We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly different, beautifully peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broomhill Art Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Muddiford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazingly different, beautifully peaceful”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here just one night. Fantastic location and surroundings, with both the gardens and the gallery offering a wonderfully relaxing environment. Beautiful atmosphere and food in the evening. Couple of details lacking in the room but didn't distract from the stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    76
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
55
179
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walton on the Hill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed two nights at this incredible hotel. What an experience to walk around the sculpture garden which was full of surprises everywhere you looked. We got so hooked we felt inspired to buy a very expressive statue by Carol Peace which will take prime position in our modest garden.

The rooms in the hotel were also full of inspiring art paintings in different media some textiles and several lovely sculptures. Staff was very friendly and helpful my husband was using crutches at the time. Food was superb including those freshly baked crispy bisquits we had with our cup of tea.

Anna-Stina and Roger Ponsford







Anna-Stina Ponsford

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Stina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My partner and I booked to stay here for one night but wish we had booked for more. To stay in this wonderful hotel is to be strongly recommended. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left the Staff and Owners could not have done anymore to make our stay better.

The hotel is set in amongst some absolutely stunning gardens with the most amazing sculptures set amongst them you could ever expect to see in a hotel in North Devon.

The room we had was stunning and HUGE like being in our own apartment, it was extremely comfortable and with all the home comforts and a bed big enough to sleep at least 4 people. There are the most amazing works of art and sculptures set amongst the hotel and a fabulous library to relax in.

Without doubt the best hotel in North Devon.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed for two weeks in this hotel and loved it. The owners are such lovely people, as are all the staff, the food really is superb - and unbelievably good value - and the rooms were clean, comfortable and stylish. Aside from the restaurant, the hotel itself has a lovely library and lounge area, and there is a lot of space to relax. The grounds are fantastic. I was made to feel so welcome there, and it really is a beautiful place. I stayed here for work, but I would visit again (and again) for a weekend away or holiday.

P.S It has a very good reputation amongst the locals. I have been working in Barnstaple and was recommended this hotel by people living in the area. Every person, without fail, who asked me where I was staying said how nice it was or how lucky I was when I told them Broomhill. They were so right!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophandjono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire, england
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Reaching the hotel front door took rather longer than expected due to me stopping every few metres to take a photograph of the amazing art sculptures that are placed in the wooded gardens. The hotel reception was manned by a young girl, who gave me a quick intro to the hotel before showing me my room. The room was clean and modern, I must say though that the bathroom was across the hallway, not a problem to me, my wife had packed my Jim jams.
The breakfast was freshly home cooked, and very nice. The hotel is perfect for touring Devon, as it's another world once in the grounds, highly recommend I paid £65 b & b

Room Tip: Any, although the front rooms have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meggo1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolacombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Love this place so much, it's our favorite place to eat! We have been several times for breakfast, lunch , dinner and afternoon tea. The food is all home cooked, afternoon tea is a must! Everytime we go we get a warm welcome from the fantastic staff. An amazing place, can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolou525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

If you want a pristine, disinfected, characterless hotel then this isn't for you. This establishment has a rustic charm about it that makes you feel immediately at home a sort of "come in and kick your shoes off" type of place. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The room we had was comfortable and, like the rest of the building, chocked full of original art works. Certainly no Ikea prints in every room here. The surroundings were lovely and peaceful and, if you stay, take some time to visit the gardens where there are some interesting and lovely sculptures. There is also a gallery within the hotel itself which is well worth a visit. We were visiting relatives in the evenings, so we didn't eat here except for breakfast, which was wholesome and delicious, especially the home made preserves.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the house as these overlook the wonderful sculpture gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muddiford
2.1 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,198 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,515 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
529 reviews
7.4 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,757 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broomhill Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomhill Art Hotel

Property: Broomhill Art Hotel
Address: Muddiford Road | Barnstaple, Muddiford, Barnstaple EX31 4EX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Muddiford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Muddiford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broomhill is a late Victorian hotel with six light and airy bedrooms.The Hotel lies in one of the most glorious valleys in North Devon surrounded by hundreds of acres of woodland and bound by its own stream. The Broomhill Sculpture Park displays one of the largest permanent collections of contemporary art and sculpture in the South West.The Broomhill restaurant ‘Terra Madre’ has won the North Devon Food Awards five times due to its high standards and commitment in using the best of local produce. Terra Madre’s Mediterranean, Slow Food inspired dishes are created using fresh, organic, fair trade produce from neighbouring farms and the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Broomhill Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing