We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, fine atmosphere; a firm favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broomhill Art Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Muddiford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2010

I'm slightly gobsmacked by a few of the reviews on this site. Perhaps we have fundamentally different taste buds? Or are they just overwhelmingly negative people? Either way, Broomhill has been a consistently positive experience for my family and friends we have brought there - extremely fine food, backed up by an ethos of slow-cooked, locally grown ingredients.

Our visit today was representative of our times past. A starter of beef soup, tender chunks of meat in a cunningly spiced (and generously portioned) broth; tastily flaky salmon with sides of perfectly cooked asparagus on a delicately flavoured base of potato and pumpkin pie, topped with a flavoursome basil sauce; and to finish, the most divine of almond and orange tarts. I'll say it again - I have no idea how others have had such a different experience.

All this is to say nothing of an art gallery designed and stocked with taste and a sense of elegance (the restaurant is similarly decked out), and grounds that are among the prettiest in the area, which is to say something.

All in all, we like this place. If you hate nature, deplore tasteful surroundings and have had your taste buds surgically removed, it is not for you. Otherwise, I would heartily recommend it.

Ps - we have never stayed at the hotel here; perhaps they wake you with claxons and cold water and the maids curse you under every breath; but I doubt it. The staff have always been friendly and approachable, so my confusion continues.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adredwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 345 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2010

On dining table for nibbles = 1 cashew nut per peson,1 olive per person. Give it up and dont do this - it's better not there than being insulted.
The glasses on the table were grubby, and old/worn
Same size glass for white wine and red. Sureley red wine needs more air around it to get full bouquet - therefore a larger glass is more desirable.
Water tumblers looked as though they were bought from a local car boot sale.
Waitress not only dropped chinaware but also ended up dripping sauce from a plate on the floor as she tried to cope with 2 plates!! Not a good start.
Condiments are in small OPEN dishes, to access salt or pepper dip fingers into dish pinch together thumb and forefinger and grab at salt/pepper - put grabbed condiment onto plate. This is disgusting - one cannot guarantee fellow diners have washed their hands prior to this procedure - yuk!
This was before we saw the menu.
Menu overtly 21st century - shame the food was not good enough to match menu.
Allegedly owner is a master baker - suggest by the quality of his breads he goes back for retraining. All breads were dry and could be better used on a cricket pitch than a restaurant.
Beef - Devon ruby red made into a stew - far too many peppers and not even a decent portion of beef.
Chicken - tastless and extremelly chewy.
Cheese board - tiny little slivers of cheese accompanied by a small (cheap) glass of port.
Chocolate torte - ok
I personally would not return.
My observations are that this place only succeeds cos there is very little competition in the area.
Would suggest going to no1 (James Duckett) restaurant in Barnstaple rather than no1 (Broomhill) restaurant in Muddiford.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lovegoingaway00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

well done lads, never been so excited as in your place. beautiful dog, beautiful place, beautiful food, beautiful drinks and a beautiful owner. A best place in a best county.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j0lly0llie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muddiford
2.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,612 reviews
2.2 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,345 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Barnstaple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#4 of 6 in Barnstaple
576 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
684 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Poplars
The Poplars
#8 of 29 in Barnstaple
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broomhill Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomhill Art Hotel

Address: Muddiford Road | Barnstaple, Muddiford, Barnstaple EX31 4EX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Muddiford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Muddiford
Price Range: $96 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broomhill is a late Victorian hotel with six light and airy bedrooms.The Hotel lies in one of the most glorious valleys in North Devon surrounded by hundreds of acres of woodland and bound by its own stream. The Broomhill Sculpture Park displays one of the largest permanent collections of contemporary art and sculpture in the South West.The Broomhill restaurant ‘Terra Madre’ has won the North Devon Food Awards five times due to its high standards and commitment in using the best of local produce. Terra Madre’s Mediterranean, Slow Food inspired dishes are created using fresh, organic, fair trade produce from neighbouring farms and the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Broomhill Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing