble. I recommend the muffin with scrambled eggs and salmon and the porridge with raisins and shredded apple was wonderful. No need for lunch.

I would highly recommend The Spinney, great accommodation, great food, great hosts, great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
47
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I have just spent the weekend at the Spinney and it was FANSTASTIC!! Very clean and very tidy. Service and attention to detail is second to none you really will not be disspointed we were made very welcome by Jo and David and would stop again tomorrow. Home made bread and free range eggs for breakfast topped our stay off, Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanandZoeBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

What an absolutely fantastic B&B! We were warmly greeted by Jo when we arrived on Friday and met David later on. Absolutely wonderful couple who made us feel at home. We stayed in the Room 1 with the Super King bed...I wish I could've packed it in the car! So much attention to detail through things such as little chocolates and water, right through to the hot water bottles for a cold evening and the fan for a hot summers evening. Jo and David were happy to recommend good places to eat and visit. The breakfast was amazing and they were happy to cater for our requirements. Well worth the funds and my boyfriend and I are hoping to return next year. Had a fantastic time on our first mini break together and this was all topped by the wonderful B&B that we stayed in :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpinneyShirwell, Owner at The Spinney Country Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Kari,
it was a delight having you both say with us at The Spinney.
We are so glad you both enjoyed your time in North Devon and are very pleased you picked us for your first break away together, the first of many happy trips together we hope.
We look forward to welcoming you both back.
Jo & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

There is much to commend this place but overall it neded a bit more attention to detail to justify the price and have be excellent

The owners Jo and David were very welcoming and the breakfast excellent. Fruit served on vine leaves from the 100 year old conservatory vine was a great touch. Location is good being close to Barnstaple with good range if restaurants and Exmoor.

Downsides are the poor parking spaces. Turning round is a challenge but could be improved with a proper turning circle. This place therefore not suitable for people with mobility problems. The room was pleasant but the furniture looked a bit cheap and TV Ditto. But perhaps this will improve to justify the £80 a night tab.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crankyshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

The Spinney is a first class Bed and Breakfast where we have just spent a 3 night break . The Owners, David and Jo made us feel as welcome as family would have been .Our room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The little extras like bottled water and chocolates in the room along with fresh milk in a little jug waiting for us in the evening was just so thoughtful.
The breakfasts were delicious and a great start to our day with a variety of homemade preserves, cereal and fresh friut as well.
The Spinney is just a short drive from Barnstaple and is a perfect quite location for your stay.
We are planning to visit Devon again over the coming months and would not consider staying anywhere else now we have found this delightful B&B.
Many thanks to David & Jo for making our stay so enjoyable ..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpinneyShirwell, Owner at The Spinney Country Guest House, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We look foward to welcoming you back it was a pleasure having you both stay. Good luck with your future plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Spinney is a lovely 18th century guest house (it was previously the village rectory) in north Devon, in the delightful village of Shirwell. The location is beautiful, peaceful and relaxing (making for a great night's sleep!) and makes a great base to explore the lovely Devon countryside! The welcome at The Spinney was very warm, the service unobstrusive and very friendly, the accommodation modern and comfortable and the breakfast delicious. The couple who own The Spinney gave us some great tips on where to go locally to see sites and to eat and in their guest house, they have thought of all the little touches that make a good guest house into a great one! We had a wonderful 3 night stay and could not find fault with The Spinney - we definitely plan to go back! It's a real find!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 001Anna001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpinneyShirwell, Owner at The Spinney Country Guest House, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We look foward to welcoming you both back and we have more great places for you to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Lovely clean room. Good food. Treated like one of the family. Had a great stay and will definately be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldie7649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shirwell
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
2.9 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
3.1 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spinney Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spinney Country Guest House

Property: The Spinney Country Guest House
Address: Shirwell road, Shirwell, Barnstaple EX31 4JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Shirwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shirwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spinney Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three miles from the historic market town of Barnstaple in North Devon,The Spinney Country Guest House enjoys magnificent views across the stunning North Devon landscape. Recently achieving the AA 4 Stars GOLD award, The Spinney Country Guest House in Shirwell nr Barnstaple, offers first class bed and breakfast accommodation. This charming country house, was once the former rectory of Shirwell. Jo and David Clark welcomed their first guests in June 2011. Since then they have made various modifications and added a snug lounge with wood burning stove for exclusive use and comfort of their guests. They have also introduced many little luxury touches to make a stay with them a memorable one. The Spinney dates from 1750 and sits in an acre of ground. It has five beautifully appointed rooms and mature gardens with seating so that guests can appreciate the beauty and tranquillity of the place. There is also a spacious car park. The Spinney B & B offers a warm and informal environment in the heart of North Devon and very close to Exmoor National Park in which to relax and unwind. Tea and delicious home-baked cake is waiting for you on your arrival. Take a break, you deserve it! Jo and David Clark ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Spinney Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing